We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, very clean!!”
Review of Hotel Tagoo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Tagoo
Ranked #3 of 83 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Let's start by saying we were picked up from the ferry by one of the owners! He was very nice and informative. He kept telling us we were going to be doing some Greek dancing and we were like, well we are kinda tired, probably not going out tonight. Then when we got to the hotel, we realized what he meant. They had a Greek Night with free apps passed around and Greek music playing with a dance lesson. They wouldn't take no for an answer, so we were whisked out by the pool and learned an authentic Greek dance. It was a lot of fun!

Now on to the hotel staff. All were very friendly and helpful. Anna is the wife and owner of the nice gentlemen that picked us up and taught us our Greek dance. (sorry, can't remember is name) She was the go to person for any questions related to the island. She even gave an orientation about Mykonos and her picks of restaurants and beaches.

Our first night of sleep, I'm not going to lie, was not the best. We were in a lower room that was very small and you could hear water running all night. The next day we were in reception for a late breakfast (I overslept from being up half the night, and they still made sure I got breakfast(which is included)) and Anna asked about our first night. She immediately moved us to another room. It had a king size bed, was a very large room, clean bathroom and an awesome view of the sea. That was above and beyond for her to upgrade us at no charge like she did. I can't tell you enough how helpful she was our entire stay!

My only con is that it could use some upgrades. The beds were very old and had noisy springs. But for the price you pay, it's definitely 5 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pastacieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

779 - 785 of 1,288 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2010

We stayed in one of the nicest rooms in the hotel during the start of our honeymoon and really enjoyed it. The hotel is a budget hotel so do not expect to have your sock blown off by luxury. If you stay here after staying at the five star Four Seasons, obviously you will feel some let down. What makes this hotel great is the experience.

Anna try's very hard to have the guests interact with each other which is great. We made many friendships with fellow travers staying at the hotel due to the interaction that Anna encourages. Its kind of similar to the hostel exerience with out having to deal with staying at a hostel! Anna gives great advice which make Mykonos easier to navigate, particularily for those who are budget conscious.

My only caveats:

The propietor Anna is very interested in what people are doing and how they enjoyed it. She does this to gather information and give reviews to her future guests. Some people might find this overbearing, we thought it was charming, useful, and never were off put by it. Also Anna's recommendations are purposely meant to help you save money, so don't be afraid to splurge, explore for yourself, or to make your own negociations based on the information she gives you.

The hotel is outside the main town, but it as easy 10 minute walk down or a cheap 5 euro ride after too many drinks or too much food at the end of the night.

It is an mediteranian island, so there are bugs. We found bugs on every island we visited even at the starwoods hotels. Use the AC at night because of this.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nschroede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Tagoo for the Mykonos leg of our honeymoon and we had a fantastic time! The location is great because it is a top of the hill outside the town with gorgeous views and very quiet. We found the "Welcome Meeting" to be very helpful in planning what activities/restaurants/beaches we wanted to hit on our visit. Rooms are simple but spacious and very clean. We also really enjoyed the bar and pool area where the bartender/DJ Jimmy makes some really great drinks. Overall I would say I was impressed with the incredible value that Hotel Tagoo is. Its not a 5 star hotel which they don't profess to be but its a really great 2 star that exceeded our expectations. Thank you Anna, Jimmy, Marco, and Yanni!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StoryA4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

My partner and i visited the Tagoo hotel 17th Sept for one week. From the time we were picked up at the airport by Yannis until we left we enjoyed excellent service. The view from our balcony was beautiful and from the poolside, and the whole ambience of the hotel was very good. The pool and bar are welcoming and you feel you are amongst friends. All the staff were so hard working and happy in their work. Anna runs the place exceptionally well and is available with any information about the best places to go and ferry times to neighbouring islands etc, and good restaurants to visit. The hotel is up a hill overlooking the bay but it was only a couple of euros to take a taxi from town and they are freely available. We hired a car for a couple of days which was great but the bus service is regular also so there is now need to drive if you prefer not.

We enjoyed the fact you could spend the day doing lots and visiting everything there is in Mykonos, or simply chill out by the pool. There are plenty of good restaurants nearby
and we found the food good value and tasty. We loved Mykonos - it's so relaxing and If we return to for another visit, we will head straight back to the Hotel Tagoo .

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHughes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

This is without question the best hotel in mykonos.
After being met on your arrival expect to be welcomed as part of the family and be very well taken care of by Anna Yanni and Anna's brother Jimmy.

the Hotel is on the edge of town within walking disatance and there is a very beautiful pool and bar area where you can see the best sunset on Mykonos. drinks and snack served by Jimmy.

Rooms are soptlessly clean and spacious, studios are also available.

Anna and Yanni love to dance and will be happy to teach you on their Greeck night when all the quests are invited to join in or just watch the fun by the pool.

You will not be just another quest here Anna Yanni and Jimmy will go out of their way to make sure you have the best holiday ever, if you don't have a good time i don't think they will let you leave!

included in the very reasonable price is lovely breakfast.
Having stayed at many hotels on this island i would say you just couldn't do better for wonderful company and value for money with a whole lot more offered to you by this truely exceptional wonderful family!

KALO HIMONA ANNA YANNI & THE WONDEFUL JIMMY XXX

Julie & Jeffrey

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliejeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

i wonder how many reviews for this hotel is "astroturf". most reviews seem to praise this place and i mainly booked this place after reading trip advisor reviews. but while this hotel is decent and okay, i feel it doesn't deserve the high praise heaped on it by the other reviewers.

this hotel is fairly basic. okay bed, clean sheets etc. we did have a problem when we were assigned a room full of flies and after some cajoling they switched us to a different room. (mind you they didn't just move us we had to push for it and it wasn't just a couple of flies, it seemed more like a fly farm).

the breakfast is fairly pedestrian as well -- toast, boiled eggs, coffee, few pastries etc. the wifi was whimsical. sometimes worked in the rooms mostly it didn't. it seemed to work in the common areas by the pool although a couple from the far east who were staying there at the same time as us didn't manage to get wifi working even in the common areas.

i would agree with the previous reviewer who said that the owner was incredibly noisy and intrusive, and this place was like a new jersey bar. perhaps our expectations were too high, we came to Mykanos by the way of Santorini and the place we stayed in Santorini (a similar hotel at least on paper) was spectacular. the staff was friendly,spectacular views etc. unlike this place where the owner is like an overbearing mother-in-law or a elementary school teacher.

i have traveled the world (quite literally and figuratively) and there is a fine line between being helpful and somewhat obnoxious. it is one thing to provide restaurant recommendations. it is another to insist you eat at X, Y places and avoid d A, B restaurants (mind you A, B are trip advisor rated restaurants). needless to say we did eat at the restaurants she asked us not to eat and we had wonderful meals! on the other hand one day for lunch we tried one of the places she praised to high heaven and it was so so.

the hotel is located close to the center of the city even though it is a bit of a uphill walk especially when you are coming back home at night after dinner or after a few drinks.

in summary this is a decent and basic budget hotel and things could be much better but it isn't some little paradise as many of the reviews make it out to be.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
22  Thank tripsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

My husband and I just spent 3 wonderful nights at the Tagoo Hotel recently. Yanni picked us up from the Port and drove us to the Hotel, Anna was very helpful giving us information about the island, suggesting places to see, restaurants sightseeing etc. and gave us a map of the island. Jimmy, behind the bar, was an excellent barman and always helpful and Mario was always there to assist at any time. Loved the white wine!!! We were always made to feel welcome at Tagoo Hotel
The rooms are always clean with amazing views. The beds are comfortable which is always a bonus.
We went to the Greek night and enjoyed Anna and Yanni showing us their Greek dancing inviting everyone to join in. So much fun.
The Hotel is a 10 minute walk into Mykonos Town, a 15 minute walk back up the hill with no difficulty.
A great few days spent with Anna and crew. Look forward to going to Tagoo Hotel again soon. A Hotel we would certainly recommend to our friends.
Thanks Anna, Yanni, Jimmy and Mario
From Sid and Lesley Welsh, Brisbane, Australia

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bassil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mykonos Town
1.4 mi away
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
#2 of 83 in Mykonos Town
1,310 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aeolos Mykonos Hotel
Aeolos Mykonos Hotel
#1 of 83 in Mykonos Town
1,235 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lithos by Spyros & Flora
Lithos by Spyros & Flora
#1 of 14 in Agios Ioannis Diakoftis
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rocabella Mykonos Hotel & SPA
Rocabella Mykonos Hotel & SPA
#1 of 9 in Agios Stefanos
1,564 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vencia Hotel
Vencia Hotel
#5 of 83 in Mykonos Town
1,569 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mykonos Bay Hotel
Mykonos Bay Hotel
#7 of 83 in Mykonos Town
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tagoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tagoo

Address: Tagoo Area, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mykonos Town
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range: £78 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Tagoo 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tagoo is a small family run complex of 20 rooms, of which some are standard or superior, with 2 single beds or double and queen size beds, some with common sea view terrace area, or private balconies, built on different level, in the cycladic architecture style. We have lovely swimming pool with one of the best views of the island, where you can enjoy great light lunches or great cocktails at our pool snack bar area, while enjoying the most breathtaking sunsets. Facilities include free parking, hairdryers, minifridges, kettles, adapters, irons, ironing boards, satelite tv channels, beach towels, free wifi, public pc for guests use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Tagoo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tagoo Hotel Mykonos
Hotel Tagoo Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing