We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel-bad location”
Review of Damianos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Damianos Hotel
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Mykonos Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2011

the hotel was great!everything was great-the view,the pool,the breakfast and the restaurant had quite good prices.the only disadvantage was the location.it was on a hill and required about 20minutes walking.going down wasn't difficult but returning to the hotel was a problem.although if ur going to have a car or anything else don't even think about it!loved mykonos in general!!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 705 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2011

I stayed at Damianos on my 3rd visit to Mykonos and it's been my favourite hotel in the Island so far. For the price you pay- the value is great. Rooms are comfortable and clean - not flash, the pool is nice, the staff are friendly and the breakfast was pretty decent. The location is great, it's one fairly direct path down the hill into Mykonos Town. I would definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules_S_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The swimming pool here is fantastic with great views over Mykonos. Thanos who runs the hotel was always friendly and upbeat and told us we should have informed him of our ferry arrival time as he would have picked us up but it was a cheap taxi fare up the hill from the port anyway. His mother dropped us back at the port when we left.
If you're staying here I highly recommend you hire a quad bike as it's easy enough to get into town (just walk down the hotel drive way and follow the downhill path into town) - great views and picture opportunities along the way but getting back after dinner and a few drinks is a challenge. There are very few taxis available on the island so if you haven't orgainsed your own transport it's going to be a steep, tiring walk back up the hill or an hour and a half wait for a taxi which my dad had to do. There is a quad bike shop near the petrol station to the right of the hotel - a 5 min walk away.
This hotel has free wifi and great breakfast with fantastic views over the town. The room was simple but a bit outdated. Our room was right near the swimming pool and I was worried about being woken up early by people splashing about but the pool doesn't open until 9am so it wasn't an issue. We just heard people coming/going and talking as they walked past our room a couple of times early in the mornings.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the swimming pool to reduce noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clea700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I really loved this place and to be honest wasn't expecting to be as impressed as I was. As soon as we arrived at Mykonos airport they called to inform us they were on their way to pick us up which was awesome. When we arrived we were amazed at how nice, clean and modern the place was - especially the pool area with the sunloungers and chillout music. The rooms are decently sized with air con and the bathroom was heaven compared to other places we'd stayed at, with a proper sized shower and amazingly clean. We loved that we had breakfast included everyday which was fresh and varied and really liked the owners who were extremely helpful and friendly.

The only bad thing to say about this place was that it was a little far from the town and away from any shops (10 min walk to town and shops) so if you want to party this probably isn't the best place... but it has an amazing vantage point up on the hill from which you can enjoy the sunsets from the eating or pool area and has a very relaxed and romantic vibe. Really loved this place!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Em898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

The only reason I'd give this a 4 out of 5 is because the location at the top of a hill is hard to get to by foot from the town. A 10-15 minute walk (though not hard). The rooms were spotlessly tidy, modern and well equipped, with a great pool and sun terrace. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. There is a breakfast buffet that's better than other places, and a nice outdoor terrace to eat it on. The rooms are quiet, and don't appear to be frequented by noisy annoying club/disco people, which can be a concern in Mykonos. Free WiFi in hotel. No restaurants or shops nearby, though, so you must walk 15 mins down into town but it's a not unpleasant walk. Or spend 5 Euro on a taxi!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southchinasea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Very well run by mother and son, we were picked up and dropped at the Port by the son with cheerful personality. He was very helpful on where to go. Next to the pool, our room(17) was small but practical (with a real queen bed) and I think the only one without patio/chairs/table. The room has modern furniture and the bathroom was nicely updated. Breakfast was excellent but the regular coffee was weak. The pool area is nice with beautiful lounge chairs and great music all day.

The hotel has a very good location to enjoy the view of the town and sunset. The center of town is a 10 minute down hill walk (by steps) but on the way back is more a 20 min walk up hill (quite steep and not really recommendable at night. On our way back after a late dinner, we walked on the road with a flash light on hand).

Room Tip: Room 17 have a real queen bed but no patio chairs/table and it's the first room next to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The hotel was beautiful, modern, clean, lIght and bright, a fabulous pool and setting with a great view. Each room had it's own little outside area with table and chairs, the dining area, (Inside and outside) was situated to take advantage of the views and the staff were more than helpful and very friendly, concidering how busy they were as they were also hosting a number of wedding guests. It was small enough to feel personal and large enough so as to not feel crowded. It is well situated, far enough from the main center, so in peak season you don't have to feel right amongst it but close enough to get involved whenever you feel like it. It's an easy walk down to the village, but a little bit of fitness would be required for the walk back up.

Room Tip: The rooms, which face the ocean and pool, would be the more desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mykonos Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Vencia Hotel
Vencia Hotel
#5 of 82 in Mykonos Town
1,565 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aeolos Mykonos Hotel
Aeolos Mykonos Hotel
#1 of 82 in Mykonos Town
1,234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
#2 of 82 in Mykonos Town
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#25 of 82 in Mykonos Town
320 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vienoula's Garden
Vienoula's Garden
#10 of 82 in Mykonos Town
467 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adonis Hotel
Adonis Hotel
#13 of 82 in Mykonos Town
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damianos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damianos Hotel

Address: Drossopezoula, Mykonos Town 846 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Mykonos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mykonos Town
#3 Family Hotel in Mykonos Town
#11 Romantic Hotel in Mykonos Town
Price Range: £48 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Damianos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Damianos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damianos Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing