We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mayor Mon Repos Palace 'Art Hotel"
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Corfu Town
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

You know how sometimes when you booked your hotel in Europe, a 3 star is really 2, a 4 star is really 3, etc. Well I must say in this case it is really a good quality 4 star hotel. Very clean, staff very friendly, polite and helpful. The only low point is they provide soap and not shower gel although they do provide shampoo. We stayed for 7 nights from 2nd September 2013. The buffet breakfast was excellent as they have everything from fresh fruits, continental type breakfast and cooked english breakfast. Good bread too. There's two guys entertaining in the evening singing old time favourites from 70s. Really great hotel. It is about 20 to 30 min walk to the Old Town but there is a No.2 bus around the corner from the hotel to town.

I read in one review about the nearby family run Theotokis Taverna serving very traditional Greek food. The quality is very poor. Although the menu is divided into starters, mains and deserts, our starters and mains came at the same time. Their food is very basic and served with lots of chips. DO NOT ORDER FISH. In the Old Town avoid the Skalinada Restaurant, Sofokieous Dousmani Str. 49 (Agios Nikolacos Devekia). The owner will try to recommend the most expensive items on his menu. He tried to recommend a bottle of local Greek red wine for 45 euros which I declined. Should have walked out there and then. The Rex Restaurant is good but expensive for what you get. Our favourite restaurant is called Porta Remounda Fish Tavern behind the Cavalieri Hotel. The owner even took us into her kitchen to select the fish from her refrigerated ice compartments. All I can say is if the owner is confident enough to show her kitchen then the food has to be good, and its was sumptuous, really good and not expensive. A bottle of local greek wine is between 15 to 20 euros. 500ml (1 pint) beer is between 4 and 5 euros.
The beach opposite the hotel is very small but there is a bigger public beach nearby which you can get in for 1.50 euro. There are 3 other beaches you can get to from the Town bus station. No.6 bus takes yo to Benitses. Get off when you see the beach and deck chairs. However, if you dont you can go to the end when the bus stops and walk another 100 meters where there is a smaller quieter pebble beach. No.7 bus takes you to Dassia which has a bigger beach also pebbled. No.11 bus takes you to Pelekas. Going down to the beach the view is beautiful and there is a golden sandy beach. The road down to the beach is between half a mile to 3/4 of a mile on a very steep hill. NOT FOR THE FAINT HEARTED OR UNFIT as the climb back is challenging. I think you can take a taxi back up. On all the beaches, the Ionian Sea is crystal clear, inviting and wonderful for swimming.

Room Tip: We had a side view room of the sea but it has an enormous double bed. (Room No. 209). I dont think t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    721
    313
    54
    11
    7
See reviews for
81
720
44
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We walked from the airport with cabin luggage in 25 min. Friendly helpful staff. Good sized room with views over the sea and side road which was not noisy. Buffet breakfast had everything you could possibly want. The buffet evening meal was also great vfm for 12e.
Corfu town is only 20 min walk, mad with traffic but very few tourists apart from cruisers who tended to keep to the northern end near the port.
Fantastic bar restaurant opposite the hotel right by the sea, recommend the Corfu beer and the meat/seafood platters with the very drinkable house wine. Not a cheap place but worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0bb600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We have just returned from a weeks holiday spent in the Palace Mon Repos Hotel in Corfu. We arrived at the hotel at about 11.30pm and were greeted with a glass of bubbly (nice touch) check In was quick and efficient and went to our room.
Room
The room was lovely light coloured decoration etc with plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, fridge with a free bottle of water,bathroom with bath/shower would have liked some more products provided (2soaps only) Lovely sea view worth paying for.
Food
Breakfast plenty of fresh fruit, cereals, and the usual hot, cold selection. Tea / Coffee is served to your table
Dinner good salad selection,one soup each night hot food was ok but we found not enough meat and vegetable selection but having said that there was choice even for a fussy eater.Plenty of lovely desserts and fresh fruit options.
Lovely staff in all areas a credit to the hotel.
The hotel is about a 25mins walk into Corfu Town the buses run just outside to the left every 20mins cost 1.50euro.
Small shingle beach across the road or you can pay a small fee and 4euro per sun bed well worth it just go right out of the hotel a 2min walk
We have really enjoyed our stay in this hotel in Corfu and would recommend it to fellow travellers .

Room Tip: Choose a full or partial sea view it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaW439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel with wonderful staff that are perhaps let down by their management. We went all inclusive which I wouldn't do again - ended up feeling like a 2nd class citizen with my "free" chunky glass of inferior wine as did my daughter with her flat coke. So called paying guests are offered a completely different experience thin long stemmed wine glass and bar snacks to boot! If I ever visit again I would dine at some of the local restaurants and experience a more traditional atmosphere.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Joannemarieclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We have only just returned from having stayed at the Aquis Mon Repos Art hotel and must say we had a wonderful holiday. Dates of stay 8nights, from 24.08.13 to 01/09/13.
The hotel is located in an ideal location for the beach, a 2min walk. There is a fee to pay for sunbeds which isn't expensive and well worth the comfort when sitting in the sun. The beach is clean with facilities such as toilets,showers,changing rooms and a good restaurant to have a meal or a snack. The beach is clean, however rather full of seaweed on some days depending on the weather and how strong the wind is. If you don't like sitting in the sun the beach offers well shaded areas under the trees.
The hotel is beautifully decorated,very inviting as you enter and very clean. The rooms are also beautifully decorated but in my opinion a little small. Try and book for a sea view room rather than an inland room. The views of the sea are wonderful.
Hotel staff are very friendly and polite and are always willing to help with anything or any issues you may have. The hotel offers a very good buffet breakfast and evening meals both buffet and al a carte menu.
If you are planning to hoilday in corfu and are looking for a good hotel in a good location I would most defiantly recommend the Mon Repos. In the evening you can take a short 15min walik in to the old town where there is plenty to do and see. Lots of lovely restaurants and shops.

From Joanna in Surrey Uk

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

we stayed here for 4 nights on a quick trip to corfu 19th to the 23rd August
5 mins in a taxi from the airport cost 10 euro, booked a sea view room and what a view!!! as the hotel is on the corner you see right round the bay to the old fort in corfu town.
breakfast was good lots of choice sat outside and watched the boats passing buy to paxos or where ever they were going.
room was lovely nice and spacious bathroom a tad small but fine.
wonderful greek duo played each evening on the decking infront of the hotel played and sang lots of standards and nice ballads they are first class.
did not choose to have dinner at the hotel as we like to eat out plenty of tavernas around the corner and the bar just to the left of the hotel right on the waters edge do great lunches too.
the bus around the corner to your left of the hotel again costs 1.20 to get in to town which is a fab place to stroll around and see the sights we did walk back one night but it is a long walk would say took 30 mins did not walk in as the sun was too hot but when the sun goes down its a nice stroll.
so all in all had a lovely few days staff are friendly and helpful,
my only problem was we did not take beach towels as we only took hand luggage and they do not provide any !!! which is strange for a 4* hotel but you can buy one at reception!!!!! with the logo of the hotel on all sizes all diff prices.
i would go back to this lovely clean happy hotel,dont miss mojito night just near the small pool it was a very elegant evening where the duo played again .its just a shame we didnt have time to stay longer .

Room Tip: all rooms have balconies but the sea view rooms are the best the top floor are suites which looked a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stayed in the Aquis for one night before transferring to Paxos. Staff were very warm and welcoming and hotel is of a high standard, excellent breakfast and restaurant and most rooms have sea view and are more akin to a more expensive hotel. Great location too with nice beach across the road and a 15min promenade stroll into the old town. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thekellies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfu Town
2.1 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 10 in Corfu Town
500 reviews
0.7 mi away
Corfu Palace Hotel
Corfu Palace Hotel
#4 of 10 in Corfu Town
652 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Corfu Holiday Palace
7.1 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,301 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bella Venezia Hotel
Bella Venezia Hotel
#1 of 10 in Corfu Town
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayor Mon Repos Palace 'Art Hotel"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayor Mon Repos Palace 'Art Hotel"

Property: Mayor Mon Repos Palace 'Art Hotel"
Address: Dimokratias Av. & Iasonos Sosipatrou | Anemomylos - 49100, Corfu, Greece, Corfu Town 49100, Greece (Formerly Palace Mon Repos)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Corfu Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Corfu Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayor Mon Repos Palace 'Art Hotel" 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Bookgreece.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mayor Mon Repos Palace 'Art Hotel" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Mon Repos Hotel Corfu Town
Palace Mon Repos Anemomilos
Mayor Mon Repos Palace 'Art Hotel" Corfu/Corfu Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing