We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the airport but that’s about all.”
Review of Hotel Bretagne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bretagne
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Corfu Town
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The hotel is very close to the airport, no more than a 10 minute walk even with wheeled-baggage. If you have to carry your bags you’ll probably consider it too far or hail a cab.

Our double-room was small but clean. The air-conditioning was efficient but noisy – you had to choose to be cool or to sleep. The free WiFi worked well.

Sound insulation is very poor. Corridor activity and noises in adjacent rooms made for a disturbed night. The bed was very hard – great if you need an orthopedic mattress but not great if you want a bit of comfort.

The breakfast was pretty terrible.

So, if you need a hotel close to the airport and don’t mind the shortcomings this may suit but if you want to sleep in comfort and enjoy a decent breakfast look elsewhere.

Room Tip: At the back….ideally in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

I was a bit sceptical about the possibility of sleeping here due to the proximity of the airport but really I needn't have worried, though I was in a room on the back of the hotel. Spotlessly clean room, crisp white sheets on the bed and an adequate size bathroom with plenty of hot water in the shower too. I didn't stop for breakfast as I was off to the port for the fast ferry to Saranda (Albania) - but it did look to be a good buffet. Good value for money and I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Get one on the back if you are concerned about any potential aircraft noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The decor: OK, the decor of the hotel is not the most modern, but I thought it was reasonable for the price of the hotel.

Cleanliness: The room was clean, however, one of the towels was stained.

Facilities: The facilities are mostly good for the price than one pays except for two points. Firstly there is no lift, though our bugs were a bit over 20 kg, I was able to handle it, but then again I work out to the gym and don't mind the weight - if you are elderly or otherwise struggle carrying weights over narrow stairs, I would avoid it this hotel. This hotel doesn't appear appropriate for disabled people. Secondly, no matter how careful I seemed to be with the shower curtain, the shower over the bath tab kept flooding the bathroom. This is a bit a dangerous and also uncomfortable as you then walk in around your room with wet feet. I found the bed harder than usual, but to me that was a good thing - I like a hard mattresses, and this I feel is a personal thing.

Location: Very close to the airport and walked to and from the airport. The location is a bit further from the town centre than the airport, but we still walked to and from the town centre. Location is good.

Service: The lady at the front desk didn't appear friendly and her body language communicated that she would rather not talk to us. I find this is strange as it does contradict what some other reviewers said. She did answer all our queries, however, and gave us the correct information, but we had to ask about everything, she didn't volunteer any information when we checked in. In contrast, the gentleman we met at breakfast time was polite.

I would like to give this place three stars or perhaps even four when viewed in perspective to the low price, particularly when I see the other positive reviews, but in fairness to the level of service we received and some of the problems I mentioned above, I will give it two instead.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrLogic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

For its location right next to the airport it was perfect, had an early flight for the uk and I couldnt go wrong with it, really nice friendly staff, nice clean rooms, free air conditioning, , (no hidden charge like a lot of greek hotels do,!!)
Maybe the only problem for a lot of people would be the hotel not having a lift but the staff there are quite willing to help you lug bags up the stairs,,
I never stayed long enough for breakfast, but I did see the dining area clean, clean, clean,
Also noticed that you could hear whats going on in the room next to you, quite thin walls, but thankfully my neighbours turned off the tv and went to sleep reasonably early,, yes I could quite easily recommend this hotel as an economical airport stopover

Room Tip: Not sure ,,mine was 205 and corner room, faced onto a nice courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank fraveler027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The room was very old and old furnishings in need of updating.You have to walk about 30 min. to get to the city center.This is good hotel if you want to travel to the next city and rest of denied, because the airport was very close-5 min. to walk.

Room Tip: ask room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eakalev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My friend and I spent our one-week holidays in Hotel Bretagne. It's very well situated if you want to visit the whole island, close to the capital and with easy parking (something very useful)
The rooms are renovated, comfortable and very clean; breaksfast buffet is good and has everything you may ask for: very good coffee, pastry, fruits, toasts, sausages... and even Greek yoghourt and honey.
The staff is really kind and proffesional at anytime, day or night, helpful and multilingual, and they provided us a free map of the island. Prices at the bar are much cheaper than in any cafeteria in town and drinks were served together with some free snacks -nuts or salted biscuits. What else you may need to enjoy your leisure time? Beautiful beaches all around!

Room Tip: Make your booking soon as it's fully booked in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inés M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Old hotel with old furnishings in need of updating. Room was comfortable enough and very close to the airport, just a 10 minute walk from the hotel to the departures terminal. It was a very hot day and unfortunately the aircon was not working properly and kept switching off after about 40 minutes or so. We eventually requested an electric fan which was taken from the lounge area to help us out as there were no other rooms available.

Room Tip: Check that the aircon works!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfu Town
0.1 mi away
Dalia Hotel
Dalia Hotel
#8 of 11 in Corfu Town
70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arion Hotel
Arion Hotel
#7 of 11 in Corfu Town
195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mayor Mon Repos Palace 'Art Hotel"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sunset Hotel
Sunset Hotel
#5 of 11 in Corfu Town
168 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bella Venezia Hotel
Bella Venezia Hotel
#1 of 11 in Corfu Town
943 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arcadion Hotel
Arcadion Hotel
#34 of 402 in Corfu
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bretagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bretagne

Address: K. Georgaki 27, Corfu Town 491 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Corfu Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Corfu Town
Price Range: £38 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bretagne 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bretagne is a family run hotel with friendly atmosphere. The staff is faithful and the reception desk provides round-the-clock service: you will find everything you need for a comfortable and pleasant stay. Your expectations for a warm and helpful service, a careful cleanliness and well-equipped rooms will be entirely satisfied. The highlight of Hotel Bretagne is its ideal location, close to all the places of interest of Corfu Town and to the Airport. It enjoys many nearby restaurant options and is a pleasant practical place to stay for getting around Corfu Island, which also benefits from public transport network. The hotel has 45 rooms, a lobby, a bar and a breakfast room, as well as a terrace to enjoy the pleasant climate of Corfu. Our breakfast buffet will surprise you by its variety of hot beverages, fruit juices, eggs, platters of cold cuts, breakfast pastries, bread, butter and jams, and you won’t resist the temptation of also tasting the Greek yoghourt with honey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Bretagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bretagne Corfu/Corfu Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing