We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a visit to your granny's at the seaside”
Review of Dalia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dalia Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Corfu Town
Gravesend, Kent (UK)
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Like a visit to your granny's at the seaside”
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We must have led a tough life, the Memsahib and me; we're not inclined to throw our toys out of the pram if the hot water runs out in a hotel - serves us right for getting up late! But I digress: having booked the Dalia for five nights in October 2012 because it was the only affordable hotel (€53 for the room, including breakfast) within reach of Corfu old town, it was no surprise to find that the accommodation was of the shabby chic variety. Ten years ago it must have been quite avant garde, but the passage of time has not been kind to the fixtures and fittings. And no, the lift is still not working, but a nice lady carried all of our luggage upstairs, and the next day they moved us downstairs so that we had fewer stairs to climb.

So the reviewer who described it as "the worst hotel of my life . . . everything is horrible in there . . you feel planes over your head every hour.." needs to get out more. It has seen better days, but it's well cared for and clean. Bathrooms are a tad cramped (at least for the more generous figure), but the accommodation is adequate, with reasonable quality bedding, towels, toiletries, extra blankets pillows etc. Since it is near the airport you get (surprise surprise) occasional plane noise, but it's limited - maybe it is worse in high summer?

Petros, the owner, is a gem. OK the hot water ran out one morning, but he can't do enough for you - arranging taxis, visits, a fund of information about Corfu and the best eating places: to say nothing of being the all-night room service man, producing an ouzo at the drop of a hat.

Continental breakfast is substantial: bread, toasts, yoghurt, eggs, cheese, salami, cake, tea coffee.

So, it makes no pretence to be a luxury hotel (although perhaps Petros has his dreams) but the price is reasonable, the staff -mainly all family- are friendliness itself, and its handy for both the airport and Corfu Old Town is a €6 taxi ride away.

Room Tip: Ground floor (until Petros gets the lift fixed)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ian-Jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    22
    15
    6
    8
See reviews for
7
28
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
Level Contributor
139 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I have just stayed 1 night at this hotel. The only advantage is hotel is very close to the airport, even you can walk. But the room was not really cleaned, water tap was almost completely rusty. It is very close to a crowded road so you can get the noise all the time. Elevator was not working. My opinion is this hotel should be immediately demolished, price for one room was 50 euros for single and 65 euros for double. Normally they should pay me for staying at such a hotel,even washing yourself is an issue. just avoid it.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a good room but try lower floor rooms at least you are not too much depen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank kivancgorkem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Corfu Town hotels

Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We spent 1 night at Hotel Dhalia as we choose a hotel close to the airport because of late arrival. The staff/owner were friendly and very helpful. The room was clean and well equipped at a standard style with airco and free wifi. In the morning an elderly lady invited us to have a breakfast and gave us the following: toasts with butter, fresh bread, yoghurt, jam, boiled eggs, ham and cheese, cake with Greek long coffee, tee and orange juice. It was more than enough and very tasty as well.

All in all, we got what we required, nice place to sleep and start here our vacation in Korfu on a good price. However it was not a luxury hotel, but we spent 1 great day here. Ideal and nice place if you are looking for a Hotel close to the airport!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank KovacsGabor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester,UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Dalia during Easter weekend. It is in an excellent location for those arriving at the airport late at night. It took us only six minutes to walk to it with luggage using a map downloaded from Google. This is a family run hotel. The staff, Petros in particular are incredibly friendly, making us feel very welcome. Petros speaks very good English and is very helpful when it comes to giving information about Corfu Town.

The hotel could do with a little modernising but is clean and warm. The room was quite large, with a decent bathroom and a balcony. The breakfast, served by a very pleasant lady, was very good comprising fruit juice, coffee, cheese, ham, bread, melba toast, preserves, butter, fresh fruit and yoghurt.

The hotel is close to Garitsa bay which has a beautiful promenade to walk along to reach the old town. This takes about ten minutes but a shorter route can be taken through residential areas.

We would be very happy to use this hotel again. Many thanks to the kind staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ronl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYPRUS
Level Contributor
108 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We have decide to stay to Dalia for the first 2 days of our holidays until we could move to the other hotel t we have booked for the remaining Period as it was not available on those days.

We have booked the hotel based on the location which claim to be near the hotel. However it is not so near especially with luggage as you need a good 10 min walk.
The hotel is exactly next to the Corfu football stadium so on match days will be very noisy. Contrary to other reviewers the noise from the airport is limited so not Really an issue.

The hotel is 15-20min walk to the Corfu town and bus station is 5min from the hotel. Hotel staff is helpful to give you direction and local info’s.

We have read the previous reviews and we knew more or less what we should expect that’s why we have booked only for two days and not for the entirely period Of our holiday. Definitely cannot be considered as a holiday hotel.

Regretfully the reality was far below our expectation especially considering that the hotel charged Euro 68 per night without Breakfast. Breakfast is on extra charge
Euro 8 per day, based on what you see on the Breakfast is simply not worth the money as what they offer is less than basic.

We had a room on the 2nd room on which we had to carry out our luggage as during check-in we were advised that the elevator was temporary out of order due to tech problem.
During the two days the elevator was not fixed and it seem to be out of order on long term!! as we had read reviews a year ago and they had mentioned as well that elevator was not working.

There is not small fridge or min bar in the room and you have to use the common fridge on the ground floor. It is very inconvenient to go up and down the stairs for a bottle of water or for milk As you will get tired if you have to do that a couple many times per day. It is not funny with 35c not to have a fridge in the in the room for at least some cold weather.


We have booked for a double bed and we got two single beds. The rooms are small and the bathroom are even smaller, very tiny. In the shower you have really move as is so small
And the showers curtains stuck on your body. The bathroom has no ventilation but only a small window which is you open it is disaster as the pipes of the sewage are passing from there and An awful smell come in which was horrible.


In general for almost Euro 70 you can find other hotel much better than Dalia.

We will definitely not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ROULA-THANOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

My wife and I had been here only one night to catch an early flight from Corfù airport. We had no reservation and when we asked the price to the receptionist we've been told that usual price is €90 but for us would be €50. we were checking for a cheap night accommodation with no special requirements so we accepted straight away. The bedroom is I'n smal size but clean and tide, the toilet is a unacceptable as the sink taps are full of limescale, the wc is yellow and the small shower place has a useless shower curtain. (to buy a good curtain is JUST a few pounds!!). Overall for a single night walking distance near the airport is very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sichomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

The hotel sells itself as "a charming, recently renovated property offering comfortable accommodation" - which we feel could not be further from the truth.
We have just had a one night stay there and could not wait to leave.
The bathroom was gruesome: we felt dirtier following use. Anyone for extra hair in the plughole? The beds felt like they were made from straw and the rugs on the floor were filthy. You may like this hotel if you are a serious plane spotter and one who does not mind grime. If not then stay well clear.
Luckily for us our departure time was early so that we could escape.
The owner of the hotel was a nice and friendly man.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Goff-McG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corfu Town hotels
2.5 mi away
Sunset Hotel
Sunset Hotel
#5 of 10 in Corfu Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bretagne
Hotel Bretagne
#9 of 10 in Corfu Town
3.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mayor Mon Repos Palace 'Art Hotel"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bella Venezia Hotel
Bella Venezia Hotel
#1 of 10 in Corfu Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arion Hotel
Arion Hotel
#6 of 10 in Corfu Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.6 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 10 in Corfu Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalia Hotel

Property: Dalia Hotel
Address: 9 Platia Ethikou Stadiou | Corfu Town Garitsa, Corfu Town 49100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Corfu Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Corfu Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dalia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dalia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalia Hotel Corfu/Corfu Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing