We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable price, clean hotel with friendly staff”
Review of Sunset Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Corfu Town
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Reasonable price, clean hotel with friendly staff”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

This hotel, whilst not in Corfu town itself, was a short bbus ride away from the old own. Very reaosnably priced, clean accomodation (if lsighlty hard beds!), great pool and friendly staff. Lovely taverna within 200m for great evening meals al fresco. Hotel breakfast uninspiring but hardly needed after a good meal at the taverna the night before! Suggest using it as a short soptover stay - would not spend longer than 3 days here. The rest of the island is much more beautiful and has lots to offer. Great shopping in Corfu town itself (both in the tourist quarter and the general shopping area).

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the pool. If not, ensure the shutters are closed at night otherwise you will h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HecticBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    60
    30
    5
    4
See reviews for
48
51
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed there with my wife and 10 mth daughter. Staff are so friendly, breakfast was perfect, swimming pool crystal clear like the rooms... Babycot was there as requested. Strongly recommended and we will be visiting in the future for sure

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thanasis77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

I stayed at the Sunset Hotel for one night in June. Taxi from the airport cost 15 euros which I thought was a bit steep.

I was given a room on the 3rd or 4th floor. The room wasa good size and was well furnished, comfortable and had a fabulous, roomy bathroom complete with massive corner bath (and only a hand hand shower attachment) so no standing showers unless you don't mind water all over the floor. Unfortunately my room (and many others in the hotel) have a side view onto the main road below (dual carriageway). The noise from the traffic was eventually more than I could put up with and had to close the doors and put the air con on.

It was a particularly hot day when I stayed there and after spending the day in Corfu Town I came back eager to jump in the pool and cool down .... alas the pool was empty which unfortunately I wasn't told about when I was checking in. That was disappointing - thank goodness for the huge bath though!

I stayed at the hotel very early in the season and there were very few guests. Its a big hotel and the breakfast area is very nice,shame I couldn't say the same for the middle aged+ chain smoking lady who was in the breakfast room (one of the owners perhaps). Every time I saw her (also in reception) she looked extremely miserable and made me feel uncomfortable.

The female receptionist was very professional and friendly. She was a great help to me in arranging a hire car and happily agreed that I could stay only one night instead of the two I booked.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road as traffic is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nessie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Nice family hotel! We live in Brussels and we found this hotel in the <<trip advisor>> and we went for Easter. Clean rooms, comfortable specially for families and very friendly stuff.
not expensive.and really close to the beautiful Corfu town.Thanks for the treating to my kids!! We recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbbru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Comfortable rooms with good view. Clean and friendly environment. Helpful persons. Easy access in the city with car but also with bus. Spacious parking. Lightly noisy Mini Bar.

Room Tip: Sea View and upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Man0lisK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

The owner of the "hotel???" promised me a room with a double bed and i got a room with 2 beds.....promised me a sea view room and i got a road view room....promised me that the room i was looking to the fotos is the room that i paid for but of course it wasn't.....when i asked for the reason that i did not get what i was promised, he said that the next day i will move to another room!!!! DON'T GO THERE!!!

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank nik0s78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2009

We were welcomed most warmly by the Politie family who own the hotel, we had a really wonderful time. The staff were very helpful to our needs. The hotel is well positioned for people who wish to go sightseeing to the different tourist hot spots. We had a good time at the swimming pool which was cleaned every day. The rooms were all newly done, bathrooms or shower rooms very roomy and very clean. The furnishings were all new and the floors were are parque, which is so nice for an hotel room. Excellent choice.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linglonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfu Town
1.0 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 10 in Corfu Town
486 reviews
2.5 mi away
Corfu Palace Hotel
Corfu Palace Hotel
#4 of 10 in Corfu Town
641 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ariti Grand Hotel
Ariti Grand Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kanoni
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Mediterranean Blue Resort
3.6 mi away
Corfu Holiday Palace
3.0 mi away
Arion Hotel
Arion Hotel
#6 of 10 in Corfu Town
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hotel

Property: Sunset Hotel
Address: Alykes, Potamou, Corfu Town 49100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Corfu Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Corfu Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is open all year round waiting for you to enjoy our warm and pleasant hospitality. Sunset Hotel’s 5-story building is located in the limits of Corfu town, recently renovated (2009), with lovely, spacious indoors and outdoors areas, a large garden and a swimming pool. The hotel is a family-run business and stands out for its warm and exquisitely clean environment both in the rooms and in the rest hotel premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Corfu/Corfu Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing