We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay away!!!!!”
Review of Sunset Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Corfu Town
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“stay away!!!!!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

booked in for a week only managed one night, room was dirty, sheets were damp, staff were uninterested, also noisy, would advice against staying here, the only plus was the pool, my room looked onto main road, got a better view at home

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    60
    34
    6
    5
See reviews for
54
54
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pg
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Great hotel, everything clean, the nicest stuff.
excellent location, bus stop is across the road, cool stuff,
pool is quite big. Air conditioning is working.

One word, perfection :)


and gas station is near :D

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vesna v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This hotel is fine for a day or two as it's very near to the airport and has the bonus of having a pool.
The rooms are clean but basic and a little dated. The view from my particular room (402) was a bit depressing in that it overlooked the main road and the Shell petrol station - so not really condusive to the holiday mood! The bed was extremely hard as were the pillows - so not a great night's sleep.
The staff were really friendly and very pleasant. On the whole, the hotel is good value for money, but I'm not usre I'd choose it agian despite the pool.
Just a note of caution - I asked the receoption to call me a taxi to take me into the Old Town and when I asked her how much it would cost she said, approx 6 euros. When he dropped me off he tried to charge me 15 euros!! We compromised at 10.......taxi drivers!??

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't overlook the petrol station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerkira
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel common rooms and our hotel room were very clean and well kept. The pool area was also nice. The air conditioning was very welcome our first day but the day of our check out the air conditioner was either turned off at a central location or stopped working and we were pretty miserable until we checked out. Not sure if that was the intention or not. The breakfast was okay but pretty sparse. The beds were very, very, very hard and uncomfortable. We were actually sore in the morning. Overall, I'm not sure that we would stay at the Sunset Hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I booked the hotel to enjoy my last holidays in Greece and to be honest was the best options. I am really glad about it.The hotel in only a 5 minutes bus to the old town. And the buses are there every 30 minutes. The bus stop is across the road (in front of the hotel).

The staff and family are really kind, they provide us many tips about good restaurants in Corfu (dont forget to ask them!) and the hotel is perfect! (Swimming pool, big rooms and good atmosphere)

Thanks family and staff for our nice and realx holidays in your hotel

Room Tip: The rooms are perfect after a lond day in the sun and incredibles beaches close to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromso, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We stayed for two nights at this hotel, three kids, two adults. The hotel and the rooms are ok enough and the kids enjoyed the pool, not crowded, this was the 1 and 2 July, and the pool area was fine for relaxing, few people and clean pool. Rooms and environments at the hotel and the service was good, but, it was very, too, close to the high way, good for a two nights stay, but not for spending a holiday, I would not at least, we could hear the traffic very well in the room, a bit less with the door closed, but still, and the nearest beach, we did not visit it, you had to walk by the highway, instead we took a taxi to the old town (10 EUR) and enjoyed it in the night when it was not so hot, our view from the room was a gas station and the highway to one side, and the sea to the other, quiet from neighbors, but they didnt make a lot of noise, you are close to the others balcony, good service, friendly staff, but it felt like the hotel was to close to the traffic, not when at the swimming pool though, there it was relaxing. breakfast was minimum, but what they had was ok and you could eat until 1030 with no problem, the bar at the pool served greek salad, hamburgers, one sort of pizza, toast and not much more, except drinks and nuts. Clean rooms with refrigerator and air con. nice place for a few days if you just want to chill and hang by the pool, and go by taxi or bus to nice restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed at Sunset Hotel for 6 nights. This was one of the first hotels we looked at and booked. We are really glad we did. It was only a 5min bus ride to the Old town (1.5km) and only 2km to the airport and had great wifi throughout the hotel including our room. The buses are every 30min and the bus stop is across the road – very convenient.

We found the whole hotel spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We felt the family warmth from staff and the owners. They were very knowledgeable on what to see and do around Corfu and best way to get there. They also made suggestions for things to do– which were spot on when we took up their suggestions! This included, beaches, bars, restaurants (one of our favourites only 200m walk down the road), and sites to see. The bed was hard but you can ask for a mattress topper. The pool was pristine clear and pool areas were just like their rooms - spotless. Their bar pool was reasonably priced not only for drinks but for snack foods too.

Overall, I want to say that nothing was too much trouble and they made our stay enjoyable and memorable. We feel that the hotel was certainly value for our money and would recommend. If we are ever back in Corfu – we will certainly stay with them again.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfu Town
1.0 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 10 in Corfu Town
502 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ariti Grand Hotel
Ariti Grand Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kanoni
478 reviews
2.5 mi away
Corfu Palace Hotel
Corfu Palace Hotel
#4 of 10 in Corfu Town
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Mediterranean Blue Resort
3.6 mi away
Corfu Holiday Palace
3.0 mi away
Arion Hotel
Arion Hotel
#6 of 10 in Corfu Town
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hotel

Property: Sunset Hotel
Address: Alykes, Potamou, Corfu Town 49100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Corfu Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Corfu Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is open all year round waiting for you to enjoy our warm and pleasant hospitality. Sunset Hotel’s 5-story building is located in the limits of Corfu town, recently renovated (2009), with lovely, spacious indoors and outdoors areas, a large garden and a swimming pool. The hotel is a family-run business and stands out for its warm and exquisitely clean environment both in the rooms and in the rest hotel premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sunset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Corfu/Corfu Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing