We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting unexpected stopover”
Review of Sunset Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Corfu Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

As my ferry from the mainland didn't arrive until 10 pm my original hotel booking at The Atlantis had been 'given away' presumably because I was so late. I was very disappointed as I had booked my room the week before for my return journey through Corfu. I have stayed at the Atlantis many times over the last 20 years. However,. I was directed to the Sunset Hotel which is just outside Corfu town on the main road north. I arrived by taxi (Euros 10) in the dark and was warmly welcomed. My room was very clean and comfortable. In the morning I had a pleasant view and if I had been staying longer I would have enjoyed the balcony. The breakfast was perfectly adequate. It was all self service but friendly staff were there to help if necessary. I was able to catch a bus into town the next day for my onward journey home. It was very reasonably priced and I would certainly recommend this as a pleasant stop over. I am glad to have discovered it.

Room Tip: I was given a room at the side. I would imagine the rooms facing the main road would be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mitters100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

Great value hotel with a decent pool along with outdoor bar and not too far out of Corfu Town, nice friendly staff, good service and breakfast was good to. Ideal for unwinding after a visit to Corfu Town. We stayed here for a couple of nights prior to our flight home and couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank keefie_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel for almost a week! I have to say that it was perfect and the staff was really kind and very polite. The breakfast was really good and the quality of the food and vegetables was marvellous! The outdoor bar was one of the places that i spent the most of my time and all the products were in low prices! The fruit salad was one of the most common meals of my day! Highly recommended for couples and families with kids! I'll definitely go back one day to spend more time with friends and family! Gerry was the best guy, Vasilis (the boss) is a great person (do not hesitate to ask him for everything you need to learn about Corfu). Thank you all for everything!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
5  Thank 110Konstantinos110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

For the price payed in September, it was totally worth it. Very good service, helpful and gentle. Alsothe rooms were fully equiped with everything needed. The pool was a great advantage to make up for not being so close to the city centre. The furnishing of the rooms was very nice, making you feel like in one of those hotels in the 20s. But the main theme of our stay there was RELAX.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Viktoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My wife and my children were guests in this hotel from 4. of august to 15. of august 2013.
We found the hotell to be a very good place to do our sightseeings from. Close to Corfu City with its old town with cosy streets with lots of shops and tavernas. Plenty of resturants too.

The hotel staff greated us welcome with big smiles and friendly attidude. The room and the rest of the hotel was clean and nice. In this warm climate it was nice to see that the aircon was fully automatic and adjustable to our preferences. Well functional bathroom with a good functioning shower.

The room and the balcony was beeing kept nice and clean by the staff on daily basis.

My wife developed some pain in her back due to isjasj. When I mentioned this to the staff the manager set us up with a new and thicker mattress. The hotel manager showed up at our breakfast table every day after and politly asked how my wife was doing. This is a hotel with a staff that cares about its customers - they show it by taking good care of them. My wife needed painkillers of the kind that need prescription. That was not so easy for us to fix. But also this the hotel helped us with. With a lot more than just one phone call the receptionist had it all sorted out. My wife got the painkillers she needed

If you are looking for at clean and well functional hotel you need look no longer. I recommend this.

The children liked the swimmingpool a lot. My self I am a bit fuzzy when it comes to swimmingpools, but this pool had fully working cleaning systems with the proper chemicals added. I had no hesitation about letting the children swim and play in it. It was clean.

The staff and the service they gave was something that you do not find many other places.
Exeptionally good service with a friendly face.

I almost for got to mention,
- my daughters friend were alouded to come and sleep in our room for more than a week, Exept for the exstra for the breakfast they did not charge anything extra for this.

What more can I say, -
IT IS ALL GOOD AT THE SUNSET HOTEL

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Truls_Gudvar_Paulsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

booked in for a week only managed one night, room was dirty, sheets were damp, staff were uninterested, also noisy, would advice against staying here, the only plus was the pool, my room looked onto main road, got a better view at home

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Great hotel, everything clean, the nicest stuff.
excellent location, bus stop is across the road, cool stuff,
pool is quite big. Air conditioning is working.

One word, perfection :)


and gas station is near :D

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vesna v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corfu Town
1.0 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 11 in Corfu Town
531 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ariti Grand Hotel
Ariti Grand Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kanoni
502 reviews
2.5 mi away
Corfu Palace Hotel
Corfu Palace Hotel
#4 of 11 in Corfu Town
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Mayor Mon Repos Palace 'Art Hotel"
3.0 mi away
Arion Hotel
Arion Hotel
#7 of 11 in Corfu Town
194 reviews
6.6 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hotel

Address: Alykes, Potamou, Corfu Town 49100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Corfu Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Corfu Town
Price Range: £44 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is open all year round waiting for you to enjoy our warm and pleasant hospitality. Sunset Hotel’s 5-story building is located in the limits of Corfu town, recently renovated (2009), with lovely, spacious indoors and outdoors areas, a large garden and a swimming pool. The hotel is a family-run business and stands out for its warm and exquisitely clean environment both in the rooms and in the rest hotel premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Corfu/Corfu Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing