We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant break”
Review of ALEGRIA Alcossebre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ALEGRIA Alcossebre
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Alcossebre
London
2 reviews
“A pleasant break”
Reviewed 12 October 2008

The hotel was very nice. It is modern and clean, the bar/lounge area was very comfortable and airy. The rooms were comfortable and clean. There was a mini bar but no kettle & tea making facilities which we would have liked. We had a balcony room with sea views. There is free WiFi connection which is good but only in the public areas. It is a shame it wasn’t in the rooms, even if that meant a charge. Although there was a TV the only English channels were CNN and a sports one. The staff were very pleasant and helpful but as this is off the beaten track for your average British tourist don’t expect perfect English.

They have a buffet for all meals. The food was ok and there was enough choice but we did find that the slow cooker meant that ’hot’ dishes were luke warm...but ok. We had an evening meal the first night and were a bit disappointed, it wasn’t alwful but nothing special. Although we did have a glorious cream cake for desert!!

I would happily recommend the hotel as somewhere clean and comfortable to stay with the benefit of being in a good location for the sandy beaches, the Marina, the National Park and Alcoceber. I chose the hotel because of previous reviews and because the resort wasn’t one of the usual hen/stag haunts. This however meant that unless you were driving it wasn’t the easiest place to get to. There is only one train each way a day. The nearest station is Alcala del Chivert(Xivert) and then you need to catch a bus or take a taxi to Alcoceber.

Alcoceber itself is a quiet little seaside town with beautiful unspoilt beaches. There are pleanty of restaurants and bars but not much else. There is a national park a short walk from the hotel with breath-taking coastal walks (wear sensible walking shoes though). It is mainly a Spanish resort but there are at least two English run places ’Cheers’ in the Marina and ’Mambos’ on the way in to Alcoceber town. I would love to go back one day to explore the National Park and the area a bit more. However this time I would take a car!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Luke warm food
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JennMul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    116
    77
    24
    11
See reviews for
148
89
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2008

We spent a week in July at the Hotel Alcoceber and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

We were on an offer of 7 nights for the price of 6 and then discovered that in addition my 10 year old would go free! Great value.

Comfortable, relatively new beds and lovely pool.

Breakfast was plentiful and varied with something for everyone and dinner was the same. My only slightly negative comment would be that the hotel was full and that the restaurant did feel slightly cramped.

Most of the other guests were Spanish with young children but they were all well behaved and didn't bother anyone.

Going back next year for 2 weeks.

I would, however advise a car if you want to reach some of the further flung beaches which are glorious.

  • Liked — size of hotel, value for money, tranquil atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mumistheword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff,AZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2007

We didn't know what to expect when we planned just a quick overnight stay in Alcoceber on our drive from Barcelona to Valencia. We were pleasantly surprised to find a cute little town and a nice hotel.
The hotel itself was in a good location, a short walk to the beach or to the marina. The front desk was very helpful and allowed us to check in early.
Our room was very clean and we had one of the most comfortable beds we had in Spain. The room was rather large as it had a small sofa and sitting room. The hotel pool was nice, although a little cold, and they offered free internet access in the bar and lobby.
Although we were on vacation my husband brought his laptop to do some work. This was the only hotel that actually had free internet for us to use, the rest advertise internet, but you have to pay to use it.
We had a half board booked, which we didn't know what it meant. After they explained that we got free dinner and breakfast we realized this was really a great deal as our room was only $100/night.
The food was not great, dinner was allright and breakfast was pretty nasty. But the staff was nice and it certainly saved money to eat at the buffet and not have to scout a new place to go.
I would stay in this hotel again and highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Large room and Internet access
  • Disliked — The food
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank getzklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2006

Wonderful hotel with a fantastic pool in a small town between Valencia and Barcelona.

We flew into Valencia airport and the hotel was 1hr north easy to get to on the main toll road (e-15).

The hotel is extremely clean, with friendly staff and good facilities, along with plenty of rooms with a sea view.

The town itself is mainly spanish and there wasn't many Brits about which we liked, and there were some nice restaurants at the Marina and Seafront. The town is quiet and outside of those areas there isn't much else but the scenery and peacefulness made for a relaxing holiday.

If you want a resort style holiday with bars, clubs and 18-30 then this isn't for you, but for a relaxing week or two in a good location to visit Valencia and Barcelona as well as the picturesque villages in the mountains behind then this is ideal.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JackRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 September 2005

The Hotel Alcoceber is a lovely modern hotel in a small uncommercialised town. Our bedroom was roomy with a balcony overlooking the sea and Marina.

The buffet breakfast was excellent and plentiful catering for all tastes and nationalities. The selection ranged from fresh fruit, cheese and cold meats to a cooked selection or a range of cakes and continental pastries.

The hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff were extremely courteous and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

When a problem occurred very late at night in one of our rooms, another room was found immediately without hesitation.

The large pool was wonderful with plenty of sun loungers and sunshades around it and as soon as a glass or cup was finished with it was cleared away. The poolside bar was very reasonable and the food excellent.

The big advantage of this hotel is that it is within walking distance of the Marina and also the town with all its bars and restaurants, which is an advantage when sampling the local Sangria! The wonderful beaches stretch for miles but there are also rocky bays if you prefer.

We enjoyed our stay and will not hesitate to recommend this hotel and intend to visit again very soon. We had a very relaxing stay.

Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcossebre
1.0 mi away
Servigroup Romana
Servigroup Romana
#1 of 18 in Alcossebre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Las Fuentes
Gran Hotel Las Fuentes
#2 of 18 in Alcossebre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.3 mi away
Complejo Eurhostal
Complejo Eurhostal
#5 of 18 in Alcossebre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sancho III
Hotel Sancho III
#4 of 18 in Alcossebre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
10.2 mi away
Servigroup Papa Luna
Servigroup Papa Luna
#4 of 53 in Peniscola
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Peniscola Plaza Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ALEGRIA Alcossebre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ALEGRIA Alcossebre

Property: ALEGRIA Alcossebre
Address: Calle Dels Murs s/n, 12579 Alcossebre, Spain (Formerly FERGUS Alcoceber)
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Castellon > Alcossebre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Alcossebre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — ALEGRIA Alcossebre 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ALEGRIA Alcossebre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcoceber Hotel Alcossebre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing