We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant skiing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Pension Unterbrau
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Mark the owner? Son of owner? Is a class act. Extremely helpful, especially with my wife's dietary needs. I can not praise the hotel enough. It was a great week. Snow spring like, odd in January but more than enough skiable pistes. Just hope snow soon for people going now.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2013

Such a brilliant, warm, friendly atmosphere! Place to keep ski's and snowboards downstairs and just a short 5 minute walk to the ski lift. Excellent food and exceptionally clean rooms. Staff really helpful and couldn't do enough for us. Highly highly recommended and would not hesitate in the slightest to return.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
Thank Ashleigh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Like to thank Marcus and his family for making our week in Austria such a great success. With his fantastic good humour there was never a dull moment. We have stayed in many hotels throughout Austria and this is one of the friendliest. Always offering advice and information, suggestions for skiing and mountain huts. As for the hotel, it was spotlessly clean. The rooms were cleaned every day with fresh towels daily and always warm. The breakfast buffet was more than adequate with lots of the usual options and evening meal, a choice of two, was always something for everybody. If you wanted more, you were more than welcome. Bar prices were very resonable. There is a drying room downstairs and the gondola is only a 5 minute walk away. I would recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Very nice hotel.
Markus and his family made our stay homely and nice. and if we had a problem Makus took care of it. "no problem".
The food was fine. And could we eat an extra portion, we got it.
The rooms were neat and clean.
we will come back again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beareye1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Just had a week at the Unterbrau and could not be more pleased, Markus and his family looked after us very well, the service was very polite with a great sense of humour, [although he does remind me of Basil Faulty!] The rooms were well maintained and cleaned every day, the food you could not be disappointed with as there is a choice of two mains in the evening and a full continental breakfast in the mornings in which you can have as little or as much as you like..Markus was very helpfulll in any way in which he could be with advice on ares to ski with the changing weather conditions. I would recommend staying here one for its location and two for the atmosphere ....unbeatable..forgot to mention the sauna!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dglBanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Thank you very much to Markus and family for a great week long stay over Christmas 2012. Markus was very helpful and friendly and always had a smile on his face (along with the rest of the family and staff).

We booked our holiday through Crystal Ski and were very pleased with the location and choice of hotel. Despite some initial messing around with lost starter packs with Crystal, Markus was very welcoming when we arrived and very helpful in contacting our rep to get it all sorted. In fact he was very helpful all week with any questions that we had. Our room was nice and clean on arrival and was cleaned every day. We also had a bath in our room which was an added bonus, especially after a day on the slopes.

Breakfast was a standard set-up with a wide selection of cereals, breads, cold meats, cheese and eggs. Dinners were especially nice with a 3 course meal provided every night with a set starter (a different soup every night), a choice between 2 mains and a set desert. All food was very nice with good portion sizes. The dining room also double as a bar and drinks could be purchased before, during and after dinner.

The location of the hotel in Hopfgarten is ideal, only about a 5-10 minute walk to the main gondola up the mountain where a very large ski area awaits.

All in all we had a very nice week in Hopfgarten. Again we would like to thank Markus and family for a great stay and would highly recommend Unterbrau to others.

Thanks
Luke and Karin

Room Tip: One with a balcony (very nice view of the surrounding mountains) and one with a bath (nothing better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My sister and I stayed here 10 through 17 March 2012. This was at the end of the ski season yet we were made to feel like it was the start - Markus was a fabulous, friendly and jovial host and did everything possible to make our stay a very enjoyable one from check in to his friendly farewell as our bus disappeared.
I fell on the pistes and injured myself on the first day and Markus provided daily ice compressions and held a genuine concern for my well-being.
Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff who could teach Britain a thing a two about customer service!
Anyone who has a bad experience here must be those people who complain about everything because really at Hotel Unterbrau there is nothing to complain about.

Our room was basic but very comfortable, spotlessly clean on arrival and cleaned thoroughly every day. If you prefer a bath to a shower after a day on the slopes best to ask in advance - also for a balcony as not all rooms have one - I emailed Markus in advance and had a nice room (No 9) overlooking the front of the hotel towards the town and good open view of the snowy mountains beyond. This aspect also had the best of the sun from early morning till about 3. The location is very quiet - the only noise being the church bells which every place in the village would get so no blame on the hotel!

The daily menu was 3 courses starting with delicious home made soups and a main course selected the night before - normal for half-board ski holidays. Breakfast consisted coffee/tea (tip for Brits you may want to bring your own teabags as tea was fruity variety), large selection of cereals, nice bread and bread rolls, a selection of various cold meats and cheeses and hard boiled eggs. You could if you wish have a more cooked breakfast at a small extra charge but to be honest what is on offer is fine.

The hotel location is a 4-5 min stroll to the main gondola lift so well positioned.

Although the breakfast room didn't open until 7:30 the coffee and tea was on and we were able to go down earlier and bring a cup back to the room.

I read of some people complaining about the smallness of the dining room - again not justified - the hotel has a perfectly functional dining room that I would describe as cosy - we shared a table with people from Australia with whom we got on famously - life is what you make it!

To sum up - excellent value/cost ratio, very clean, friendly, well located.......can't say more!

Tony + Paula
Swansea
UK

Room Tip: Front aspect with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonyphilipuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopfgarten im Brixental
0.2 mi away
Sportresort Hohe Salve
Sportresort Hohe Salve
#1 of 4 in Hopfgarten im Brixental
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hopfgarten
Hopfgarten
#3 of 4 in Hopfgarten im Brixental
23 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Sonnschein
Hotel Sonnschein
#4 of 11 in Niederau
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Appartements Strobl
Appartements Strobl
#2 of 14 in Hopfgarten im Brixental
24 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gasthof-Pension Tirolerhof
Gasthof-Pension Tirolerhof
#3 of 14 in Hopfgarten im Brixental
22 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gasthof Traube
Gasthof Traube
#8 of 14 in Hopfgarten im Brixental
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Unterbrau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Unterbrau

Address: Braeugassl 6, Hopfgarten im Brixental 6361, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Hopfgarten im Brixental
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hopfgarten im Brixental
Price Range: £58 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pension Unterbrau 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will experience traditional Austrian hospitality and a warm welcome from Marcus and his family at this pleasant hotel. Ideal for families, this hotel offers comfortable accommodation at great value with ideal location. Only a short walk to gondola Hohe Salve.Austrian twin rooms have private facilities, hairdryer, safe and cable TV. Some rooms can take a third bed. Single rooms are available at a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Pension Unterbrau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unterbrau Hotel Hopfgarten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing