We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some people are never satisfied”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sportresort Hohe Salve
Certificate of Excellence
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Some people are never satisfied”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We have just had 5 nights at this hotel as part of Treyn Austria All inclusive. We found the hotel clean, staff friendly food good hot and a fair choice for what we paid. Our room over looked the church and we had been warned to avoid such a room due to the bells being rung during the night so the answer is to take ear plugs which also help block out the other halves snoring. But the view was spectacular we had glorious sunshine until the day we left and a real good crowd (apart from one or two) had a great time and a great laugh. Crossey's remarks are quiet true but you can please some of the people some of the time. Doing your own pack up suited us you could make as many odd fillings for your sandwiches one lady managed Salami and Jam not every ones taste but she liked it. Be prepared for your holiday which we have learnt over the years, take tea,coffee,UHT milk biscuits etc. the whole trip with Treyn by train was a great experience hotels on route had the same standard. Tyrolean evening not worth doing as although the performers started the explanations in German and English I think they forgot to continue with the English so we had no idea what was going on. It proves it takes all sorts to make a holiday READ THE BROCHURES

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    46
    13
    8
    2
See reviews for
23
72
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Hotel situated right next to cable car, large public car park in front of hotel, short distance to bus stop and train station.

All inclusive is not what most people think. One type of bottled beer (unless you take from the German's fridge, then you have 2 choices, next to the tea and coffee table in their dinning room), one type of white and one type of red wine, basically cheap table wine, probably poured from cartons into the bottles, and very likely to be a cheap EU blend - remember Tafelwein. Tea, coffee, soft drinks. No spirits and no diet drinks. Water not bottled except free small bottle you get at breakfast for your diy packed lunch.

DIY breakfast not really suitable if you can't or don't eat a lot of bread, and fruit could be restrictive, one morning apples and oranges only, other days bananas and kiwi, bit messy kiwi and oranges as need peeling. No biscuits, cake or crisps and yoghurt in large bowel so cannot take these. (usually found in packed lunches). Probably get rid of the packed lunch and reduce holiday price.

Toaster in cupboard in other dining room.

Evening meal good with choice of 3 main course. Buffett salad same every day. Also breakfast, could do with alternating scrambled eggs with fried/poached or boiled.

You keep the same table, throughout your stay, as you order your choice of evening meal each morning.

No entertainment except Tyrolen evening which you have to pay for. It was good, however this is where the con is. I see from previous reviews people have been charged different prices, to our coach trip. Our prices were 8 euros if you booked all the tours from (Johnny our Shearings driver), if not you were charged 13 euros. (bit steep/unfair as there was already a discount given if you booked all the tours, so felt a bit more like a punishment). You were not allowed to take in your "all inclusive" drinks but had to buy them, even though the room was in the hotel they used (kept locked all week, bit like the old fashioned don't use the front parlour, it's to be kept for best).

Would be nice to know what the paying guests were charged, if charged at all, for the Tyrolean evening.

Rooms clean.

Dogs allowed in hotel.

Drinks paying or not end at 10.00. Asked to leave terrace at 10.30. (except on last Friday night when there was thump thump music coming from hotel across the car park). Hotel comes to a halt between 10.30 and 11.00. Lights turned off and front door locked.

Hotel quiet except for the Friday night where noise started at about 21.30. Do not know when ended. Only there from Sunday to Friday night.

Owner is a business man, would not therefore class this as family run hotel, has several other ventures including large garage in next village (car sales and repairs) etc etc.

Cost for steam room. Did not use.

Basement play area for small children.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank crossey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Just returned from this hotel feeling absolutely shattered. Cannot get over all the early starts, and late returns to hotel, giving hardly enough time to get ready for evening meal. If you were not down promptly you were told off, the salad had disappeared one night when the Germans got there first. I knew there were no spirits included in drinks deal but did expect diet coke. I took my own spirits but still had to buy coke. I was told off for using French stick for lunch instead of round cobs, seeing I only had yoghurt and fruit for breakfast couldn't understand the comments. The only hot food at breakfast was scrambled egg. There was a small toaster hidden in the other room. When we spent all day there we still had to do our own lunch. There was no food at all to be found not even a biscuit . Only coffee tea and hot water to make hot drinks and the wine and beer was available. I got the impression you were to be kept out of the hotel as late as possible and we never got back from trips till at least 17.40 My friends had been on the all .inclusive to Italy and it was fantastic. But they were disappointed with this set up. My friends were also asked to keep noise down at 22.00. A little harsh I think. Its the little things which make a holiday and I feel this hotel needs to learn a little from other all inclusive offers. If I had paid the full amount I would be asking for a refund.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dianne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ringwood hampshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We spent 5 nights in the Hotel Sports Fuchs. Rooms basic.....but clean..... We had a balcony overlooking the Hohe Salve Mountain and the Cable Car... The food was good, a bit of a scamble getting breakfast as all self service and not really logically laid out.... However, evening meals were good. Hopfgarten itself was very quiet, and not very picturesque. You had to be selective as to where you looked.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank june j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

If you want to go up the mountain you cannot get closer to the lifts. There are a mixture of rooms, ours on the first floor was simple but clean, tidy and the view across to the church was great, and peaceful. The staff were amazing especially Monica and Petre. My first time in this country so I did not have any expectations or preconceptions. Hotel food was great and plentiful with a varied menu and a buffet salad starter. This trip was all inclusive in this hotel and there was always plenty of cool beer and white and red wine available between the set hours. The views from the dining room balcony were great, relaxing and yet powerful. I would be happy to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wingbutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We have just returned from Sporthotel Fuchs having been on a Shearings all inclusive coach trip.
Our room was simple but cleaned and vacuumed every day by a very sweet maid. The bed was comfy and soft and extra pillows were available in a cupboard on the landing. We had an amazing view of the mountains and a very tall Maypole from our room. The afternoon and evening sun was on our balcony and terrace beneath our room, lovely. Unfortunately the weather was unkind to us and we only had one and a half days sun, the rain we had the rest of the time was Europe wide, just a shame. The village was pretty with a gorgeous church and lovely walk along the river past the fish farm, shame we couldn't go up the cable car to the top of the mountain.
All inclusive is a bit of a misnomer, free tea, coffee, juice, soft drinks, wine and beer from 11 am to 10pm but we were only at the hotel for the driver Johnny's day off, during the day, a horrible wet day, I would have loved a hot chocolate but only weak tea and nasty coffee were available. No drink making facilities in the room, should have taken a kettle. We went allowed to take drinks upstairs and several members of the party were told off for attempting to.
Several of us had booked early and had been told we would get a free bottle of wine on arrival, when the Management were quizzed on this we were told to take it up with Shearings. Not good enough. We were made to feel a lot of things were too much trouble. No Internet for at least two days because the Manager couldn't be bothered to reset the router. Free drinks were not to be taken into the Tyrollean evening, drinks had to be purchased from the bar and the show conveniently finished just after 10pm , after the free drink fridge was locked. There was always plenty of beer in this, a few assorted bottles of cheap pop and a couple of barrels of pretty foul red or white wine.
Dinners were always good, although the soup could be a bit odd, egg stew soup ???!!!, salad bar, generally ok, puddings varied and a choice of three main courses such as duck, goulash, ribs, prawn skewers, trout, and a "gala dinner " on the last night, no choice. We all got the impression they were using up the leftovers.
Breakfast, the usual boring, ham, cheese, rolls, jam, cereal, tinned fruit, scrambled eggs. We were told we would get a packed lunch in a bag. Not true. We were given a small bit of silver foil and had to make our own rolls up with food from the breakfast bar, we could take a bit if fruit and were given a bottle of water, but not the promised biscuit, perhaps the excitement would have been too much to bear. And no bag to put it in.
Staff fairly friendly, especially young Peter in the restaurant, but the manager, Roman, could have tried a bit harder.
We were chucked out of the bar at around 10 pm and had to sit on uncomfortable garden furniture in the lounge after that, but were encouraged to go to bed about 11pm when the staff all seemed to go home.
Some rooms had a bath others a shower, some of the party had trouble getting hot water. Our radiator was always on, a bit warm at night but cosy as it was so cold, other rooms had the heating turned off the entire duration of our stay.
All in all we had a very good holiday and loved the area, Hotel Fox needs to pull its socks up though.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SNAMAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

I stopped at this hotel in February 13 for a weeks skiing holiday. First of all the location is excellent, literally across the road from the lift station and the base of the run into town. The only downside to this is that if your room faces this side it can be very noisy from 8.00am as people go on the lift, not a problem if you are an early riser. The food In the hotel is superb austrian cuisine, you get a choice of main courses and there was always something to suit. This town is very quiet, so if you like a lot of après, I would recommend you don't stay here.. The one bar in town shuts at 8pm..

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopfgarten im Brixental
7.0 mi away
Hotel Alpin
Hotel Alpin
#2 of 6 in Scheffau am Wilden Kaiser
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hopfgarten
Hopfgarten
#3 of 4 in Hopfgarten im Brixental
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sporthotel Brixen
Sporthotel Brixen
#1 of 4 in Brixen im Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Schermer
Hotel Schermer
#1 of 7 in Westendorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
11.4 mi away
A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
A-ROSA Resort Kitzbuehel
#2 of 47 in Kitzbuhel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
4.8 mi away
Wellness Schloss Panorama Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sportresort Hohe Salve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportresort Hohe Salve

Property: Sportresort Hohe Salve
Address: Meierhofgasse 26, Hopfgarten im Brixental 6361, Austria (Formerly Sporthotel Fuchs)
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Hopfgarten im Brixental
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hopfgarten im Brixental
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sportresort Hohe Salve 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Sportresort HOHE SALVE relies on the power of movement - in both summer and winter, 365 days a year. This movement is more than just a service, but integral to our daily activities and thinking for us. For all ages and all fitness levels. Located in Hopfgarten right next to the cable car station Hohe Salve in the Kitzbuhel Alps and is only 150 meters away from the center. With 104 rooms, five rooms for seminars and events, two restaurants, Apres ski bar and a 1,400 sqm "Move & Relax" area with yoga room, power room, 630 sqm pool area with 25 m sports outdoor pool, massage and treatment rooms Resort every sporting heartbeat. The sportresort is located in Hopfgarten, right next to the valley station of the Hohe Salve mountain railways, which offers an ideal entry into one of the largest and most modern ski resorts worldwide, the SkiWelt Wilder Kaiser-Brixental, with 90 lifts and lifts, 284 km of fun fun Lighted toboggan runs and over 70 huts guarantee pure winter pass. Welcome! But also for the rest of the year, the region around the Hohe Salve sports resort also offers numerous outdoor sports facilities: - brand new trail running routes in Westendorf - mountain bike tours throughout the region - running and walking trails in the village - hiking and mountain biking for all levels of difficulty - cycling and e-biking trails through the entire Brixental - and much more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HRS and Odigeo so you can book your Sportresort Hohe Salve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Fuchs Hotel Hopfgarten Im Brixental
Sporthotel Fuchs Hopfgarten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing