We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great experience”
other travellers have booked this property
The 29 metre long swimming pool viewed from the infinity edge to pigeonnier
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The 29 metre long swimming pool viewed from the infinity edge to pigeonnier
Aerial shot of the property - the cottage is detached from the owners house The cottage is to the right of the photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
The 29 metre long swimming pool viewed from the infinity edge to pigeonnier
Aerial shot of the property - the cottage is detached from the owners house
The cottage is to the right of the photo
The cottage
Private garden area (with BBQ) to rear of cottage
Private patio beside cottage
The view from the private garden area at the rear of the cottage
Living room
Bedroom 1 - downstairs
Bedroom 2 - upstairs
Bedroom 3 - upstairs
Hall, stairs and kitchen
View from the pigeonnier over the pool
Looking from the shaded area under pigeonnier towards infinity edge
View over the infinity edge of the swimming pool
Dusk time drinks under the pigeonnier
Seating area under the pigeonnier
The pool at night
One of the bars off the main square
The very popular Pizzeria in Eymet
Eymet night market - every Tuesday evening in the summer
View of pool in winter - with mutts
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Eymet, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
rosySydne...
sydney australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have just spent a lovely week staying in this charming villa. It lived up to all our expectations and then some. The position is so pretty, the house offers very comfortable accomodation, but the pool is amazing with fabulous views. The owners Michael & Caroline are very welcoming & always helpful. The family pets are just an added bonus. If we lived closer we would be regular guests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2015
Dear Rosemary, Thanks for your kind comments. Sorry I was called away for work and we didn't see you to wish you a safe onward trip. A bientot. Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol r
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Total perfection!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

You will not find a more lovely gite or a better location in the Dordogne. We absolutely loved this place and were very sorry that we had only booked it for a week. Other reviewers have already detailed it's superiority - we can only echo their experiences.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slipkn0t
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bliss”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We made an excellent choice concluding our European road trip here. Surrounded by beautiful countryside and yet just over a kilometre from the Bastide of Eymet.
Our hosts, Michael and Caroline, are two of the most friendly, helpful and accommodating people you could ever wish to meet. We also fell hopelessly in love with their gorgeous dogs and adorable cat.
Accommodation and facilities are excellent, beds are comfy, having wifi is a great bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendliness and approachability of hosts.
Liked least: No negative feedback
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2014
Glad you enjoyed it! A bientot.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W
London
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“So good you almost want to keep it a secret!”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

The five of us had a superb fortnight's stay at this wonderful property. We were completely wowed by the place, the pool and the welcome. I see that everyone else who has reviewed the cottage so far has given it the top rating – and so have I. If I could rate it higher than Excellent, I would. Things to note:

1: Everything is at least as good as described, and generally better.

2: Don't be put off by the shared pool and the proximity of the owners' house. We had the pool to ourselves, and Caroline (Michael was away when we were there) was not so much the owner living next door as the perfect neighbour – charming, helpful, but not intrusive. We normally don't go for properties where the owner lives next door, or for shared pools, but we were seduced by the pool photos, and we were very glad that we decided to rent for a fortnight. With owners like this it's actually better than being on your own with just the number of an agent. The dogs and cat were beautiful, friendly, amusing, and by no means a problem – more of an attraction!

3: The equipment in the house is way above average (going by our experience). Examples: good strong electric fans in each bedroom; bedside tables and lights on each side of the bed, with separate switches; tissue boxes on each side of the bed (and of the sink!); plenty of pillows; duvets and proper cotton/linen sheets; plenty of storage space for clothes and cases in the bedrooms; loads of glasses, for both white and red (Michael knows his wine); big cooking utensils (very good and large frying pan, for example); cooking knives sharper than the sharp one I brought myself; sharp steak knives (lots of them); kitchen roll, foil, clingfilm, dishwasher tablets, washing machine powder, etc; soap, handwash and shower gel; a welcome pack; fresh lavender on the hall table; loads of UK/Europe plug adaptors; the barbecue is a very good gas-fired one, very hot if required, and a cylinder was provided; very generous supply of outdoor furniture; etc, etc, etc.

4: The pool is of course phenomenal, and it is kept up immaculately. I've never swum so much on holiday. The grounds, too, are terrific, with benches under trees or beside the carp pond (you are encouraged to feed the koi). Lots of shade, places to walk in the grounds (it will take you about half an hour to walk round the boundary), butterflies everywhere, deer, buzzards, swallows skimming insects from the pool at dusk – and all very, very quiet. The views, the sunsets, the stars, even the storms are spectacular.

Thanks for a wonderful holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting in the shade by the pool
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2013
Blimey - I think I had better spend more time at home! Sorry I missed you but glad Caro was able to look after you - even if you did drink some of 'my' wine!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset UK
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The infinity pool
Liked least: Coming home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Aug 2013
Thanks Bridget, we are glad you enjoyed it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Eaton-Bsm...
Leicestershire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely house with an awesome one-of-a-kind pool!”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The owners had made every effort to equip the cottage with everything you could need including a bunch of fresh basil, sheets as well as duvets, pool towels, and a huge welcome from both Mike and Caro.
The pool was fantastic and swimming in the evening with the underwater lights on and the bats swooping over head was a truly memorable experience for us all.
The surrounding land was an additional unexpected bonus - we watch a mother fox and her cubs playing in the valley behind the house, saw buzzards and even a hoopoe in the grounds.
If you are scared of dogs you might not like this property as the owners very friendly dogs do welcome you when ever you come back. But if like us you love animals this was a welcome bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Had to be the awesome pool...
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2013
Thanks for your comments - we agree that the mutts do like to welcome you and expect a bit of attention in return! Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernadett...
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful Place - Highly Recommend!”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

If you are looking for a place to unwind, relax and release the stressors of everyday life, well this is the place to stay! From the moment you enter the tree-lined driveway you know you are in a special place and this wonderful cottage offers it all. A lot of thought has been put in to making this cottage a welcoming space for us vacationers, no thinking required here! The cottage is spacious, bright, clean and extremely well-equipped; your every need has been considered. Outside, the private terrace to sit and have your meals, the loungers under the shady trees where you can gaze out at the rolling hills and unwind and of course, the amazing infinity pool with its never-ending views of the French country side very much add to the overall experience. The only sounds you hear are those of birds and the faint bellowing of cows from the farm down the hill – missing this place already!
A special mention to the owners of the property, Michael and Caroline – while respecting your privacy they are on-hand to assist and will offer recommendations on the local area with its many restaurants and attractions. We highly recommend this cottage and will certainly be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property and it's amenities
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2013
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you both back in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing