We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous property in Idyllic location - I'm...”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of gite,
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of gite,
Living Room Window of Gite View from Lane
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Front of gite,
Living Room Window of Gite
View from Lane
Blue Room in Gite
Rose Room in Gite with En-Suite and Day Bed
Pool with Steps
Al Fresco Dining and Table tennis under theTerrace
View of House from top meadow
Abundance of Fruit in the Orchards . Help yourself to peaches, apples and variety of plums
Sunflowers in field next to Le Grand Bois
Enjoying Glass of Wine on Terrace as Sun goes Down
Spices at local Eymet Market
Apples at Bergerac Market
Fruit Picking in the orchard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Eymet, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Heather J
1 review
“Fabulous property in Idyllic location - I'm smitten ...highly recommended”
Reviewed 2 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

LUCKY me - this was my second visit to Le Grand Bois with my husband and daughter and I couldn't wait to get there again. The house and connecting gite ooze rustic charm and the property is superbly appointed with everything you need for a family holiday! The decor is totally in keeping with the property and the owners have worked hard to create an oasis of tranquilly for guests.
Located seemingly in the middle of farmland at first glance, you soon realise you are mere minutes away in the car from so many amazing towns, markets and sights. Eymet and Bergerac are around 20 minutes away offering a wonderful contrast.
Large grounds make for exploring, the pool and decking area beg to be relaxed beside and for the more energetic there are bikes and table tennis. Cooking facilities are great and there is a BBQ poolside for those long summer evenings.
All the other 'mod cons' are there too - washing machine, TV etc. We cannot wait to return - thanks to the hosts for such a wonderful stay again. Seriously tempted to follow your lead ;)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charm of the house coupled with the exquisite location
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daydream6...
1 review
“idyllic, quiet and perfect”
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We were immediately impressed with how isolated the property was being surrounded by fields. The amenities were good with a pool, bikes, table tennis table and good grounds. Lying by the pool with numerous buzzards souring above was an experience. For those more energetic there are great routes to run with the local roads very quiet with traffic.
There are good vineyards close by the nearest a 5 minute cycle away.
All that you require is a 20 minute drive away with good shops and supermarkets in Bergerac.
Local markets in nearby towns serve good local cuisine which we sampled quite often. The closest is in Eymet. For those who are bothered, there is a good gas barbeque which we used regularly. All in all a great fortnight which offered the chance to recharge batteries. We would definitely come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quietness
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethell53...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Therapeutic heaven, an idyllic place to unwind”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is a magical place, it's peaceful and relaxing, I love the decor and it's just such a great place to unwind and reboot. The facilities are excellent, you have everything you need, lovely decking by the pool and lots of sun loungers and hammocks to lie on, various outside places to sit and eat or relax.
We swam in the pool every day, ate fruit off the trees, BBq'd every night and explored some of the wonderful villages and towns nearby.
Eymet is really pretty village with a great market, Bergerac is a very nice town with excellent shops and restaurants and we ventured further afield to St Emillion which is utterly delightful.
Its an easy drive from the airport (about 10 to fifteen min) we hired a car and picked it up at Bergerac airport, there's so much to do in the area it would be tempting to return. I thoroughly recommend this place to anyone, my girls adored it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor/location
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fatspoon
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second visit to Le Grand Bois and another great time was had by all. We flew to Bergerac with our 20mth twins and the property is a 20 minute drive away.
We had everything we needed for a wonderful stay: lots of space to relax in, great swimming pool, toys for the toddlers and cool, airy bedrooms at night.
Le Grand Bois is in a stunning location in the French countryside, it feels like a world away but is actually very convenient to travel to. We'll be back again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADETHOMAS...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Fabulous - We'll be back”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Our holiday was perfect in every way with so much to do and so much to see. The house itself is full of rustic charm and catered for all our needs, with incredible outside space for BBQ, sunbathing and swimming in delightful pool. Mountain bikes were a bonus and the meadow was beautiful. So many vinyards to choose from and and Michelin star restaurant close by. We visited with our teenage sons and have already booked to return next year with friends as well. A visit to Bergerac is a must especially on market day. Thank you Andrea for making our holiday absolutely fabulous

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and rustic charm
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pvelardi2...
Beckenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 30 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Stayed here with friends for a long weekend! Absolutely perfect, in many ways, location, surroundings, facilities and the fact that its surrounded in an amazing field, so pretty and peaceful and only 10/15 minutes from Bergerac airport and close to the main town etc. What more do you want.
Will definitely go back but this time bring the family as they'll love it too.
Highly recommend it.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bodie1951
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a way to start our retirement road trip”
Reviewed 24 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed here for 3 weeks in March. We picked it as it had the 'french look' ie blue shutters and rustic charm. We weren't disappointed.! Andrea was fantastic making sure we were clued up before we went with directions etc and when we got there there was a lovely welcome pack to greet us. The gite is decorated in shabby chic style and fully equipped. The pool and canopied area were fabulous but the weather was only warm enough to sit on the deck and read a book. Although in the country there are lots of places to see nearby and for days out Rocamadour. Sarlat and St-cirq-lapopie were favourites. Very sad to leave but hopefully we will be back...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing