We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Les Ormes, Domaine & Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Dol-de-Bretagne
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent family holiday”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 10 nights in July 2014 with Eurocamp. The park itself is great. Lots of activities on offer and nice to have several pools to choose from, with lots of water slides. The kids loved it! So many activities on offer we only left the park for one half day trip to the aquarium in St Malo and a couple of quick visits to the local supermarket.

We found the Eurocamp couriers very helpful and friendly. Check in was quick and easy. After several nights we decided to extend our stay by a couple of nights since we were all having such a lovely time. A nice girl at Eurocamp reception took care of everything for us.

The caravan we stayed in was fine and the location was excellent! 10 minute walk to the facilities but we hired a little pull along cart for the little ones to sit in so that helped speed things up. We were lucky enough to have a large grassy area outside the caravan for the kids to play.

The Eurocamp kids club and staff were really good. We weren't planning on using it as much as we did but the kids loved it and wanted to go in most mornings. The learn to ride classes were a bonus and our daughter learned to cycle without stabilisers for the first time! The kids couriers were very enthusiastic and full of fun. It was worth booking with Eurocamp for the kids club alone.

There were a few things that could be better, otherwise may have given 5 stars. The park could be doing with a coffee shop or takeaway coffees maybe from the ice cream kiosk (which had pretty limited opening hours much to our kids disappointment). You could get coffee in the bar but didn't open till 11. The main restaurant menu was very limited and wasn't overly impressed with the food but we tended to eat in most of the time. The evening entertainment was very late and therefore unsuitable for families with young children.

This was the best family holiday we've been on and plan to return in 2014.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Haze46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    314
    89
    34
    28
See reviews for
488
153
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband is from St. Malo and we visit family often here, always hearing you can stay in a cabin in the trees. Thud summer I insisted we go . We were a young couple without kids, thus the aquaparc and such was not very appealing to us. The Cabin the the Air was absolutely phenomenal, however. Very reasonably priced, we were briefly trained with the zipline and climbing before going to our cabin. The accommodation is incredibly romantic and extremely unique, to say the least. BWe had a basket of food delivered to us for dinner and had brought champagne. The bed was extremely comfortable and we had an amazing nights sleep in the trees. In the morning, a breakfast basket awaited us with hot coffee and all. We absolutely adored our stay. It was a very unique and fun experience!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shailvi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Absolutely terrible. We stayed here with Eurocamp in July 2014.The caravan was filthy, took three adults three hours to clean. Including a broken bed, two broken windows, broken sections on the deck and a table covered in sick!!! The inclusive facilities where actually only the swimming pool, which was closed 'for maintenance' for two days of our stay. The 10:30pm all quiet rule was completely pointless, as noise levels were ridiculous until the early hours every night. With two small children in tow, who were constantly exhausted because of lack of sleep, it spoiled an important element of our holiday. If you are looking for an 18-30 type holiday for families this is for you. However, if you want an activity rich holiday for your family avoid...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eurocamp, Customer Care Team at Les Ormes, Domaine & Resort, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent holiday at Domaine des Ormes.

We know how good quality accommodation really does make a difference to the overall holiday experience, and we apologise for the fact that you arrived to an accommodation that was not in a suitable condition. We’ve passed your comments onto our Team Leader based at this parc who will ensure additional training is given to the couriers in relation to accommodation preparation and reporting maintenance faults. Also, we’re sorry to hear that you were unable to make full use of the pool for a part of your holiday. Unfortunately, parcs do sometimes have to undergo maintenance of the pool facilities, and we apologise for any disappointment caused.

Kind regards

Customer Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a 10 day stay here in July 2014. The site was huge, very family friendly, and we felt we only did a fraction of what was on offer. The indoor pool was brilliant on inclement days, of which there were a couple (as expected!), and the outdoor pools and new toboggan slides were fab on hot sunny days. Lots to do in the area too! We stayed in a Eurocamp tent, which was brilliantly equipped and on a large emplacement, and gave the kids loads of similarly aged friends to have great freedom on site. I hope that they will upgrade the washroom facilities to match the others on site (ours were clearly older). And please would they add some soap to the loos - this was a minor gripe! We did enjoy our stay very much.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Wow!!! This place has it all. We stayed for 18 nights in a new aspect mobile home with Eurocamp. We didn't want to leave. Beautiful peaceful site when we were there, (heard it gets busier later in the year). Place had everything to keep the kids happy, swimming pools, climbing walls, fishing lakes, zip lines, treetop adventure trails, pony rides. Also has a full golf course and pitch and putt course. The aspect mobile is amazing, it has huge deck, gas BBQ, ratan furniture, air con, plasma tv, heated towel rails, coffee machine, oven, microwave, dishwasher! More mod cons than we have at home!! Will definitely be back and are bringing friends!!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CorkBale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

been so many times its great for small children as the amount of english speaking people makes it easy to make friends and the shear amount of activities means there is always something to do he accomodation is far enough away from the nighttime activity that it is never loud at night the campsite is aesthetically pleasing and a safe environment for all because of the security it is also great for teens because of the activities and the nightclub and the amount of English people

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurien52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomaineDesOrmes, Responsable commercial at Les Ormes, Domaine & Resort, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hello,

We thank you very much for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the place and kind of feel home with us.

We’ll be happy to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

The Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This was our first time staying at a campsite. We went with Eurocamp. The drive is 2 hrs straight down the motorway from Cherbourg, no hassle. The site is awesome. Its huge. We stayed the first two nights in a treehouse over the lake, 10 nights in a mobile home and 2 nights on a boat house. The treehouse and boat house are incredible! We booked the treehouse with Eurocamp but had to book the boat house direct with Des Ormes. It was well worth it. The boat house was the highlight of the trip.I dont know where to start... google des ormes to see the images. Suffice to say we floated out onto the lake, we were surrounded by ducks, geese, fish jumping, kingfishers a wren had his nest on the boat/house, the frogs sang at night while bats flew overhead as we had a glass of wine by candlelight and we were even visited by a Copyu (like a beaver). Breakfast was left hanging in a basket from a tree each morning and we pulled ourselves to shore to get fresh bread, croissants, coffee and juice. Amazing! If you go to this site the treehouse and boat house are a must but be warned its a dry toilet and no power or water so it might wear a bit thin if you stayed for more than a couple of nights!
The site itself was great with trees everywhere so you really felt like you were in the woods. The facilities were great: we were very impressed with the on site shop and family restaurant as we expected rip off prices for the captive customers but it was actually very reasonable. In fact, a pint in the bar on site was cheaper than in the nearby town! If you are going with kids I would reccomend Eurocamp. They have the kids club thing sown up for all ages including learning to ride bikes and pizza parties and if you have and older kid there is an amazing soccer camp that runs around the clock as far as we could see!
There is a zip wire, high rope course thing, good playground, crazy golf, tennis, pedalos, horse riding, golf course, stocked fishing lakes etc.
The pools were grand, a nice warm indoor one and cold outside ones but it was a bit inclement when we went and on the bad days the indoor pool was busy but it looks like they are also building another one outside with slides and all the bells and whistles. There is a town five mins away by car with huge supermarkets. Also withing driving distance for rainy days are the aquarium in St Malo and the Aligator Park, both excellent.
We went in the end of June when the UK were still in school so it was mostly Irish. I imagine a lot head there from the UK during peak as its so handy (ferry to St Malo and half hours drive) so it may get very busy at peak season??
If I was to pick holes: the camps entertainment was too late so we never did it. It usually started at 9.30pm which is a non runner for young kids. Also the wi-fi is appalling but then again, you are on holiday and maybe you can do without the internet for a week or two?!! A lot of the activities are unsupervised i.e the high ropes and pony rides, we were handed a pony and half way around the park he decided he didnt want to go any further and we were on our own to figure out how to make a stubborn horse move!!
Great place, highly reccomended, its fairly north so its a roll of the dice with the weather depending on when you go.

Room Tip: See if you can get the Aspect mobile homes at a good rate as they are top class otherwise look at tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomaineDesOrmes, Responsable commercial at Les Ormes, Domaine & Resort, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hello,

Thank you for this large and exhaustive comment. We hope it will be helpful for families preparing their vacations. You made a faithful portrait of Domaine des Ormes, and its defining features. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the tree houses and raft houses, it is true that is a really nice experience to live.

We’ll be happy to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

The Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dol-de-Bretagne
3.5 mi away
Akena City
Akena City
#2 of 5 in Dol-de-Bretagne
176 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel de L'Abbaye
Hotel de L'Abbaye
#1 of 2 in Le Tronchet
178 reviews
5.0 mi away
Saint-Malo Golf Resort
Saint-Malo Golf Resort
#2 of 2 in Le Tronchet
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Maison Tirel-Guerin
Maison Tirel-Guerin
#1 of 1 in Saint-Meloir-des-Ondes
530 reviews
14.9 mi away
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
#8 of 81 in Saint-Malo
616 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel de Bretagne
Hotel de Bretagne
#3 of 5 in Dol-de-Bretagne
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Ormes, Domaine & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Ormes, Domaine & Resort

Property: Les Ormes, Domaine & Resort
Address: Les Ormes, 35120, Dol-de-Bretagne, France (Formerly Domaine des Ormes)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Dol-de-Bretagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Dol-de-Bretagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Ormes, Domaine & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between Le Mont Saint-Michel and Saint-Malo, Domaine des Ormes, hotel residence and camping*****, is open all year in a unique 250-hectare nature. For your holidays, with family or friends, Domaine des Ormes offers several types of accommodation: tree houses, water houses, cottage hutte, hotel, apartment, mobile homes or campsite, there is something for all tastes and all budgets. The Domaine des Ormes also offers many activities on site: swimming pools and indoor water park, adventure park, paintball, pedal boats, bicycle rental, fishing and more. Also discover the 18-hole golf course or the equestrian center. There is also a large selection of restaurants (convivial atmosphere at the Club House, overlooking the golf course and the castle; refined cuisine based on local produce and market at L'Oie Gourmande, overlooking the pool; great salads and grilled meats in the restaurant - wine bar Le Cellier). At the heart of a region full of charm, Domaine des Ormes will be your starting point to visit Mont Saint-Michel, Saint-Malo, Dinan, Rennes, etc. The ideal place for successful holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, PitchUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Les Ormes, Domaine & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Des Ormes Hotel Dol-De-Bretagne
Les Ormes, Domaine & Resort Dol-De-Bretagne, France - Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing