We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant site, convenient for St Malo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Les Ormes, Domaine & Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dol-de-Bretagne
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant site, convenient for St Malo”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Visited in May 2014, as a couple, for a one night break. The site is just over a half hour drive from St Malo, making it convenient for anyone on that particular ferry route.

We stayed in Eurocamps section, in one of their new Aspect homes. What a fantastic bit of kit, new and fresh, immaculate throughout, huge decking area with good furniture and a BBQ. Lots of space inside and a decent dishwasher was good too. Definitely worth the money. Only downside is the mattresses were all very hard - I assume because they're new but even so, it was disappointing given the high standard of everything else.

Have to say, as we were only staying a night, didn't see much of the campsite - but what we did see looked good, though the pool area was being refurbished. The shop was well stocked and reasonable value though.

Would definitely come back here - and for longer next time.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Allisonowen2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    322
    101
    41
    31
See reviews for
532
157
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This site has the best pools/slides we have ever seen at a campsite. Massive pitches but not very level. Toilet blocks for the tourers not very nice with broken sinks with water spilling everywhere and long walks to get water for your caravan.For a 5 star Les Castels site you expect a little more. Bar and restaurant area excellent along with reception staff. Nice food and ice cream from hut next to games room. Great entertainment for kids with lots to do. Weather was fantastic so really enjoyed pools/slides and zip wire.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was our second consecutive annual stay for this site- booked through Eurocamp but several other holiday companies use it. We stayed at oliviers last year and were in HB row this year. Our 2 teenagers spent all day at the pool and used the free wifi in the evenings- this was of no interest to me,as me and my partner were on holiday away from technology.
It is a big site but never felt rammed and on top of us.The wednesday circus is great and good value for 10 euros each. The pizzas are great as are the chickens and frites.
We had no issues with our accommodation. it was well presented and clean. As far as noise is concerned, having read odd reviews ,i can say it was not a problem last year, nor was it this year, maybe because there was a visible presence of security on the site with officers patrolling on golf buggies. The one time when we were in bed- sadly knackered by 11.00, there was a noisy new group(constant turnover of residents) who sat on deck clearly under some influence. However it suddenly stopped just after 11.00 . Its abrupt ending inferred to me the security staff had put in an appearance. Certainly there is more signage threatening expulsion if badly behaved, so reading between the lines, maybe there was an issue but it seems now to be under control.Why do the Brits seem to go mad on holiday and drink too much? for certainly the one experience this year was caused by english voices.
The local Sunday market in St Leonards is worth going.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I should firstly inform.. we stayed on a camping pitch with electricity in July, 2 adults 2 children.

For a 5* camping.. I was pretty disappointed. In short:

Good points:
- plenty of entertainment and activities for the kids
- enthusiastic kids club entertainment
- quiet at night on the camping
- food can be hit and miss in the pizza restaurant but staff good
- nice spar supermarket with fresh bread/croissants/pan au chocolat in the morning
- felt safe letting the kids explore alone

Bad points:
- free wifi in the bar was impossibly slow, especially if busy
- wifi could be bought for 25euros a week!
- toilets were ALWAYS dirty and/or had no paper ( unless you count the paper strewn on the floor ) and no soap.
- showers dirty, missing tiles, water ran for 4 seconds before you need to press the knob again... HOLES BETWEEN CUBICLES! confetti-ed with short & curlies.
- bar staff very slow, even when not busy
- paint flaking off the pool floor outside
- dirty water puddles you have to walk through to enter the pool
- parts of indoor pool smelled mouldy
- washing up sinks leaked through the tap and were always dirty
- our camping pitch was brown from previous tenants.. and showed no signs of growing back

I dont think the fact there are many pools/restaurants/attractions makes up for the lack of basic cleanliness and upkeep of a 5* resort, especially when we pay a 5* price, hence my lower rating.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A lively and beautiful park full of things going on to entertain children. The tree houses are set in beautiful locations, and make for a magical stay (we kept it a secret from our children until they got there and they were spellbound).

Room Tip: Wonderful tree houses next to the lake, which are very private, but still only a short walk from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suffolk2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 21 nights in June in a Canvas Holidays mobile home. We were very impressed with the site and have stayed in many campsite throughout England and France. The grounds are simply fabulous, beautifully maintained and extensive. We were issued with a detailed map which made exploring so much easier. There is a Chateau, lakes, golf course, tree houses hidden all over the place, a cricket square (where they land the helicopters) not to mention the bar,indoor waterpark, outdoor pools, wave machine, waterslides etc. There is an onsite shop that stocks the essentials and ideal for emergencies but there are plenty of supermarkets in all directions from the site. We visited the bar a few times and found the atmosphere welcoming.The main reception staff spoke many languages and could not be more helpful and friendly. We brought folding bikes with us and found them really useful due to the size of the site. We also cycled to the Sunday market in the nearby village. We found fabulous walks around the perimeter of the site and through the woods and could easily have stayed a few more weeks. We left just before most of the school holidays started and so I don't think we saw the site at its busiest. Great place, great holiday, relaxing and excellent weather.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

What a great place, everything a family could want in a beautiful location. Do as much or as little as you please and the location is superb to explore the wonderful beaches towns and countryside around it. Staff very helpful and always someone around. Top marks.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneyD8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dol-de-Bretagne
3.5 mi away
Akena City
Akena City
#1 of 5 in Dol-de-Bretagne
199 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel de L'Abbaye
Hotel de L'Abbaye
#1 of 2 in Le Tronchet
201 reviews
5.0 mi away
Saint-Malo Golf Resort
Saint-Malo Golf Resort
#2 of 2 in Le Tronchet
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Maison Tirel-Guerin
Maison Tirel-Guerin
#1 of 1 in Saint-Meloir-des-Ondes
571 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel de Bretagne
Hotel de Bretagne
#3 of 5 in Dol-de-Bretagne
58 reviews
9.0 mi away
Residence Le Domaine du Mont
Residence Le Domaine du Mont
#2 of 3 in Roz-sur-Couesnon
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Ormes, Domaine & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Ormes, Domaine & Resort

Property: Les Ormes, Domaine & Resort
Address: Les Ormes, 35120, Dol-de-Bretagne, France (Formerly Domaine des Ormes)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Dol-de-Bretagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dol-de-Bretagne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Ormes, Domaine & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between Le Mont Saint-Michel and Saint-Malo, Domaine des Ormes, hotel residence and camping*****, is open all year in a unique 250-hectare nature. For your holidays, with family or friends, Domaine des Ormes offers several types of accommodation: tree houses, water houses, cottage hutte, hotel, apartment, mobile homes or campsite, there is something for all tastes and all budgets. The Domaine des Ormes also offers many activities on site: swimming pools and indoor water park, adventure park, paintball, pedal boats, bicycle rental, fishing and more. Also discover the 18-hole golf course or the equestrian center. There is also a large selection of restaurants (convivial atmosphere at the Club House, overlooking the golf course and the castle; refined cuisine based on local produce and market at L'Oie Gourmande, overlooking the pool; great salads and grilled meats in the restaurant - wine bar Le Cellier). At the heart of a region full of charm, Domaine des Ormes will be your starting point to visit Mont Saint-Michel, Saint-Malo, Dinan, Rennes, etc. The ideal place for successful holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Les Ormes, Domaine & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Des Ormes Hotel Dol-De-Bretagne
Les Ormes, Domaine & Resort Dol-De-Bretagne, France - Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing