We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Cepada Hotel
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Cangas de Onis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Our receptionist on arrival was very pleasant but seemed to have a cold, and was in a hurry to go to another part of the hotel. No information was given about breakfast times or restaurant, but he did tell us about the festival of San Antonio
which was being celebrated in the town ( June 13th). It was lovely to see children and adults in local costume when we had made our way to the marquee on the other side of the town in the early evening. A concert had started, and we stayed a while to enjoy the atmosphere. The downside was that the concert lasted til after 3.30a.m. and echoed throughout the valley, making sleep difficult. The following night the concert finished after 4.15 a.m., so be warned.

Breakfast was fairly basic for a large hotel, mainly toast, with some ham and sliced cheese. Fruit was served one morning, but not the next.
There is a lovely south facing sun-deck, but no sun loungers, only a couple of chairs stacked against the wall.
We did not use the restaurant as meals were not served until 9 p.m.which is too late for us. This hotel is in a great position, and the rooms are very spacious and spotlessly clean, but it seemed to lack warmth and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthDevonTravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

We arrived at the hotel, to be amazed. The room was massive and really lovely. The view across Cangas to the mountains was incredible.
The restaurant, which is open to residents Sunday and Monday, was wonderful. The food and atmosphere were fantastic.
The staff, though they had little English were eager to assist, and made our holiday really special. The head waiter spoke perfect English (so understanding the menu was not a problem).
A truly superb holiday, we look forward to our return.

Room Tip: Our twin room was more like a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We loved staying at La Cepada - the location is brilliant - 10 minutes walk to the centre of the town and with fabulous views over the town and surrounding mountains. The large room with the brilliant floor to ceiling windows was very comfortable and the bathroom very spacious and well equipped. The food was excellent - we loved the breakfasts and the chef was great and prepared some lovely dinners - we really enjoyed all the food. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. Cangas de Onis is an excellent centre for exploring the Picos and the lovely coves along the coast. We shall certainly visit again and look forward to a return trip to La Cepada.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good - the ones with the huge windows offer a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

This hotel is set just outside Cangis de Onis looking out over the town and up towards the Picos De Europa. The beds were very comfortable and the room was more the size of a suite than a bedroom. One wall was floor to ceiling window with stunning views. The hotel was very quiet but we did get treated to a 6 course taster meal with wine in the restaurant which was great value for money. The hotel was very quiet and we often had to go find staff to get drinks or food but this was never a real problem. The breakfast was very nice and I particularly liked the apple pancake and cheeses.

Room Tip: All rooms have wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shobrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Picos da Europe are a wonderful place. We were very lucky with the good weather, taking the advantage of snow in the "picos" and pleasant sunny weather in the Lakes and in the Beach.
The hotel is very nice, fantastic landscape, great breakfast on the terrace with view for the mountains. We ordered a standard room and we were pleased on our arrival with a big superior room with a great view.
We were supposed to stay only for two nights, but at the end we decide to stay one more night.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: As for a superior room where you'll find a great view to the mountains and Cangas de Onis villag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

we had room 207 at the far end of the building - it was the most amazing view. Yes you hear the occasional dog/rooster but you are in rural spain, what do you expect!!!! The team there are wonderful, no they do not speak much English, however how many english hotels do the spanish go to actually speak Spanish, this is such a stupid comment to make. Everywhere is spotlessy clean, the food is to die for and the views just seem to get better. The golf course associated with the hotel (23km away approx) is a little slice of heaven, again great people and lovely course. We will be returning next year in September and, I am sure, it will be just as wonderful as the previous years

Room Tip: Room 207 was excellent being furthest away from the restaurant, so no noise, and with the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayneBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

A beautiful hotel in an amazing location set on the hillside just outside Cangas de Onis. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the town which was not a problem - just remember to take a torch for the walk back and use the short cut back to the hotel. The rooms are very large and comfortable with modern bathrooms. Nice bar area and outside terrace with great views. Breakfast was waitress service and therefore a bit slow, we felt they (and guests) would benefit from making it buffet style so that guests could take what they wanted. Very friendly and helpful manager and staff, and although not all areas were staffed continuously, it didn't take long for someone to turn up once you had rung the bell. It was a shame the restaurant didn't open until 9pm, however there were great bars and restaurants in the town.

We would definately stay there again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OJOffice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cangas de Onis hotels
1.2 mi away
Parador de Cangas de Onis
Parador de Cangas de Onis
#1 of 42 in Cangas de Onis
1,030 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Los Lagos Nature
Hotel Los Lagos Nature
#13 of 42 in Cangas de Onis
355 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Maria Manuela
Hotel Maria Manuela
#1 of 1 in Benia de Onis
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Sella
Hotel El Sella
#8 of 42 in Cangas de Onis
196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Cruz
Hotel Santa Cruz
#10 of 42 in Cangas de Onis
198 reviews
3.4 mi away
Entremontes
Entremontes
#2 of 42 in Cangas de Onis
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cepada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cepada Hotel

Address: Avenida Contranquil s/n, 33550, Cangas de Onis, Spain
Region: Spain > Asturias > Cangas de Onis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Cangas de Onis
Price Range: £49 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cepada Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy some delightful days in the heart of the Principality of Asturias. The hotel, which was built in 2001, has four floors and a total of twenty rooms, two of which are suites and eighteen double rooms. It has a foyer with lifts and a reception area that is open 24 hours a day. We also have the renowned restaurant, El Cenador de los Canonigos, where you will find a creative cuisine based on products from Asturias. The food will delight you and the surroundings and the quality of the service will invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy some exquisite dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your La Cepada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing