We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Godd location and accommodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cepada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Cepada Hotel
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Cangas de Onis
DjerbaSperwoman
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Godd location and accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

This hotel overlooked the town and had covered parking. The hotel was clean and very quiet. We had a very large room, which was very comfortable. The hospitality was generally good. The restaurant was closed when we stayed only one night but there were plenty of restaurants in the town. The only problem I had was that when my husband telephoned and asked for my room number, he was told that no one of my name was in that room and so he could not put him through. My husband tried several times but no effort was made to connect him!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DjerbaSuperwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    107
    36
    17
    15
See reviews for
89
232
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed here for one night and we loved the views and the walk up to the hotel. If you want to go for dinner in town it takes a good 10 minutes to walk back but we loved that experience (you have to go past a little forest). Breakfast was good but not extremely big. Excellent views.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
137 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

A superb hotel, family run, excellent service from owner and all staff.
Value for money hotel and restaurant, good homemade food,good wine,good price.
Good breakfast.Spacious light airy comfortable clean rooms with excellent views.
Nice surroundings good places to sit outside,easy parking.
Accepts dogs, for a small charge.
Will 100% return.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank chiccadaluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We visited “La Cepada” a few months back, in May 2013. We weren't staying there, but decided to go nonetheless because we had been told that the outdoors restaurant was worth the very short ride from Cangas de Onís. And boy, was it good.
The location and the views over the whole valley are breathtaking. We were placed at one of the tables directly overlooking the area, and the service was kind and helpful from start to finish. Dinner was superb — all kind of local delicacies, and Spanish fine cuisine.
It got a bit chilly at the end of the evening, but for some reason no–one was eager to leave early.
Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripu_info
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We arrived at this lovely hotel and were greeted by a friendly staff. We were shown to our room that had a magnificent view of town and the mountains (all the rooms have a view, the hotel
Is built in the side of the mountain and all room face out down the hill).

Even better is the restaurant, some of the best food I enjoyed in Spain. The GM is also the chief and he and the staff do a wonderful Job, the food was
Local, fresh and delicious, I can't wait to visit again!

Fill disclosure: The only negatives are no air conditioning and barking dogs and chickens from the town below.

Overall a wonderful experience with wonderful people who provide individual service with a smile!

Room Tip: All rooms are great facing town and mountians, but ask for one farthest from bar patio for more priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingwino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Not wanting to repeat everything that everyone has said but yes the view was fantastic, the staff friendly when you could find them, the dogs bark (but hey it's the country) and the Spanish seemingly never sleep so there will usually be some later night noise.

Overall a decent hotel, a clean and spacious room but not really 4 stars in my opinion. The room was adequately furnished but we had two proper beds and two additional put me ups for the children. There were obvious gouges in the wall where the additional beds had been used before and which left me feeling that we had been given a lesser room as we wanted one for four. The taps in the bathroom were tarnished and the plug in the bath didn't fit. No A/C either. There was certainly no sign of the flowers or plush curtains which the photos here show.

We didn't eat in the restaurant as the menu was seemed expensive and the breakfast at €9 each was just too much for four. Instead we went to a bar/cafe in town and ate breakfast for a total of €10 for all of us.

There was nothing actually wrong with the hotel but we were in northern Spain for two weeks and this was by far the most expensive place we stayed. It's just a pity it didn't feel like it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EKG_Brits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

The best features of this hotel is that it is up on a hill and a bit of a hike to the town of Cangas de Onis. It is easy to hike down the hill and walk to the local bus station which offers tours of the national park of the picos de europa which are an absolutely incredible must see as a site.

The hotel itself is massive on expansive lands and has very large suites and bathrooms. They have the BEST views of the mountains and the town of anywhere in the vicinity. The suites were quiet during my stay and the breakfasts are a simple affair with the usual components.

The staff made every effort to communicate with me with little spoken English and were very gracious and helpful.

If this review is helpful please offer this feedback for others. Thanks.

Room Tip: You should ask for the best view although I think all the rooms or at least most have stellar views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thesuperfoodchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cangas de Onis hotels
1.2 mi away
Parador de Cangas de Onis
Parador de Cangas de Onis
#1 of 42 in Cangas de Onis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Maria Manuela
Hotel Maria Manuela
#1 of 1 in Benia de Onis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
29.7 mi away
Hotel Los Lagos Nature
Hotel Los Lagos Nature
#8 of 42 in Cangas de Onis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Sella
Hotel El Sella
#6 of 42 in Cangas de Onis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
3.4 mi away
Entremontes
Entremontes
#2 of 42 in Cangas de Onis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Casa De Campo
Hotel Casa De Campo
#16 of 42 in Cangas de Onis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cepada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cepada Hotel

Property: La Cepada Hotel
Address: Avenida Contranquil s/n, 33550, Cangas de Onis, Spain
Region: Spain > Asturias > Cangas de Onis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Cangas de Onis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cepada Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy some delightful days in the heart of the Principality of Asturias. The hotel, which was built in 2001, has four floors and a total of twenty rooms, two of which are suites and eighteen double rooms. It has a foyer with lifts and a reception area that is open 24 hours a day. We also have the renowned restaurant, El Cenador de los Canonigos, where you will find a creative cuisine based on products from Asturias. The food will delight you and the surroundings and the quality of the service will invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy some exquisite dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your La Cepada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing