We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They mustn't spoil this place as a result of our rave reviews!”
Review of La Cepada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Cepada Hotel
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Cangas de Onis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had five days at La Cepada and loved it. Gracious welcome from Abdo - this man should be a hotel manager in his own right, terrific blend of helpfulness, graciousness and linguistic brilliance - then the surprise of a very spacious bedroom with extremely comfortable beds plus all usual mod cons. We lived in Southern Spain for a number of years sand know Asturias somewhat, so we reckoned the Picos de Europa views from our bedroom window matched anything we'd seen around the Sierra Nevada down south. We didn't eat all meals at the hotel but the taster meal of Asturias cuisine was superbly prepared and very satisfying. The best meal of all, however,
was at the Parador on the road outside Cangas where the baked cod fillet was succulent beyond dreams!
The Brittany Ferries trip going and coming was on virtually flat calm seas but the number of obsese Brits on board was very scarey....we have a crisis situation, for sure, and gastric bands should be iwidely on offer for older folk, especially....it was sad to see.

Room Tip: You should get a mountain view room if you ring in advance to confirm. I doubt Brittany Ferries hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highlanders61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

The location of the hotel affords spectacular views over Cangas De Onis and the mountains beyond. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and the hotel was spotlessly clean. Our Spanish language skills are practically non existent so the restaurant menu was extremely daunting on our first night but we were rescued by Head Waiter Abdou who patiently guided us through and recommended various choices which proved to be excellent local Asturian dishes.
We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would definitely stay here again .

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jewill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This hotel overlooked the town and had covered parking. The hotel was clean and very quiet. We had a very large room, which was very comfortable. The hospitality was generally good. The restaurant was closed when we stayed only one night but there were plenty of restaurants in the town. The only problem I had was that when my husband telephoned and asked for my room number, he was told that no one of my name was in that room and so he could not put him through. My husband tried several times but no effort was made to connect him!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DjerbaSuperwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed here for one night and we loved the views and the walk up to the hotel. If you want to go for dinner in town it takes a good 10 minutes to walk back but we loved that experience (you have to go past a little forest). Breakfast was good but not extremely big. Excellent views.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

A superb hotel, family run, excellent service from owner and all staff.
Value for money hotel and restaurant, good homemade food,good wine,good price.
Good breakfast.Spacious light airy comfortable clean rooms with excellent views.
Nice surroundings good places to sit outside,easy parking.
Accepts dogs, for a small charge.
Will 100% return.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank chiccadaluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We visited “La Cepada” a few months back, in May 2013. We weren't staying there, but decided to go nonetheless because we had been told that the outdoors restaurant was worth the very short ride from Cangas de Onís. And boy, was it good.
The location and the views over the whole valley are breathtaking. We were placed at one of the tables directly overlooking the area, and the service was kind and helpful from start to finish. Dinner was superb — all kind of local delicacies, and Spanish fine cuisine.
It got a bit chilly at the end of the evening, but for some reason no–one was eager to leave early.
Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripu_info
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We arrived at this lovely hotel and were greeted by a friendly staff. We were shown to our room that had a magnificent view of town and the mountains (all the rooms have a view, the hotel
Is built in the side of the mountain and all room face out down the hill).

Even better is the restaurant, some of the best food I enjoyed in Spain. The GM is also the chief and he and the staff do a wonderful Job, the food was
Local, fresh and delicious, I can't wait to visit again!

Fill disclosure: The only negatives are no air conditioning and barking dogs and chickens from the town below.

Overall a wonderful experience with wonderful people who provide individual service with a smile!

Room Tip: All rooms are great facing town and mountians, but ask for one farthest from bar patio for more priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingwino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cangas de Onis hotels
1.2 mi away
Parador de Cangas de Onis
Parador de Cangas de Onis
#1 of 42 in Cangas de Onis
1,053 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Cruz
Hotel Santa Cruz
#8 of 42 in Cangas de Onis
201 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Maria Manuela
Hotel Maria Manuela
#1 of 1 in Benia de Onis
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Los Lagos Nature
Hotel Los Lagos Nature
#13 of 42 in Cangas de Onis
362 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Sella
Hotel El Sella
#10 of 42 in Cangas de Onis
197 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Casa De Campo
Hotel Casa De Campo
#15 of 42 in Cangas de Onis
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cepada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cepada Hotel

Address: Avenida Contranquil s/n, 33550, Cangas de Onis, Spain
Region: Spain > Asturias > Cangas de Onis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Cangas de Onis
Price Range: £48 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cepada Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy some delightful days in the heart of the Principality of Asturias. The hotel, which was built in 2001, has four floors and a total of twenty rooms, two of which are suites and eighteen double rooms. It has a foyer with lifts and a reception area that is open 24 hours a day. We also have the renowned restaurant, El Cenador de los Canonigos, where you will find a creative cuisine based on products from Asturias. The food will delight you and the surroundings and the quality of the service will invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy some exquisite dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Cepada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing