We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Jekyll and Hyde of the Picos”
Review of La Cepada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Cepada Hotel
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Cangas de Onis
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“The Jekyll and Hyde of the Picos”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is a real 'Jekyll and Hyde' of a hotel, and thus, very difficult to star-rate. Especially for me, as I usually only review good places on the grounds that TA travellers want help to find gems rather than read negative reviews from over-sensitive whingers who feel they've been let down and wish to cane the perceived offender!

So first, the good points. The room and the location were amazing. Great value, especially as we paid the equivalent of about 50 GB Pounds including breakfast when booked with a cheap car ferry crossing from UK with Brittany Ferries; but not bad booked freelance on a room-only basis at about 60 Euros in May via the usual TA partner sites.

The room was huge, comfortable, well-appointed, and, as other reviews point out, had the most stunning views of the Picos de Europa mountains (lucky weather- in Spring the peaks can be shrouded in cloud). More a suite than a room, with comfy beds, generous furniture and floor-to ceiling windows, so flooded with light and air (maybe too hot in summer- but not in May). Good wi-fi and although we were right above the function suite and terrace, this was no problem as mid-week there were none of the 'weddings til 3am' described by others.

The staff, with one exception, were charming; from the smiling breakfast waitress and chambermaids to the saintly Abdou, much praised in other reviews, and who seems to do everything from reception, to serving in the bar and terraces and waiting in the restaurant; no mean feat as these facilities are on three different floors. (I lied; there is also a hard-working gardener, so Abdou doesn't have to spend all day digging)

Unfortunately, we got 'the one exception' employee on arrival. Reception was devoid of customers, but the guy felt that ponderously checking us in on his computer and photocopying our passports while we waited was much more important than eye-contact, a smile or words of welcome. That (possibly fussy and over-sensitive?) whinge aside, we were then miffed to learn that despite having arrived at 2.30 pm, the height of Spanish lunch-time, there was no food available 'unless pre-reserved' (something unique in our experience of over 60 other Spanish Country hotels). This was also un-mentioned in the booking confirmation from Brittany Ferries, which, on the contrary, had promised a cafeteria service should the restaurant be closed in low season.

So we set off down the steep hill to the town over half a mile away - in the car - as one of us sprained an ankle that morning on the rugged coastal path. Even without, we'd have struggled with the 15-20 minute return ascent, as we're getting on a bit. Having plumped for one of the town restaurants' generous, 12 Euro-three-courses-with-wine common in this region (plumped being the operative word), we thought we'd lightly graze that evening, having been assured the hotel restaurant would open from 9-11pm (welcome timing as we slow down in Spain). It's common to share dishes from the over-sized portions on 'a-la-carte' menus in country hotels in this region.

Except that there was no 'a la carte'. Just two set menus, at 28 and 20 Euros per person, which were so weirdly and confusingly constructed ('Caprices of the market'..? Pica-Pica?') that apart from us and one other couple, the only other prospective customers - a young Spanish family - took one look at it, expressed bafflement, turned tail and fled. The wine list was similarly odd; there wasn't one; just a vague oral summary, with choices 'in the region of 20-40 euros a bottle'.

The saintly Abdou did a great job, as we are fairly demanding customers. However, having settled on an 18 Euro wine from the bottom of the range, and, unable to face a huge dinner, having negotiated a single salmon starter to share, a salad and a single steak split between two, we still ended up paying 72 Euros for (an admittedly delicious) meal. Ironically, this was the same price as two set menus, and exactly three times (or, as we effectively shared one meal, arguably six times) what we'd been paying for meals with wine in the prior week.

So- there you are. Exceptional value rooms. Highly recommended (if you don't mind hanging around just a little a bit while the hard-working receptionist/waiter/barman Abdou does his magic) for its rooms and terrace bar with views to die for. But unless you're flush with money, and don't mind being the only diners, bring sensible shoes or appoint a designated driver and eat in the town below. Then experience that righteous glow as you work off the calories hiking back past the school, the sports centre, housing estates, hill and woods after eating.

Room Tip: Ask if there's a wedding or function on before you book; if there is, ask if you can attend as o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    109
    37
    17
    15
See reviews for
91
239
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ross-shire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had five days at La Cepada and loved it. Gracious welcome from Abdo - this man should be a hotel manager in his own right, terrific blend of helpfulness, graciousness and linguistic brilliance - then the surprise of a very spacious bedroom with extremely comfortable beds plus all usual mod cons. We lived in Southern Spain for a number of years sand know Asturias somewhat, so we reckoned the Picos de Europa views from our bedroom window matched anything we'd seen around the Sierra Nevada down south. We didn't eat all meals at the hotel but the taster meal of Asturias cuisine was superbly prepared and very satisfying. The best meal of all, however,
was at the Parador on the road outside Cangas where the baked cod fillet was succulent beyond dreams!
The Brittany Ferries trip going and coming was on virtually flat calm seas but the number of obsese Brits on board was very scarey....we have a crisis situation, for sure, and gastric bands should be iwidely on offer for older folk, especially....it was sad to see.

Room Tip: You should get a mountain view room if you ring in advance to confirm. I doubt Brittany Ferries hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highlanders61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

The location of the hotel affords spectacular views over Cangas De Onis and the mountains beyond. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and the hotel was spotlessly clean. Our Spanish language skills are practically non existent so the restaurant menu was extremely daunting on our first night but we were rescued by Head Waiter Abdou who patiently guided us through and recommended various choices which proved to be excellent local Asturian dishes.
We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would definitely stay here again .

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jewill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DjerbaSperwoman
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This hotel overlooked the town and had covered parking. The hotel was clean and very quiet. We had a very large room, which was very comfortable. The hospitality was generally good. The restaurant was closed when we stayed only one night but there were plenty of restaurants in the town. The only problem I had was that when my husband telephoned and asked for my room number, he was told that no one of my name was in that room and so he could not put him through. My husband tried several times but no effort was made to connect him!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DjerbaSuperwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed here for one night and we loved the views and the walk up to the hotel. If you want to go for dinner in town it takes a good 10 minutes to walk back but we loved that experience (you have to go past a little forest). Breakfast was good but not extremely big. Excellent views.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
137 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

A superb hotel, family run, excellent service from owner and all staff.
Value for money hotel and restaurant, good homemade food,good wine,good price.
Good breakfast.Spacious light airy comfortable clean rooms with excellent views.
Nice surroundings good places to sit outside,easy parking.
Accepts dogs, for a small charge.
Will 100% return.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank chiccadaluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We visited “La Cepada” a few months back, in May 2013. We weren't staying there, but decided to go nonetheless because we had been told that the outdoors restaurant was worth the very short ride from Cangas de Onís. And boy, was it good.
The location and the views over the whole valley are breathtaking. We were placed at one of the tables directly overlooking the area, and the service was kind and helpful from start to finish. Dinner was superb — all kind of local delicacies, and Spanish fine cuisine.
It got a bit chilly at the end of the evening, but for some reason no–one was eager to leave early.
Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripu_info
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cangas de Onis hotels
8.2 mi away
Hotel Maria Manuela
Hotel Maria Manuela
#1 of 1 in Benia de Onis
943 reviews
1.2 mi away
Parador de Cangas de Onis
Parador de Cangas de Onis
#1 of 42 in Cangas de Onis
863 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Sella
Hotel El Sella
#6 of 42 in Cangas de Onis
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Entremontes
Entremontes
#2 of 42 in Cangas de Onis
157 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Pasera
La Pasera
#24 of 42 in Cangas de Onis
248 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Casa De Campo
Hotel Casa De Campo
#16 of 42 in Cangas de Onis
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cepada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cepada Hotel

Property: La Cepada Hotel
Address: Avenida Contranquil s/n, 33550, Cangas de Onis, Spain
Region: Spain > Asturias > Cangas de Onis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Cangas de Onis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cepada Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy some delightful days in the heart of the Principality of Asturias. The hotel, which was built in 2001, has four floors and a total of twenty rooms, two of which are suites and eighteen double rooms. It has a foyer with lifts and a reception area that is open 24 hours a day. We also have the renowned restaurant, El Cenador de los Canonigos, where you will find a creative cuisine based on products from Asturias. The food will delight you and the surroundings and the quality of the service will invite you to sit back, relax and enjoy some exquisite dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Cepada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing