We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Provence!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mas de la Treille

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mas de la Treille
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Provence!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

This is a wonderful spot to relax in Provence. Both of the hosts were amply accommodating and spent a lot of time with us offering up advice on where to visit and eat in the area. The rooms are beautiful and a great place to relax (and as a side note look much better than many of the pictures make them out to be). The grounds are beautiful, too, as you can see in the pictures.

All in all, this was a great stay in a great location in Provence. I'd highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fallingdeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    22
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
171
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

I am going to try to write the whole story...the good and the bad and let the reader decide. It was our honeymoon in the South of France and we showed up expecting to check into our suite which had a private pool and in-room jacuzzi. The room looks great online and so we were happy to shell out more than usual on what looked like an extra-ordinary room. Unfortunately the area immediately outside of the guest house is under massive reconstruction and so we had to drive through a construction site to even get there. No mention of this was made during the booking process.
Upon arrival, one of the staff members met us and helped with bags, groceries and suggestions of places near by. Very nice. However, when we checked into our room, we were informed that the air-conditioning was broken. At the end of July in the South of France, one can understand we were a bit perturbed, but we were told that it was going to be fixed the following day. Due to my own personal allergies to bug bites, we spent €30 at a local grocery store getting a bug-repellent plug-in, bug spray, and citronella candles so that we could have at least the door opened a crack to allow some air in while we tried to sleep. Even with the door slightly opened the room was a sauna.
On the nice side we tried the in-room jacuzzi which was very nice but took minimum 30 minutes to fill. Not sure it was worth the effort. The shower was also quite nice. The breakfast the following day was delicious and we thoroughly enjoyed the 'help yourself' buffet and relaxed attitude. In fact the AC repair man had arrived prior to us leaving for the day. So we departed and returned later in the day around 9:30pm.
When we got back to the room the AC was not fixed. Furthermore, they'd left every single window and door open allowing a myriad of bugs to set up camp in our belongings and on the ceiling and floor. After killing 4 very disgusting looking centipieds (about 1.5 inches long) we decided we needed to talk to the staff.
Previously the staff had been very very helpful and sweet even bringing us a bottle of rose wine since it was our honeymoon. However, when we informed them that there were bugs in the room and that we were upset that the AC was still broken...everything changed. One of the previously nice and understanding staff immediately became confrontational and blatantly rude.
Having vacationed in France (and many other locations around the globe) I understand that something can be lost in translation so at first I thought that I was just mis-construing the situation...but that was not the case. First I was told to be 'more direct' about what I wanted, not something often said to a New Yorker. When I explained that I have a severe bug allergy and that this issue combined with the AC was making the room situation difficult, I was told that I was lying about the bugs. My new husband and I were yelled at and made to feel so uncomfortable that we checked out at 10pm that night. They unceremoniously demanded that we pay the massively overpriced €400 for the room for that night, giving us a laughable €40 discount due to the issues with the AC.
In complete honesty I think that the room was a bit shabby, and not worth the money, but had the AC worked and we had been able to close the doors/windows, this response would have been very different.
That being said, I am appalled at the way we were treated on that final evening. One of the staff members was nice, understanding and professional throughout. The other should be fired immediately. I thank them both for their generosity and hospitality...while it lasted, but we will never be returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Eminunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

This was a wonderful bed and breakfast in a beautiful setting right outside Avignon. I loved the charming town of Saint-Laurent-des-Arbres as well. It was a great experience overall with loads of charm and very clean. Beautiful gardens! However, we had a big issue with the check in time. Our train was delayed into Nice from Italy, which caused us to arrive in Nice after the rental car company was closed. After a long day dealing with trying to find an open rental car company the next day (it was Sunday and most were closed or didn't open until 5 pm), we called to let the owners know we would be delayed. To our surprise, we were told check in would end at 7:30 and we could not come after that! The French gentleman that made the phone call for us continued to talk to the owner, and he eventually agreed to let us come on, but for a fee of $80 to pay someone to let us in (we thought they lived there?.) We were absolutely exhausted dealing with the train delay and all of the issues that had caused with our rental car, and we did not appreciate this lack of customer service. This was a wonderful place, and Son was very nice and helpful in guiding us through Provence. I would definitely recommend it if you can be sure that you can be there by 7:30.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolinaMomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leysin, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

This place was magical, glorious, romantic, classical. A gorgeous French provencal farmhouse with classic furnishings, so much thought put into the design and detail. The owners were lovely, attentive and helpful, breakfast was ample, the location ideal surrounded by vineyards and away from large towns. The grounds were peaceful, with a large terrace, swimming pool, outdoor seating areas surrounded with olive trees. Loved it! Would stay again, next time for much much longer.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slikchevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Le Mas de la Treille is a wonderful place to stay, in many ways.....

The hosts Sön and Albéric made us feel at home in their house. They go out of the way to help you and to give you the best service. They are proud about there Mas and passionate about receiving and serving customers.

The house and the surroundings are really beautiful, in typical, authentic Provence style. The swimming pool is the best way to relax after a day of sight seeing (and there are many many things to see and to do in the area!!).

If you have the opportunity, do not hesitate to try the "table d'hôtes" (home made supper), served in the beautiful garden. It's delicious!! Albéric uses fresh, tasteful products from the region, to prepare a lovely 4 course meal.

We enjoyed this place so much, we even returned for our last night in the south of France! And we were even more pleased, because we got a room upgrade, with jacuzzi!

Enjoy the authenticity of this place! It's a gem in Provence!

Room Tip: Try the rooms with jacuzzi with special formulas for a romantic getaway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yzabelletje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

This is a lovely house with lovely owners. We felt very good in our 5 night stay. We visited many villages and cities during our stay and returned for a good night sleep and a basic, but good, breakfast. The owners were very friendly and offered great support with planning our tour.
Close to the house we found a good restaurant (Son and Alberic made the reservation), a shopping center and a gas station.
As written in other reviews, they have small problems with water pressure, but we had no problems taking a shower. Maybe it is a problem if you want to take a foam bath. Son and Alberic also helped me planning a little surprise for my wife’s birthday. They live in the house and are available if needed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vlad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at Le Mas de la Treille in early May, 2011. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. The gracious hosts, Alberic, Son, and Tony saw to our every need. Alberic is a marvelous cook and we had two dinners that we wrote home about. Breakfast on the terrace was delicious, and the evening aperitifs most enjoyable. We highly recommend Le Mas de la Treille! Sharon and Tom, Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank esquin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Laurent-des-Arbres
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Saint-Laurent
Hotel Le Saint-Laurent
#1 of 1 in Saint-Laurent-des-Arbres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Ya'tis
Le Ya'tis
#1 of 1 in Saint-Laurent-des-Arbre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chateau Beaupre Deleuze
Chateau Beaupre Deleuze
#3 of 7 in Saint-Laurent-des-Arbres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Guest House Felisa
Guest House Felisa
#1 of 7 in Saint-Laurent-des-Arbres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Domaine du Moulin
Domaine du Moulin
#5 of 7 in Saint-Laurent-des-Arbres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
3.4 mi away
Auberge de Tavel
Auberge de Tavel
#2 of 4 in Tavel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas de la Treille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas de la Treille

Property: Mas de la Treille
Address: 630 Chemin de Saint Maurice, 30126 Saint-Laurent-des-Arbres, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Gard > Saint-Laurent-des-Arbres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Laurent-des-Arbres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mas de la Treille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing