We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vasilaras Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Yianna Hotel(Angistri)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Milos(Megalochori)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Seaside Studios(Megalochori)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
34
20
8
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
20
8
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall hillbbq nightgreat holidaymin walkbeautiful islandmariaportbalconyskala
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2012

..definitely a one star, if that. Old, beaten up, run down and shabby. In front is a kitsch garden with old tables and chairs, many with cobwebs, around an oblong pool. We found out that the owner was a fisherman and maybe he should have stuck to that profession. We had booked through booking.com so were trapped, but luckily it was for only two nights. The room smelled of rotting fabric, which we found was a wet towel in the fridge, which, for some reason, had defrosted. The toilet refill sounded like a hurricane and then only enough water for a cupfull! The beds were bog standard and there was no service to bring extra pillows. And to find staff in the morning involved shouting, to no avail. Not for us and Booking.com should be more careful with their rave reviews! Only positive thing we could say was that it was quiet.

Room Tip: ..stay away!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ed p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Although it is situated in a nice area near the port there are a couple of things that ought to be told:

1. The furnitures in the room are really old.
2. Half of the bathroom door is on the air, kind like a pendulum.
3. The aircondition was leaking inside the room. Maria told us that this was because there was a lot of dirt in the plumming and they fixed it by putting a bucket in the balcony so that the water could leak there.
4. One of the bedsheets had a hole in it (probably burned by ciggarette) and a rust print. Maria again told us that this was the fault of the person who washes, irons and folds the sheets. Not a good thing for a boss to blame the employee that she keft unsupervised.
5. The tab on the bathroom's sink just fell off.
6. One of the sockets came out of the wall.
7. The staff was not always polite &
8. Breakfast was very poor.

Maria's answer to all these was that these things happen. Well they do... But not all together. And when we went there to complain Maria & her daughter keeped raising their voices, like it was our fault that the room was poor maintained.

The new rooms are really nice but the rooms in the old part of the hotel definetelly do not worth the money they are asking for - just because there are big rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kon_lour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Sometimes im astounded at what people expect when i read the less complimentary reviews!!!!!. this hotel has clean rooms and a lovely well tended pool backed up by maria that looks after everyone as if they are family without being too over bearing. The hotel is beautifully situated so you have stunning sea views from many of the balconies and although is only a 30 second walk from the action is lovely and peaceful and a great place to relax. The communal areas are always clean and a great place to chill and relax in the shade or have a dip in the well kept pool. The island itself is big enough to explore but small enough to keep its Authentic Greek charm. When i read some of the horrible comments on here i think that some people would moan in a 5 star hotel so think they should be taken with a pinch of salt and a modicum of pity!!!. The big question is "would i come again?" DAMN RIGHT i would. Next week if possible but may have to wait till next year when funds have been replenished. Infact the only negative comment i can think to say would be that they make the 14 days go too quick. Thanks Maria for providing a lovely Agistrian retreat.

Room Tip: We had room ! which had great views over the sea but many others like this
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sim2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Contrary to recent reviews, we found this hotel pleasant and laid back, with a very friendly and helpful hotel staff. The room in the annex was clean and had a nice balcony to sit out in the evenings, the pool side was relaxing, and the location was central (if slightly uphill). Close to everything that Skala has to offer and very nice in the early season.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front with a sea view are best!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beata M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We have been going to Vasilaras for over 10 years. We missed last year so wondered how things would be when returning this year. We were made very welcome and had a great time. Maria and her daughter Vasso were excellent hosts. Maria cooked us some fabulous Greek food. We had rooms with super views overlooking the sea. They were cleaned daily and we regularly had clean sheets and towels.
If you are looking for a 5 star hotel then this isn't for you but if you want a delightful place to stay where you are made to feel very welcome and want to enjoy peace and quiet on a lovely Greek island and then this is a great choice.

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies overlooking the sea are my favourite.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews