We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantstic, clean, comfortable hotel with the most competant, friendly and willing management and staff.”
Review of Vasilaras Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vasilaras Hotel
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Angistri
Reviewed 14 June 2009

We’d heard of Agistri through one of Cath’s work colleagues. Having experienced several of the quieter Greek Islands it seemed to be right up our street. The hotel was chosen and the bookings made. The Vasilaras was chosen after reading the positive reviews left by most of their past visitors. We decided to ignore the “we got instant coffee” type negative reviews, let’s face it it’s hard to please all of the people all of the time.

Travel plans went like clockwork and just before noon we disembarked the Poseidon Hellas and walked from the port to the hotel a journey of ooh at least 2 minutes.

We were met by Patrick who was very apologetic, “You’re room won’t be ready until 2.00pm” no problem that’s what we had been told in the fantastic instructions on how too get to the island and how to find the hotel once we got there.

We left our cases and went off for our first Agistrian meal……..3 hours later we stumbled back to the hotel, probably as much as 150mtrs. from where we had spent the last 3 hours. Our holiday had truly begun.

Our room was big, light and more importantly spotlessly clean, thanks mainly to Catarina, one of the hardest working women we have ever come across, when she’s not busy cleaning rooms she’s helping with breakfast or evening meals.

The hotels proprietor Maria cooks some of the most amazing meals, her grilled fish with lemon sauce is spectacular. With Patrick and Byron as her right hand men she runs one of the best Greek hotels we have ever come across. From the typically Greek breakfast of cake, cheese, meat, yoghurt and honey to the “just one for the road” in the early hours of the next morning this team seemed to be tireless.

If you want to stay in the Hilton or the Raddison then don’t come to Agistri, in fact to go to any of the Greek Islands. If you want a first class, well run, clean, comfortable holiday hotel get yourself to Agistri and make sure you book into the Vasilaras.

Everywhere you go on the island people will tell you the name Agistri translates as “the hook” meaning that the island will hook you and you will return. We’re not sure about that, we have been to more picturesque and interesting islands but we have never come across a hotel that makes you feel as welcome and comfortable as the Vasilaras. Perhaps Maria should consider a name change for the hotel…….. could we suggest “The Hook”.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Le55tot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2009

having read all the wonderful reviews of this hotel we decided to stay there one week -end. We were given an average room and were not shown the maisonettes . The toilet made a loud noise when flushed which continued for a couple of minutes and this was very distubing in the night.
Breakfast was the worst I have eaten in years. INSTANT COFFEE stale cake, cheap orange juice,white bread and small jam samples. When I told Maria about the problem of the noise of the toilet she advised me that all the toilets in Agistri make a noise. When I commented on the instant coffee only for breakfat she said , but it s Nescafe/Everyone knows that Greece has the worst quality instant Nescafe. When I told her the cake was stale..she said it was homemade and that it was only three days old...NO LISTENING TO THE CUSTOMERS WOES..JUST NOT INTERESTED.....

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elenimicro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasilaras, Owner at Vasilaras Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2009

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We thank you for your comments and will use them to improve the quality of our service in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2009

A fantastic little hotel on a small and beautiful island. We were looking for peace and tranquility with comfort from a family hotel out of their usual "season". We found it. Maria and Patrick made us very welcome and provided everything we wanted. Nothing was too much trouble. If the staff didnt know anything they would go and find out for you.
We stayed in the maisonettes. These are very clean and comfortable with a small kitchenette and fridge if wanted. There was a great view of the small village port and over the sea to other islands. Hot water was plentiful and the shower a real treat. Never did try the jacuzzi bath.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizandsteveBucks_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2009

We cannot fault our holiday at this hotel. We arrived Easter Sunday to Takis, the owner, doing his Greek dancing with bangers going off! His wife and daughter were very welcoming as were Patrick and Byron who help run the hotel! The service was impeccable. We enjoyed the food and the Greek language lessons, thankyou Patrick for the language and Byron for the food. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruceS_Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2009

We just returned from our Easter holiday in Greece and had a wonderful stay at the Vasilaras. We felt like family during out entire stay, which made it all the more difficult to depart - my daughter was almost in tears after saying goodbye to Maria and Patrick (owners of the Vasilaras). Here is some info that we thought others might find helpful:

Email communication leading up to the trip - excellent considering that the island is just now slowly getting "connected" via a high speed service. Entire stay, with a few changes, were easily confirmed along the way (worst case took a day to get a response).

Room - get the Massionettes! We were in #4, which had a great view of the water, and a private balcony, whirlpool tub, mini-fridge, iron/board, hairdryer, 2 T.V.s, mini-stove with plates, cups, etc., and two showers. Some of the appliances leaked/sprayed water a bit, but nothing tragic. Floors creaked rather loudly (both levels), so my heart went out to the folks who stayed below us. Water was always hot when needed. Overall, a slightly above average room with a few quirks, but you don't come to Agistri to stay in your room all day, right?

Security - felt rather safe on the island, and in the hotel.

Bugs - bring your insect repellent. The mosquitoes are out, but we only had one in the apt. during our 9-day stay. Other local "mini-bugs" seem to find their way in during the day, but that happens everywhere on the island.

Food/Breakfast - OUTSTANDING - best octopus on the island! Reasonably priced for the island as well. We had less expensive food at other restaurants, and we chuckled that we "got what we paid for." Breakfast (included) was simple and convenient, and you could always "beef it up" if you wanted to pay a little extra.

Service- Absolutely wonderful. If we needed an extra towel, extra sheet, extra anything...Maria and Patrick helped instantly. Staff always had ferry times listed too which helped plan out our days. Hotel is "green conscious" as well, so if you hang up your towel, you most likely wont get a replacement. Toss them in the tub, and there is no question you want them replaced.

Pool - looked great/clean, but was too cold to use in April.

Relaxation factor - if you are going to Agistri, stay at the Vasilaras and let your troubles fade away.

Distance to Orthodox Church - 5 min. walk along the shoreline.

Internet - none, and I could not pick up a wireless signal either. But, there are a few tavernas (5 min walk) that offer free wireless.

Nightlife - the island wasn't in full swing in April, but there were a few places along the shoreline that had potential during the busy summer months.

We loved our stay and would recommend the Vasi to anyone looking for the same experiences listed above. Have a great time!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bretinpoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2008

I almost don't want to tell you about this hotel, it is so good that it really should be kept a secret!
We spent the first three days of our holiday on Agistri in a different hotel in Skala, with which we were a little disappointed, so we decided to search out somewhere else to stay. By great good fortune we found The Vasilaras, where we were instantly made very welcome.
We had a room in the main building, which we liked although other people seemed to prefer the newer rooms in the building opposite.
The staff couldn't have been kinder, or more helpful, and the whole place has very much of a 'club' feeling about it, with most guests returning year after year. Despite this it is not at all cliquey.
The food is great, although there are also a good many restaurants within walking distance.
The beach is also a very short walk away, although it is pretty small and slightly scruffy. We found the hotel pool much more inviting.
Do stay here - but don't let everyone know about it!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJBOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2008

I don't think I've ever stayed at a place where so many things lived up to my expectations. In just about all the hotels in this price range that I've stayed at before, I've expected compromise in some way. I didn't have to worry about that at Vasilaras.

We stayed in a maisonette with a lovely balcony with a great view over the sea, small harbour and ferry port. The arrival of the ferry a couple of times a day, signalled by the loud sounding of its fog horn, just added to the special atmosphere. The comings and goings, which were really quite limited, did nothing to disturb the tranquil atmosphere. It was perfect sitting out on the balcony, which was in shade for most of the day.

Although we tried several different restaurants in Scala, we didn't really have to. The food at Vasilaras is just excellent. So if I were you, I'd just go and sit in the beautifully planned glade by the pool, and enjoy a well prepared meal right in your own backyard. Save your money for other activities!

A review wouldn't be complete without mentioning the hoteliers. I've been to Greece several times, and friendliness and helpfulness are definitely not traits I associate with the country. However, the owners at Vasilaras were very helpful and generous. It was a pleasure spending time with them. Even when they were very busy.

So, I'm sure you can see that my impression of Vasilaras is 5 star. I'm really impressed with the place and the concept they are developing there. I most definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank eventyr68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Angistri hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aktaion
Hotel Aktaion
#2 of 4 in Skala
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oasis Scala Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Yianna Hotel
Yianna Hotel
#11 of 12 in Angistri
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dionysos Hotel Agistri
Dionysos Hotel Agistri
#12 of 12 in Angistri
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andreas Hotel
Andreas Hotel
#4 of 4 in Skala
104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosy's Little Village
Rosy's Little Village
#2 of 12 in Angistri
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vasilaras Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vasilaras Hotel

Address: Skala, 180 10, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Saronic Gulf Islands > Angistri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Angistri
Price Range: £28 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vasilaras Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vasilaras Hotel, just 30m from the port of Skala, on Agistri island, has 24 rooms fully equipped with AC, kitchen facilities and TV. With stunning sea views across the sea or over the hotel's gardens, the rooms are decorated in a traditional luxury style with a modern twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vasilaras Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vasilaras Hotel Agistri
Vasilaras Hotel Greece/Angistri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing