We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stratos Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Petrino Suites Hotel(Afitos)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Achtis Hotel(Afitos)
US$114
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Stamos Hotel(Afitos)(Great Value!)
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nikos Rooms(Kallithea)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
138
53
16
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
53
16
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade jamsclean roomssmall poolside bara family run hotelpiesshort staynice swimming poolsmall balconiesbeautiful villageenjoyable weekevery other daychanged every dayend of juneweek staytowels were changedlovely hoteltown centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My wife & I spent the last 5 nights of our honeymoon here. We found this hotel online whilst out in Greece and called them directly, from this first phonecall until checkout, the 3 girls at the hotel did everything they could to make our stay with them perfect and perfect it was.

We arrived within an hour of the booking call and were greeted at reception by Stella. We paid upfront despite Stella being totally shocked that a British couple had found them and were paying straight away. We were shown to our room which en route we passed the pool and bar area. The pool is open from 10am - 10pm and is lit up with lights and lanterns at night. The bar area is reasonably priced and we were happy to buy drinks there.

We were shown our room and informed that the air conditioning was free and included, also that the hotel has wi-fi which is free to use upon obtaining the password. We were told about the breakfast times and that she would see us in the morning for breakfast and to enjoy our stay.

The room we had faced towards the carpark but we were not too fussed about this. The decor is what you would expect a standard greek hotel room to be like. The bathroom was nice (despite the tricky shower curtain) and there were mosquitos nets on the bathroom window and the balcony door.

The breakfast on offer is fantastic and is buffet style. We were met by Stella and shown all they had to offer including their homemade jams which my wife tried and enjoyed their plum jam. Breakfast was lovely and despite not normally being a breakfast person I was very happy to eat there each morning.

The pool is very nice and at a good temperature, the pool is in fact cleaned and checked every night which i've never seen, usually its every few days or once a week so it was good to know that it was always a clean pool. The position of the pool and sun loungers is perfect as you get the sun up until it gets too cool to sun bathe. The pool bar plays music all the time and gives off a nice relaxing chilled feel. At reception there is a selection of books available for guests to read whilst they relaxed. It just struck us that the staff at this hotel wanted to do everything they could for you.

One night we returned early from dinner and decided to have a drink at the pool bar as it looked lovely and because of the warm friendly welcome we felt like we wanted to sit and enjoy the calmness at poolside. Anastacia came over and gifted us a chocolate mousse dessert with a sparkler as a gift for choosing to spend part of our honeymoon with them. They were so honoured that we chose to stay with them and kept telling us how happy they were to have us. They really made us feel like we were on our honeymoon.

On the 2nd last night there was a long thunderstorm. It wasn't too safe to venture out to the village and with my wife being pregnant it was better to stay indoors. I went to reception to ask for some advice on where we could eat. Stella offered to cook us a full proper meal despite not doing evening meals. I declined the offer as I did not want them to go to any trouble for us, we wanted to check that we could order something in and Stella order in food for us and told me she would send the delivery straight up to our room when it arrived.

When we checked out we were really sad to be leaving this hotel. They really looked after us and made us feel so welcome. We agreed that anytime we return to Afytos, the stratos hotel will be our choice of destination as we cannot thank the girls enough for making the end of our honeymoon so special.

Room Tip: Ask for a poolside room if available there were none available for us but the poolside looks great when lit up at night with the lanterns around it.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JStodd25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StratosHotel, Manager at Stratos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Dear JStodd25,

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope that we have made your stay as enjoyable and pleasant as possible. We love Afitos and love helping others have a good time while staying in Halkidiki. You have our regards and the special greetings from Stella!

Looking forward to accommodating you with us in the future.

p.s We can provide you with a baby cot completely free of charge! ;-)

Yours sincerely,

Anastasia Nikolaidou
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Stratos for 5 nights, returning home today. I echo every positive comment the other reviewers have left. Fantastic smallish hotel a stones throw from the gorgeous village of Afitos. We stayed as part of our honeymoon and the girls could not do enough for us, we even had a complimentary dessert to celebrate. Aircon is included in the room rate which was brilliant. The breakfast is simple but with ample choice for all tastes. Rooms are basic but spotless. Slight downsides: the bed was a bit hard for my back as i'm expecting, the shower curtain kept sticking to me in the shower as not a lot of space, and our room did look into the car park. But aside from these minor things we had a fantastic stay. Friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff, clean family friendly pool, wifi, great breakfast, plenty of books for poolside reading, free aircon and fantastic maids. We were made to feel really welcome. Stella even phoned us a pizza the other night because of the storm. I would 100% recommend this hotel. Well worth every penny and it has a fantastic wee atmosphere. We will return without hesitation, totally recommend the Stratos hotel. Thanks for making the end of our honeymoon spectacular! X

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsstoddart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StratosHotel, Manager at Stratos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear mrsstoddart,

Thank you for all your brilliant words about our property, our stuff, the breakfast, our pool area and the cleanness of the rooms!

It was really nice to accommodate 2 smiling persons like you!

Stratos has 50 rooms. Some of them facing our pool area while some other have view to the village, fields or our own private parking. Double rooms have different prices depending on the view of the room.


We would be delighted to accommodate you again in the future!

Best Regards,

Anastasia Nikolaidou
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The family run hotel is very clean, well kept and organized. The hotel is situated in a side street at a few hundred meters from the town center. A charming stone town, still well preserved from touristic horrors. There is a lovely church, nice little taverns and cafés for day and night and not many but a few cute shops.
The hotel is not directly on/overlooking the sea, but you do need a car to go around in this area so it doesn't change much, and at any rate the beach is at 15 min walk maximum. Being on a side street is it very quiet, yet at only a few minutes close to everything. (ATM machine included)
The hotel has many rooms available but is still in an average size, which is pleasant. There is a pool in the central court, not very big but refreshing, and in the same court a bar is available all day long. You can lounge there in the middle hours when back from the beach and before going out and it is very quiet and nice to be at.
The reception is very friendly and available to help. They will give you all the information you need, including nice beaches, taverns to eat at and so on.
The morning breakfast is served in a nice terrace, and is packed with all sorts of usual buffet foods, warm and cold, but most interesting there is the most delicious greek yogurt and home made jams of all kinds of fruits! Those jams alone are worth the stay!
Afitos is charming, the beaches are small and welcoming, a little tricky for strolling on, but the water is beautifully clean and pleasant to swim in. And you can chose between free beaches and trendy beach bars with music, the classic nescafé frappé and fruit salads.
this is my second time around and will not be my last. This part of Greece is very interesting to discover, just 45 min from Thessaloniki, which is a city worth a couple of days visiting as well.

Room Tip: there are rooms on the inside court where the swimming pool is, where the balconies overlook the pool, and other rooms in the first building (where the reception is) that have a view towards the town and may be quieter. All in all they are all quiet and pleasant.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StratosHotel, Manager at Stratos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Dear Barbara J,

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope that we have made your stay as enjoyable and pleasant as possible. We love this town and love helping others have a good time while staying in Afitos, Halkidiki. We would also like to thank you about your great words concerning our accommodation, breakfast and staff!

Looking forward to accommodating you with us in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Anastasia Nikolaidou
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I have been to Halkidiki for several times. After visiting most of the villages and beaches of Kassandra I have no doubt that Afitos is wonderful place for holiday. After my first visit in Stratos I promised myself to come back because I found a lot of positive moments as friendly atmosphere, location, nice rooms, visa support and others. I recommend Stratos to everyone who is interested in family atmosphere where you may relax and have a good time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Julia_Novitchenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StratosHotel, Manager at Stratos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Dear Mrs. Novitchenko,

It was a real pleasure to accommodate you again! Your smile and positive energy it was the best way to express us your satisfaction for your accommodation. We would like to thank you for that and of course for your excellent review on tripadvisor!

We would be delightful to accommodate you plenty of times in the future!

Best Regards,

Anastasia Nikolaidou
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

First about the hotel itself:
rooms ok, very clean,furnished correctly,tv, AC and fridge.Bathroom a little bit small but shower place ok ( very ok rooms for greek 3 star level).Many rooms have a small balcony that is very enjoyable in the morning or evening.Beds are comfortable.Pool is not very big but very clean and nicely designed.Breakfast was super for our taste ( classic but quite large variety and nicely served, tasty and fresh ) and the breakfast area is charming especially the terrace.Anastasia is just lovely and all of the staff is very ok!Cleaning is very well maintained. Anastasia gave us a lot of info for beaches around the area and she was very helping.

Location:not far from the main street of Afitos,but the location is quiet.A small minus is that there no parking space at the hotel but you can find a dusty free public parking just at the end of the street ( be aware to shade your windshield at least !!! ) Afitos is just lovely and the main walking street is just 2 minutes away ; you can find bars, tavernas , live music etc....and the city looks so lovely !!! Now about the beaches in Afitos : a little bit hard to get to them especially with small children as you have to climb down and up a little ...water ok but not quite the perfect beach area in Afitos. But for us it was perfect as from Afitos you can get to many super beaches in the area by you car! We really enjoyed this combination as we went with our car to a different beach every day and in the evening we enjoyed the hotel, the pool , and the atmosphere in Afitos. Strets are paved , a lot of traditional live music,many good tavernas and the walk on the cliff in the evening or the bars and souvenir shops located on the cliff and of course the view is suuper !

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trapioan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StratosHotel, Manager at Stratos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Dear ionut81,

Good morning from the sunny Afitos!
We would like to thank you for your great review in tripadvisor!
It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. We take every step possible to provide our guests with excellent accommodation conditions as well as helping them enjoy the best of Halkidiki.

We would like to inform you that since last year we have our own private parking space!
It’s completely free of charge while a reservation is required.

We hope to see you again soon!

Yours sincerely,

Anastasia Nikolaidou
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews