We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven on Earth!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Achtis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Achtis Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Afitos
Certificate of Excellence
bushey herts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

This was our second visit to the Achtis and I just want to express once again what a wonderful place this is. I just read a awful review saying the hotel is dangerous and saying how terrible it is. The hotel is only small therefore childrens facilities would be limited, the hotel is enviromentally friendly and uses solar panels so sometimes hot water may run out! Just about every hotel bathroom in the world has a tiled floor which can be slippery when wet. We too are professional people and have travelled all over the world, we have stayed in 5 star + hotels for most trips and consider the Achtis to be second to none when it comes to cleanliness, attentiveness and effort from all the staff. They work tirelessly many hours a day to give outstanding service, nothing is too much trouble and everyone is always smiling. The quality and style of the hotel is exceptional and we have recommended it to friends who have visited and intend to visit again. When we have been there we met many people on repeat visits many of whom are professional people with high standards. We feel very strongly that the poor review that has been posted bears no true reflection of the hotel. I hope anyone thinking of staying at the Achtis will read all the other reviews and come to the conclusion that they will spend a week or two of absolute relaxation in charming surroundings with excellent homemade food and extremely friendly staff. We look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnsi_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    890
    39
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
221
571
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

Just returned from another fantastic holiday at the Achtis Hotel. Have been returning again and again for many years now and it gets better every year,

Magda, Achilles and all the staff at the hotel work extremely hard to ensure the hotel is maintained to an excellent standard and always very welcoming.

The hotel was clean, beautifully decorated and always being updated and modernised. All the staff are fantastic, the food was superb and the whole experience was brilliant. The hotel managers Magda and Achilles treat guests as if they are family and could not do enough to help. I have only been home a few weeks and have already booked up to go back next year. As I said, the only thing dangerous about the Achtis is that you may never want to return home after staying there!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaraLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

My husband and I took our 1 year old for a relaxing family break! We don't like noisy and typical British holiday places, so Afitos was ideal! The hotel was very welcoming and we had a fantastic week there! The staff made us feel at home and we didn't worry about our son at all! The rooms were very clean and anything we needed was available. I was a bit worried about the location when we pulled into the drive from the main road, but as soon as we went through the gate, I really didn't hear anything and it didn't worry us about our little man going onto the main road! The pool was tranquil and we really did leave the hotel feeling relaxed and chilled!

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emlizdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2010

We will try and keep this short as we could really write a book about this place. When you first get there Magda & Achilles (owners) make you feel very welcome and almost part of the family. The atmosphere is very relaxed, in great surroundings that Achilles especially takes pride in getting and maintaining to his and Madga's high standards.

If you want a holiday in a typical traditional Greek village with a good atmosphere without all the commercial attributes of some of the larger resorts, then this is the place to go.

The hotel itself is fantastic and of a very high standard. We always choose carefully where we stay on holiday, and do not go less than 4*. We can say that Achtis is a min. of a 4* with the use of good quality furnishings throughout. The pillows are the best we have ever had in any hotel which helped get some of the best nights sleep ever!

The village of Afitos is superb, with great taverners and little boutique shops. The village is small and you will have probably explored it all within the first 3-4 days, but we never really got bored of the size during the 2 week stay and always seemed to find somewhere new. We drove around some of the other villages/resorts in Kassandra and spoke to several people and the conclusion was that Afitos is the best resort, unless you like a bit of England when on holiday, in which case the other resorts further down the coast may be to your liking.

On our last day we felt quite sad to be leaving and could have easily stayed another week. We feel we have met some fantastic people and made friends in Magda, Achilles, Matt, Christina, Sarah, Natalie and the chef Anna, and would not hesitate to go back to this hotel in the future and would recommend it to anyone. The other reviews are true and do it justice.

Gavin & Becky

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckySSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

Yes it was the 'wow' factor! After approaching by car from the back entrance we were wondering what we had booked as the road was terrible but to be honest we had got lost in Afitos and took the wrong road. However the front is slightly better but once in the gate, an oasis opens up! The owners; Magda and Achilles plus their excellent staff (special mentions for Matt and Sarah) could not do enough for us. Our room was on the 2nd floor accessed by lift or stairs with great views and Air Con. This is only their 6th year and we met many guests who had returned year on year. Plenty of room to chill out in the Gardens or by the pool with enough sun beds for all (Towel laying is frowned upon!). The near 3000 year old village is minutes away with many bars, restaurants and shops (No Night Clubs/Discos!!). There are also some excellent restaurants overlooking the beach (which is a bit of a trek). We took 2 trips out, one with Thomson's by coach/boat to Mount Athos which is not to be missed and also a car journey around the Kassandria peninsula which again was stunning. The hotel offered reasonably priced food which was excellent and nibbles given with most drinks. Nice Hotel, nice staff, nice guests! We came away wanting more and we'll probably be one of the 'regular returnees’.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neverkusen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2010

My husband and I traveled to this hotel on 17th May 2010 and had one of the loveliest holidays we've ever had. The hotel is absolutely beautiful. We were dropped off by our tour operator on the side of a dusty road and were immediately worried about where we had come to but when we walked up the drive way we were pleased to see the beautiful pool area, it was like a little oasis.

We were taken to our room personally by one of the owners of the hotel, Magda, who is absolutely lovely. Our room (202a) was quite large, spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated in a modern but homely way. We even had a large fridge where we could store our drinks & snacks & had a kettle so we could make a hot drink if we wanted.

We were staying on a bed & breakfast basis. The breakfast was the usual continental style you get in Europe; croissants, cereals, toast, fruit juice drinks, tea, coffee, Greek yogurt, tinned fruit, some fresh fruit, and they also had sausage, eggs and beans put on for the Brits! There was always plenty of food.

The owners of the hotel, Magda & Achilles, and the staff, Mat, Christina, Sarah, Natalie, Anna (the cook) & the cleaners, were amazing. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they were always friendly and smiling. The service at this hotel was the best of any hotels we've stayed in, and Madga & Achilles have to be commended for this. The food served at the hotel in the day & evenings is beautifully cooked by Anna; everything is home made and so yummy, especially the moussaka! I had some chicken nuggets one day and even these were home prepared!!

The village of Afitos is small but traditionally Greek, with lots of little tavernas & bars to eat in. It is about 5 minutes walk from the hotel down a small lane (just a note of caution - it is a little steep to walk back up!) The beach is not huge but the sea was crystal clear, if still a little cold in mid-May! The beach is about a 20 minute walk from the hotel, down quite a long, but not particularly steep, hill but don't let that put you off going. There are some trips offered by the tour operator but we didn't do any of them because we wanted a chill out holiday to relax and unwind, which we did perfectly at this lovely hotel.

All in all, we had a lovely time in Afitos at the Achtis Hotel and are looking forward to going back soon!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshtraveller49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2010

My now Fiance and I have just got back from staying at the Hotel Achtis and we couldn't praise it enough.
The Hotel is stunning and the staff and management are fantastic. My partner propsed to me whilst we were there and Magda (the owner) made the occassion even more special.

The Hotel has a fantastic relaxed atmosphere, with beautiful gardens surrounding the pool, it's the perfect place to totally relax or use as a base to go and explore.

The Hotel is furnished to a high quality and there is nothing typically "greek basic".

We would love to thank Magda and all her fantastic staff to mek our holiday so good, and we hope to see you again later this year.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vb123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afitos
6.8 mi away
Sani Beach
Sani Beach
#4 of 5 in Sani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,650 reviews
6.5 mi away
Porto Sani
Porto Sani
#2 of 5 in Sani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sani Asterias
Sani Asterias
#1 of 5 in Sani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Afitis Boutique Hotel
Afitis Boutique Hotel
#3 of 8 in Afitos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sani Club
Sani Club
#3 of 5 in Sani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
12.3 mi away
Anna Hotel
Anna Hotel
#1 of 19 in Pefkohori
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achtis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achtis Hotel

Property: Achtis Hotel
Address: Afitos 63077, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Afitos
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Afitos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Achtis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Achtis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Achtis Hotel Afitos, Halkidiki, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing