We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Resort... Poor Hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kriopigi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Poseidon View Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Kriopigi
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed at Poseidon View for one week in August 2011. I can honestly say the hotel is the worst I have ever stayed in especially considering we spent £450pp for one week Bed and Breakfast... defiantly felt that we had been ripped off. We have travelled to Greece on numerous occasions and were aware that the standards often aren't as high as in England but the room was filthy, with what looked like a vomit stain up the wall. The bathroom was also dirty and there often was no hot water and we had to get staff to fix the toilet on several occasions.
The only positive thing about this hotel was the beach area which was just a 5 minute walk from the hotel and the resort. The pool are was okay but the water often looked murky. The nearest shops and restaurants where a 20 minute walk away. We walked most of the time in the evenings as the owner does reluctantly do one drop off in the evening take people in to town and this often seems to be selective of people who spend more/tip more during the day and there is no return pick up. The local restaurants are great and you must try The Sweet Coffee shop as the food is amazing and also The Casablanca Bar, the owners are really friendly. The rep was also friendly and helpful in providing information on where to visit/eat.

I would defiantly not return to this Hotel even if it was free!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma_P791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed at the hotel for one week in September 2011. It was our first visit to Greece and we are glad that we spent our rest in the Poseidon View!
Friendly staff, talkative maids, very jolly customers - all of that made a great impression on us!
The sea beach just in 100 meters from the hotel (but you have to overcome the steep hill and then the climb on your way back).
The room was not very clean, but that did not matter. Breakfasts were good and substantial.
I'd like to mention lovely cat family that lived nearby the hotel.
Summary - Poseidon View is a good budget place for travelers that prefer calm relaxing holidays.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are stuffy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vera S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

My friend & I stayed for a week on Sept 12th. We wanted a cheap, relaxing holiday & that's exactly what we got. This is a small, basic, family run, no frills hotel that just happens to be in a beautiful location. The views from our balcony were fabulous. The beach is a short walk down some fairly steep steps, no problem for the average person but not suitable for the elderly or anyone with mobility problems. The hotel needs a good update, the room was cleanish but tatty. The shower was cosmetically unpleasant but produced a good hot shower! The food in the hotel restaurant was really good, there is also the option of going to the little village to eat. George (the owner) runs a minibus for free in the evening. Every meal we had was good, both in the hotel & various tavernas in the village. Overall I'd say if you're looking for a luxury, upmarket hotel then look elsewhere, if you want a fab location, peace & quiet but basic, cheap accomodation then this hotel is worth a try. My friend & I planned to return next year but were very dissappointed to here that they are planning to make it a singles holiday hotel ;0(

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janhal03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I stayed at the Poseidon View Hotel between 26th september and 3rd october 2011. Booked through First Choice (who were fantastic, very friendly and helpful staff, will definately be booking my next holiday with them!). This was my first holiday abroad so i have nothing to compare it to, but it was far better than anything i could have expected! The coach transfer from Thessaloniki took about an hour and a bit, and the weather was great, very hot and sunny considering it was end of september. When we arrived in Kriopigi we were met by the hotel manager in his minibus, ready to take us down to the hotel. I thought this was very nice of him as we could have been dropped off and walked down ourselves. Anyway, when we got there we were greeted by his Wife, who briefly told us the general things we needed to know upon arrival. We then went to our room where we instantly stepped onto the balcony to take in the amazing view....... it was beautiful, the balcony was spacious, quiet, and the room was basic but can't complain. A double and a single bed, a fridge, safety deposit box and dressing table, big wardrobe and en-suite bathroom with shower, W/C and sink. The shower door was missing a handle but closed easily enough without it, so i didn't actually notice until a few days in. After getting changed into swimming gear we headed out to the pool area, where we got a drink at the pool bar. At first we thought the drinks were abit pricey, but after seeing how much alcohol went into our cocktails and spirit/mixer drinks, we couldn't complain! They tend to not use measurements like we legally have to in the UK so i didn't mind paying 5 euros for what turned out to be a treble vodka coke! Chilling by the pool in the sun for a bit was peaceful and hot, before heading down to the beach. The walk take no more than a few minutes, although it is down a steep hill some of the way and steps the rest, i suppose for the not-so-fit it may seem a little difficult but being 21 (and my partner 30), we had no problems. On first seeing the beach we were a little dissapointed to see a bit of debury right along the water edge, but the rest of the sand was soft and clear, and the water was a lovely blue! We later learned there had been a 48hour storm 2 days before we arrived so that explains all the rubbish being washed up. During the week the beach did get cleared abit. The beach had the sun on it until about half 5, and i suppose if you were on the other side of the island you would get sun for longer, but the sun still shone on the hotel til about half 6 and was still warm after. In the evening we decided to walk up to the town, and found a nice restaurant which did us a 3 course traditional greek meal for 9 euros. We walked back, which takes about 20minutes, and had a good sleep in a comfy bed not too hot. Breakfast was traditional greek, lots of fresh tomatoes, cucumber, bread, hams, cheeses, toasts and pastries. Enjoyed breakfast every morning, was very tasty! George, the owner, was very friendly, made sure we got drinks when we wanted them, his Wife made us some lovely food for lunch, and we found a nice german restaurant in town where we dined most nights. There are lots of cats about but that's just greece i'm afraid! I didn't mind them. And when saturday came round George let us have a party in the bar to make up for everywhere in town being quiet due to end of season. Loved the hotel, food, guests, staff, views and weather, would definately stay again! Although the only thing i would change would be to hire out a car to see what the island has to offer. Great stay, would recommend to anyone who doesn't spend their holiday picking on silly things to complain about!

Room Tip: The first floor rooms further away from the hotel bar are quieter, and have better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Stay: 12/09/11 to 19/09/11 Just returned from a weeks stay at Poseidon View hotel in Kriopigi having booked a cheap week away with Thomsons towards the end of August. Read the Trip Advisor reviews as we made our booking and approached our stay with high expectations. The reviews are interesting as there are quite a polarising of views - to many you would think this is the best hotel in the world, others seemed very disappointed.

Holidays can be very emotive, expectations are built up then dashed - so, I thought the best way to approach reviewing this hotel is to simply list the hotel's good and bad points, as I saw them. No emotion – just boring rational facts. We were lucky with the weather. The locals told us they were having the best September weather for 10 years. Other parts of Halkidiki, popular with the Greeks for camping, had all but shut up for the season.

The hotel's location seems to attract a lot of comments in reviews. Lets see if I can write a definitive description of its location and the effects the location could have on you. The whole of Kriopigi is built on a very steep hill that runs down to the sea. The main road through the village, where the majority of the bars, restaurants and report supermarkets runs along a 'shoulder' of the hill – but is quite high up. The older part of the village is higher still. The majority of hotels/apartments are built between the main road and the sea. Poseidon View is located just outside the village. It is c100m above the sea – and has a steep path/stairs to reach it. If you are in anyway disabled or unfit, you will find the steepness a struggle. Walking to the village takes a good 20mins, with approximately half up a steepish hill and the other half up a less steep hill along the main road. Again, if you are in anyway disabled or unfit, you will find the steepness to get to the village a struggle. But the issue with hills, is not confined to Poseidon View – it can be applied to virtually all of Kriopigi's Hotels/Apartments.

A taxi from the hotel to the village costs 5Euro. Sometimes the hotel minibus goes up to the village at c7pm and you can hitch a lift, but after that the staff are busy in the bar or serving food.

Enough on location, here's my list of good and bad points.

Good Points.

Views - wow what views to be had from the hotel. We sat on our balcony, or in the bar looking out over the sea to the 'finger' of Sithonia. Spectacular sunrises!
Beach - once you get down to the beach its very good. Its a narrow beach, fairly rocky when just in the water but the sea is very clear. The hotel provides sunbeds for 4euro per day for a pair. There are no hawkers coming up and down the beach.
Pool – The pool and surrounding area is excellent. The pool itself is a good size, there are sufficient sunbeds around it so you don't have to reserve with a towel and ample shade from overhanging trees and shrubs. If you want sun, there is a large grassy area with little shade.
Bar – The bar area is very nice. It is on a large patio overlooking the sea. Tables have large umbrellas for plenty of shade. Prices are approx. 25% higher than you'll find in the village (although see food). They put televised football on in the bar, so you can watch your premiership team play whilst supping your beer in the sun.
Food - We ate at the hotel once, on our first night. The menu was limited, but the food very good. Each Tuesday the hotel runs a BBQ night. If you attend that, then there are nights when they'll give you 25% off your meal and drinks.
Noise – The bar plays music from 12 noon to 12 midnight. We're not particularly music fans, but the fact the music went off at midnight was appreciated.
Staff – No problems with the staff. We found them quite friendly and helpful.
Rooms and Balconies – We were on the top floor and had an excellent view. The balcony itself is a good size with 2 good quality and comfortable chairs and a table. Our room was a very good size, if a little 'tired' in state. The twin beds were larger than normal (see also bad points) and a little softer than other beds we've slept on in similar Mediterranean hotels. We had a fridge – great for 'sundowner beers' on the balcony, and there was plenty of hanging/storage space. We took the option of the safe at 10 Euro for the week. Air conditioning was available as an option for 23Euro for the week, which we didn't take up.
Breakfast – Typical Mediterranean breakfast, but plenty of it. There needed to be as the eastern europeans staying pinched huge amounts to have as their lunch on the beach. I've seen a comment in 1 review saying the breakfast layout was unhygenic, I didn't see any evidence of this, in fact quite the opposite.

Bad Points

Room Cleanliness – We were told on arrival that room would only been cleaned once a week. But when we arrived in our room it wasn't in the cleanest state. The décor is tired and it shows. The bathroom in particular wasn't very nice. Limescale had been allowed to accumulate over time, and it looks like any cleaning is just a superficial wipe down. We also had a terrible loo seat – that worked itself loose – it looked like the cheapest they could find. I don't consider the bathroom cleanliness standard to be good enough for tourists in this day and age and if the hotels owners want to do 1 thing to improve the hotel standard, they should get the bathrooms refurbished and ensure they are properly cleaned.

Bed Linen – I've already written that the bed was quite good, but the linen on it was awful. It didn't fit so most of the time you ended up sleeping on the bare mattress – yuk.

Room Tip: Top Floor rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gawdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My wife and I have just spent the worst ever holiday abroad at the Poseidon`s View mmmmmm HOTEL ?. We have been abroad 20 to 30 times and must say this holiday has been the worst one so far. We were not told that Thompson travel are no longer offering holidays to this hotel (?) and know I know why,because it is the place from hell.Starting our holiday off waiting by the pool because our room was not ready ( 1 and a half hours) only to find a very small room with a bed, 2 sets of draws and a wardrobe and nothing else. The bathroom was at least slightly cleaner but the shower was approx 3 foot high so you have to hold the shower head while you shower,a few euro`s would have supplied a wall bracket.Breakfast was as discribed on previous reviews, cheese,bread,very iffy meat and cucumber,ok for the first few days then it gets a little boring but at least the many cats liked the iffy meat. Prices for Tea and Coffee from the bar after breakfast are rediculous at just under £3 a small cup and do not even try the tea because it tastes like bubble bath.The day after arrival we went to the beach which was nice and peaceful though the very steep 70mtr trek did not agree with my wife who is disabled.On the Tuesday night and all day Wednesday there was thunder storms all night and day which restricted us to our cell (I mean room).Thursday it cleared by lunch and the sun shone again.On our next visit to the beach we found the storm had washed wood ,logs.leaves and rubbish on to the beach from 6 foot wide to over 15 foot wide in places and this is how it stayed with no attempt to clean up being made it started to smell and was the same the day we left.The hike up to town was up hill and 20 minutes walk for nothing but a few tatty shops and eating places and bars all charging stupid prices (i.e £13 for 2 baileys irish cream.)The Casablanca is the only descent place to eat but then again it is not cheap.My wife counted 40 Mosquito bites over night and was biten all week long,they seem emmune from the sprays ext and where everywhere.All in all it was the holiday from hell and has put us off from ever returning to Greece again. Be warned do not go there

Room Tip: go to spain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I was in tdhis hotel with my wife in the middle of August...Fantastick place for people loving nature and rilaxing...!!!
All stuff very kind...We recomend it...!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vazelos11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kriopigi hotels
0 mi away
Alkion Hotel
Alkion Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kriopigi
160 reviews
0 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
0 mi away
Kriopigi Hotel
Kriopigi Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kriopigi
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Kassandra Palace Hotel
Kassandra Palace Hotel
#10 of 13 in Kriopigi
285 reviews
0 mi away
Theo Bungalows
Theo Bungalows
#5 of 13 in Kriopigi
64 reviews
0 mi away
Palladium Hotel
Palladium Hotel
#3 of 13 in Kriopigi
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poseidon View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poseidon View Hotel

Address: Kriopigi, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Kriopigi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Kriopigi
Number of rooms: 235
Also Known As:
Poseidon View Hotel Kriopigi, Kassandra, Halkidiki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing