We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
41
27
8
7
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
41
27
8
7
12
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2010

The Poseidon is a family run medium-sized hotel situated at the lower end of Kriopigi and away from the town centre, which may not suit everybody as the walk up to town takes about 15 minutes. The Poseidon has an amazing large garden and plenty of trees surrounding the pool, all of which is kept meticulously clean every day by the hard-working staff, who are friendly and try to help in every way they can, though communicating can be a problem. The rooms are cleaned every day, with fresh bed linen and towels provided every 3rd day. The decor is simple, but comfortable and spacious and rooms have balconies facing and overlooking the sea - the view from the restaurant onto the bay is stunning. One can walk from the pool/restaurant area to the beach, which is a narrow stretch of beach only used by 2 or 3 hotels nearby and is therefore not too crowded. The water is crystal clear and picture perfect. The walk back up is admittedly a little steep, but manageable, except maybe for the elderly or those with mobility difficulty. George, the owner, and his wife speak perfect English and make you feel at home. Breakfast is continental with lots of luncheon sausage, feta, cheese, and much more and you can eat as much as you like. We had a lovely time at the end of the Kriopigi holiday season, when admittedly everything scales down in the town and around the peninsula. But the sea is unbeatable, pool was great, and we loved the table tennis! A good place to rest and recharge the batteries.

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pointmade
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 October 2010

The hotel is really nice and staff cant do enough for you. The pool is so big over looking the sea with a bar next to it. The rooms are a good size, the food is great miles better than the village. All of the hotel is so clean. I am so pleased i have booked again for next year.

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louis12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 September 2010

The scheduled 2 hour transfer from the airport took only 70 minutes and then a further 2 minute drive in the hotel’s mini bus as coaches cannot cope with the steep winding road.

Thessaloniki born George and his Slovakian wife Liba opened the Poseidon back in 2000 after George inherited the land from his father. They and their hard working friendly staff ensure your stay is enjoyable and George’s desert dry wit is always on hand to make you smile.

The furniture and rooms are basic, exactly what you expect from a 3* but the views of the bay with Turtle Island and the peninsular of Sithonia in the distance are beautiful and tranquil.

If you are a fresh fruit and muesli type of person then the breakfasts may well disappoint but otherwise they are fine. Talking of food the very reasonable priced cuisine that is cooked by Liba is excellent and the portions generous. One word of warning though if eating during daylight hours by the outdoor bar, wasps will soon drive you insane and eventually inside to the relative safety of the dining room.

The short but steep walk to the beach through the pine clad hillside is well worth the effort not only for the fantastic views but also for the unspoilt and enchanting sandy beach. There was a sign indicating that €4 was the cost of 2 sun loungers and a parasol but we were never charged!

Animal rights activists would have a field day in Kalithea (a resort north of Kriopigi) as there are numerous fur shops apparently ‘catering’ for Russian visitors, fortunately I only saw one of the aforementioned shops in Kriopigi.

George will grudgingly (just his dark humour really!) give you a lift to the village of Kriopigi but it’s then a downhill walk back to the hotel or a taxi for €5. However, once there you have the option of several tavernas and bars.

Our favourite taverna was Anthoula’s in the old part of the village above the ‘main drag’. Most of the seating is outside in the square opposite but we chose to sit on one of the two ‘dolls house’ sized balconies with great views. The staff are friendly and the food excellent.

The name Kriopigi translates into English as cold springs and they are just a short walk from here and next to a bamboo grove. Another good taverna which served the best Greek salad IMHO is Nikos opposite the Casablanca bar. The Casablanca is run by Swansea born and ex-hairdresser Debbie and her Kriopigi born husband Antonious. If you like sparklers in your cocktails then this is the place for you!

In a nutshell this part of Greece is very laidback and friendly and we hope to return in the not too distant future.

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tavernajohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 September 2010

After reading the previous review i thought it must be of a different hotel.
We had a fantastic stay here, rooms basic but clean,food great and freshly prepared ( we had a great vegetarian stew on barbeque night), prices were no more expensive than anywhere else on Halkidiki,there was a "financial crisis party" while we were there (last two weeks in august) thats just Georges sense of humour. The staff were all fantastic,very friendly and helpful.
The views from the hotel are great,the walk down to the fantastic,quiet beach is a bit steep and can be slippy but its worth it.
The walk into Kriopigi village is 20 -30 minutes (depending on how much of a hurry you are in) you could always take a taxi (about 3euros) or George would give you a lift in the hotel mini-bus (if he was in the mood).Kriopigi is very small but there are enough places to eat and drink without getting bored.(Casablanca and its Welsh landlady is worth a visit) The food was lovely everywhere we ate (we are 'mostly' vegetarian) but we can recommend two restaurants
Akropolis :- Great food, large portions and great entertainment on greek night (booking advised )
Athenas hagiati (Athenas Balcony) just past the Akropolis :- Athena was great we just let her choose the food for us and it was one of the best vegetarian meals we've ever had.
We also had a fantastic Mexican meal in a restaurant in Kallithea, i cant remember its name but its the one with a huge parrot in the bar
We hired a car for one of the weeks we were there and drove around kassandra, we recommend visiting the caves at petrolonas,Ancient Olynthos (see Pics), Hanioti is a lot busier than Kriopigi and not too far(10km) Sithonia is very quiet and picturesque.We drove to mount Athos for the Monastery cruise which we thought a bit boring (unless you are very interested in monasteries), if you go make sure you drive along the coast and not via the mountains ( unless you want to feel seasick in a car).The roads are mostly good and driving was no problem as long as you assume everyone else is a lunatic,
To sum up we had a brilliant relaxing holiday and would advise anyone to visit Poseidon View and its friendly staff

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duffax
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 September 2010

Fisrt impression on arrival was how nice.... Then we met the owner /manager and staff I have never met such rude ignorant people in my life!
Rooms dark doorhandles hanging off sliding balcony door fell off no hot water for shower after 5pm beds hard as rock, hotelwall outside started to fall down after day 2, we were told "Move your things off the balcony we need to work there" so we had scaffolding on our balcony for 2 days and banging and drilling early in the mornings, no apology or explanation. Cleaners left our room door unlocked and we came home from a day out to find it openFridge was a mini fridge and your room key had a token on it for the electric so when you went out the fridge defrosted as you had to take the token on the key, so food went off, you did need to take food as breakfast was a health hazard! Cheap fatty cuts of salami stale cheese stewed cold tea nd "juice" was weak squash, we only went twice in 2 weeks, same for the bar, staff so rude and ignorant you felt uncomfortable sitting there drink prices seemed to vary, I think they made them up, music so loud you couln't hold a conversation and the owner just plugged his computer into the stereo and played random albums of no mixtiure so the same artist over and over. Swimming pool taken over by screaming toddlers belonging to Albanian?Chec staff and their friends so impossible to swim or relax we went once in the 2 weeks we were there. We were tadised by other guests to use the hotel next door as many of the other guests did as it was friendly and had a nice atmosphere.Town was a trek along a busy main road and not at all nice. Steep slippery steps to the beach, very dangerous but when you got down there the beach was stunning! (manager would come down and ask you several times a day"Didi you pay for your sunbeds?? Yes ok I will check" so rude!!! What a shame because with very little effort the hotel could be lovley, rooms and bar area lovley sea views , We were not suprised that on our last week they advertise a "FINANCIAL CRISIS PARTY " at the bar with 20% discount on everything, obviously they could not get or keep customers. I have lived in Greece for 15 years and stayed in many hotels and am well aware of the basic accomodation usually offered so was not expecting anything special, but a little courtesy goes a long way. When you say hello or goodmorning to someone you dont expect them to just ignore you or look at you as if you have 2 heads!

Date of stay: July 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BirminghamBertha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews