We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent but NOT a fors-star hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portes Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portes Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Nea Potidea
Certificate of Excellence
Belgrade
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Decent but NOT a fors-star hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Just got back from Portes Beach. Stayed for 12 days, all inclusive, with my husband and a 2-year old. This hotel was recommended to us by our agent as a peaceful, family place to enjoy & relax, which was partly true- most guests are families with small kids and elderly British people.
Things that I found satisfying about the hotel:
1. Pleasant, English speaking staff
2. Good animation (two pleasant Russian girls entertaining kids in the park twice a day for 2,5 hours + a kids' disco at 8.45 p.m with multilingual approach + two Serbian guys doing sport-related activities)
3. Tasty food- decent choice, lots of fish, salads, deserts.
4. Wonderful gardens, well-kept
5. Park for kids- although small, it does have natural shade in the afternoon and an inside play area you can use 10-12.30 and 3-5.30
6. Sea- clean, warm (mid June), easy to swim in, small waves only, some sea grass. Downside: entering the water is tricky since there are lots of huge stones on the shore and up to 5m in

Here are a few down-sides:
1. The hotel is not a 4-star hotel. It is decent, but half of the rooms have not been renovated, so if you get one of them you are likely to be staying in a dark, damp room. When I was packing my stuff to go back home, my clothes smelled and felt half-wet. Bathroom was in horrible condition (again, this is true for NOT renovated rooms). There is no isolation in the rooms, so you depend on the curtsey of your neighbors. For us, staying on the ground floor, afternoon naps with the kid were challenging, because of the constant noise coming from upstairs.
2. Impossible to keep mosquitoes out, since the protection placed on the doors is run down and full of halls. Some of the rooms- e.g. room 217 in which I stayed- do not have a window (just a door, which you use to get in and out of the room) so for people with claustrophobia issues it might be very problematic.
3.Restaurant area is too small for the hotel's capacity. It is always too crowded and too noisy.
4. The pool is way too small, kids' part is a size of two bigger bath-tubs placed together!
5. The beach is also VERY small, packed with sunbeds. When we arrived- beginning of June- it was still enjoyable, but by 06/ 10, it became too crowded. People reserve sunbeds early in the morning by placing towels on them. After 10 a.m.- impossible to find a free subbed. No natural shade on the beach, just fixed sun-umbrellas.
6. Important for families still using strollers- there are 4 wooden steps to go to the beach!

The biggest problem for me was that the hotel is totally isolated, located on a busy road (but no traffic heard in the hotel, since the rooms are in the big garden). There is nowhere to walk at night, for example, no path next to the sea, no side-walk on that busy road leading to hotel. So, be prepared to stay within the hotel area for the whole duration of your stay, unless you want to rent a car. Poor public transportation.

All in all, decent hotel with a lot of serious short comings.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank BojanaBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    77
    24
    10
    8
See reviews for
139
52
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We went on a Saga holiday (for over 50's in UK) and it was anything but the peaceful location we had anticipated. The hotel is very large and noisy at night. The staff are excellent and always try their best to help you. However the hotel has some shortcomings, for example, unless you are in the main building guests have to walk through the smoking area to get to the restaurant which is very unpleasant for those who hate the smell.

I like and have a hard bed but these beds are solid. The rooms have no sea views and no real outlook but the block in front, although the gardens around the blocks are lovely and well tended. The nearest villages are 15 minutes drive away and only served once every other day by the free shuttle bus which you must book in advance. The Wednesday market is well worth a visit.

The walls are very thin and one night we were kept awake by the person in the room next to us snoring and another by a violent argument in the room above! People shout and slam doors all night without any concern about others and make a lot of noise as they drag their cases along the paths at night.

Our room was kept impeccably clean and the staff were outstanding, all went out of their way to help. One day when I was feeling ill, the housekeeping ladies were very concerned and they asked me in perfect English every day after that how I was.

The food is plentiful but mass catering of course. The taverna lunches are very pleasant though, with views of the pool and the beach.

The best part of the holiday for me was having the chance to experience scuba diving in the hotel pool. You can do this every weekday on Monday, Wednesday and Friday mornings at 11.30am. Just ask the Animation guys in the yellow tee shirts and they will arrange it for you. I enjoyed it so much, I went on to have a proper scuba diving lesson at the Blue Diving Centre, nearby. They were excellent and very reasonably priced and I would recommend anyone to have a go, especially if you are like me and had never dared try it before. The beautiful blue warm sea and the purple Greek hills in the background make it a magical experience!

From the hotel, if you cross the main road and go down the path opposite, turn right and then left, you get to an amazing beach that goes on for miles in both directions.

Lovely place, wonderful staff, but very busy and noisy.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea have the sun in the afternoons
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bellamanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

Now well into our second week on Saga all inclusive. The hotel has everything. Friendly staff who cannot do enough for you. They really make the place.
All rooms have balcony overlooking lovely cool gardens. Beach with free sunbeds, umbrellas, pedalled. Tennis courts, table tennis, volleyball,children's play area, pool, pool bar. Enormous selection of good. Excellent value for money. Only draw back is that it is a bit isolated. But there are free buses to two nearest places. Would recommend it for people of all ages.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz_Simpson_4455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

I had a great holiday with my boyfriend. Stayed for a week all inclusive. Food was lovely and quite a lot of choice, with Greek dishes showcased regulary. The beach front posistion was stunning and the beach was safe and clean. The hotel was very clean and the garden gorgeous. Many of the customers are German and Russian but this didn't really bother us, although the entertainment was catered for them.

Great location - I would recommend using the local bus service to explore near by towns like Potidea (beautiful) We also hired a car (45e) and drove down to the second 'finger' which is full of deserted beaches and beach bars.

Room Tip: Ask for a new room - they are the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luciellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Just back from one week in Hotel, (fully inclusive) beautiful well cared for gardens, lovely room at side of hotel with everything I could need, sheets and towels changed almost daily, toiletries supplied in abundance TV had many channels but only BBC news, an American film channel and and another News channel in English (but unimportant to me as only wanted to keep up to date with news.) Excellent variety of food. At times take life in hands when crossing road outside but worth it to walk down side road directly opposite Hotel leading to walk lake to view birds and flamingoes, a paradise for bird watchers. All staff exceptionally friendly and helpful

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penfold22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one week in October 2012 on an all inclusive basis. The hotel from the front does not look much which is misleading as it is a nice hotel with lovely grounds.
My room was in the main block. It was a very large comfortable room with lots of storage space. A kettle was provided and cup and saucer, but no provisions of tea, coffee or milk. The room has a fridge in the cupboard. Also a safe was in the room. In the paperwork we got it did say it costs 15 euros a week to have a safe but you could set it yourself in the room so not sure if some of the rooms have a different sort of safe which you do have to pay for. The bathroom had a shower, no bath. It was a good shower but first thing in the morning the water was not hot. The water was very hot later on in the day. There is a hairdryer in the bathroom. Small soaps and shampoos/shower gels were provided.
The balcony is of a good size and besides table and chairs also has a washing line so no problem drying things on the balcony. The room I had was a side view to the hotel so did not get sun at any time on the balcony. If you have a room facing the back of the hotel towards the sea you get the sun on your balcony in the afternoons which would be much nicer.
There is a small lift in the main building. It is usually slow but sometimes closes very suddenly and strongly, and there is no way of stopping the doors from shutting so beware!
The main areas of the hotel are kept very clean. The bedroom was OK but the cleaners seem to do the minimum in the rooms. In some areas of the hotel at certain times there is a smell of drains but this was mainly in the basement part of the hotel and occasionally when I went on my balcony.
The restaurants are buffet style and the selection of food plentiful and tasty. The main restaurant where you have your breakfast and dinner is in the main building. At breakfast they have fresh oranges and an electronic juicer which was very popular so you often had to queue for it. Lunch is served in the taverna by the pool/beach. There is always a soup, lots of salads and hot dishes. Many of the dishes are Greek food which was great. It was lovely having lunch in the taverna, especially if staying on the beach all day. We stayed the last week before the hotel closed for the winter so by the end of the week they had started to close up some of the facilities including the taverna so we had to go back to the main restaurant for lunch.
If you are going out for the day you can order a packed lunch the day before, however we were not impressed with the packed lunch which consisted of a roll with a slice of cheese or ham in and a bottle of water on one occasion and the next occasion we got two rolls, an apple and a bottle of water. However, if out and about the restaurants are good and not too expensive.
The bars had ordinary coke, fanta, etc but we had a lot of trouble getting the diet drinks probably because it was end of season so everything was being run down. At the pool bar you could get icecream during the day however although even though they say you can get sandwiches during the day it was not available when we were there. It probably was because it was end of season.
To get to the beach you walk through the grounds which are vast and beautiful. It is approximately a 3-5 minute stroll but very pleasant as there are pine trees, olive trees, etc in the grounds. You first come across the taverna, hotel pool and bar. The pool looks lovely and clean but is really cold as not heated. Not many people appeared to use the pool but it is late season. The weather we had was great – around 26 degrees and sunny each day, however, we were told it was unusual for it to be so nice at this time of year.
The beach is lovely with lots of sunbeds and parasols at different levels. Towels are provided for the beach (you leave a 5 euro deposit at reception, returnable at the end of your stay), lovely clear water which was warm and you can walk in quite a way quite safely. There is a small stoney area as you go into the sea but great once past that. If you have beach shoes I would recommend you bring them. There are a couple of canoes you can use and pedlos – all included.
There was not much entertainment at the hotel, probably due to being the week before they closed. Apparently they do have a Greek dancing show, but not during our week. During the day they have some games such as volleyball going on, there are also 3 table tennis tables by the beach with some bats and balls available – very worn but useable. There is also a tennis court. Not sure what there would be if you had bad weather as it is all planned for outside activities.
In the hotel there is a small shop which sells a selection of items. There is also a jewellery shop in the hotel.
The hotel is on a busy main road which can be a little noisy if your room is in the main block and the windows are open. There isn’t much around the hotel itself. There is a coffee shop which had some lovely cakes in a few minutes walk from the hotel and there is also a small supermarket not far from the hotel, but that was closed due to being end of season. There is a complimentary shuttle bus that goes to the nearby town each day which you can book to go. If you go on a Wednesday there is a large market in the town. There is also a bus stop outside the hotel for local buses.
It is a very friendly hotel, all the staff were friendly and helpful. We were pleased with the hotel but would not recommend going there the week before they close for the winter due to them running everything down. As we were the last guests there, on the last day after breakfast we had a feeling we were in the way.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach/sea front get the sun in the afternoons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank MaxiEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

This hotel is worth of coming back again!
I was suggested by people who stayed in this hotel for years and I realised why`s that.
Great majority of the rooms have been renovated.
Vegetation is amazing and kept in almost perfect order with the alees of palm trees, combined with olive, orange, appricot, peach and many other trees and flowers, providing the great ambient. Furthermore, as a frequent visitor to Greece I was positively surprized of great shadows made by pine trees coming almost to the beach itself. With small baby it was such a great thing to have, giving us an opportunity to spend all day long on the beach, breathing the air combination of sea and pines. Just great! Beach is not perfect, but is very good. After entering the sea, there is a kind of 20m channel you should swimm over in order to reach kind of underwater sandy island, very convenient for kids up from 3-4 years.
For AI guests sunbeds on the beach and in pine shadows are for free, as well as canoes and pedal boats.
The pool is nothing but regular, but anyway I generally avoid them due to hygienic reasons.
For kids there are really variety of opportunities besides the sea. Kids playground, both inside and outside is overlooked by anmimators, which are multilingual. Animators are generally from Serbia, and all of them are sports proffesionals, well educated and multilingual, making no pressures to the guests.
The food! For those in love with mediterranian cuisines - just great, extremely tasty, for sure far better than in many specialized restaurants, not only in Greece. After being AI guest on many Greek islands and on mainland, this is the best food experience in Greek hotels.
And one more very important thing. If it is windy from the west, the dozens of sandy beaches on the other side of the penninsula is on 4 min of slow driving, or 15min walking!
I fell in love in this kind of resort and certainly I will come back!
Honest recommendations!

Room Tip: Ask for 1st or 2nd floor. They`ve been renovated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Siks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nea Potidea
0.2 mi away
Istion Club Hotel & Spa
Istion Club Hotel & Spa
#4 of 4 in Nea Potidea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Potidea Palace Hotel
Potidea Palace Hotel
#3 of 4 in Nea Potidea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pomegranate Wellness Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Possidi Holidays Hotel
Possidi Holidays Hotel
#1 of 3 in Possidi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
8.0 mi away
Sani Beach
Sani Beach
#4 of 5 in Sani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,625 reviews
22.3 mi away
Alia Palace Hotel
Alia Palace Hotel
#3 of 19 in Pefkohori
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portes Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portes Beach Hotel

Property: Portes Beach Hotel
Address: Nea Potidea 632 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Nea Potidea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Nea Potidea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Portes Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of a fantastic beach in Halkidiki, at Nea Potidaia, in a blossom garden with Pine trees, PORTES BEACH HOTEL invites you to have a unique holiday experience. With new infrastructure, fully renovated rooms and up-to-date facilities, PORTES BEACH HOTEL is a perfect choice for family vacations providing warm hospitality and friendly service from professional and experienced personnel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Portes Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portes Beach Hotel Halkidiki/Nea Potidea, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing