We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5* hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Porto Carras - Meliton
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Neos Marmaras
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Porto Carras Meliton hotel has all the infrastructure of being a 5* hotel however the staff service/hotel management and the need for major renovations classify it as a medium 4* hotel.

We just returned from a one week stay with our 2 kids. Although we paid for a sea view room we were given a side marina view room and when complained at the reception the first morning we were informed that it was a sea view room(if you hang off the balcony gates) and that the hotel was full and they could not change as rooms!

The staff is not trained adequately and have no knowledge of the items on the menu. When we asked whether the burger at the News cafe is spicy the waitress laughed and said of course not, but guess what it was indeed very spicy and fortunately the order was for us and not the kids.
The staff service especially at the News cafe is slow, you might be searching for a waiter for 15mins!!!

The Pefkos restaurant at the sea front is very expensive and the food quality is below average. The beach bar again has very poor staff service, things that run out are not replaced on time (we found unacceptable the fact that for 4 days there was no vanilla ice cream for them to prepare a milk shake!!!!) and the prices are ridiculously high!€5 for frappe, €5 for milk shakes and €4 for fanta! We visited many 5* (well deserved) hotels in Greece and prices were not as high as this.

One day our kid spilled our coffee on the beach towel and when we went to change it the member of staff at the towel's kiosk refused to change it as you are only allowed one towel every day!!He did change it in the end when he saw how furious my husband became but he warned that this was the one and only time he did as such a BIG favor. This kind of attitude certainly does not much a 5* star hotel!

The rooms are spacious, clean and furniture is new and nice. However the fitted carpets need to be removed both from the rooms and from the corridors as they are not clean and they smell. Although we were 4 we were provided with 3 sets of bath towels almost every day and had to call reception for an extra set. The first 3 nights the mattress in the baby cot was bigger than the bed and did not fit properly. Surprisingly enough this was changed without us asking after the 3rd night.

The resorts's own prepared wines are very nice and should be tried as they are sold at reasonable prices.

The breakfast quality is below average and this is due to the mass production needs as it is a very big hotel. Again here when things run out they were not replaced promptly. The coffee pots served at breakfast are either broken or dirty and are in desperate need to be changed.

Overall the sea is extremely nice, we found sun beds easily and we had a good time. However, the price paid for this hotel was way too high for what we received ( for the room type, staff service and breakfast quality).

We would go there again only if the hotel is renovated and staff/management changes!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank DespiCos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PascalousisChristos, Διευθυντής at Porto Carras - Meliton, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear DespiCos,

Thank you for spending few minutes to write a review of the Meliton hotel in the Trip Advisor website. It is very important for us to have feedback from our guests and we always find it as an opportunity to improve our services.
I am very sorry to know that we didn't manage to fulfill your expectations of a perfect stay in our hotel, despite the fact that Porto Carras is one of the most comprehensive and complete resort in Greece. I would like to assure you that I am taking your opinion into consideration and that all the necessary measures will be taken in order to improve even the last detail possible regarding the hotels facilities and services offered.

Kind Regards,
Christos Paschalousis
General Manager of Meliton hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,770)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

541 - 547 of 1,770 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel was nice, clean and on the beach. However, for a 5* hotel it is not satisfactory at all. After a long journey we arrived at the hotel at 1 am and discovered that there was no baby bed for our 2-year old. We notified reception and they told us that the person responsible had gone home! (What 5* hotel doesn't cater to basic needs 24/7?). So, we had to sleep the baby on the sofa bed and of course, he fell off and cried through the night.

We were on half board and the buffet was big but, again, for a 5* hotel, the quality of the food was not satisfactory. Example: on "Italian night" the only pasta was Napolitana and Bolognese. No lasagna, no risotto etc. I might be slim-picking but you'd expect that from a luxury hotel that charges accordingly.

After having consulted the Hotel Service Booklet in the room, which said that dinner ended at 10pm, we went down at 9.30 only to have the trays taken away from us so no food for us. We complained and the reception lady said: "Oh yes sorry, someone has to change that"!

The hotel will charge you for ANYTHING. There is no free water at dinner (there is some at breakfast) so you have to buy it for 3 EUR. A glass of Coke? 4 EUR. A plate with a piece of fish fillet and 5 pieces of potatoes? 20 EUR. A slice of watermelon? 6 EUR.

There is no free wifi, not even at the lobby! Of course you pay 25 EUR for the week.

All in all, a good, clean hotel on the beach some of the staff (not all of them of course) is at best ineffective

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andreas3579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel durning a golf tournament last October.
Stayed for 5 nights.
Hotel was very nice with many activities.
Loved to take boat ride to the village nearby with my wife where we usually had our dinners and shopping :-)
Rooms were very well kept and service was up to standards
Will stay there again whenever we visit Porto caras again

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Karim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I fell in love with a moment in time when the driver turned from Marmaras village to enter the Porto Carras Grand Resort, the picture was amazing, the sea tranquil with the breathtaking view of the entire resort. We feel blessed to have had the chance to spend a week at this magical place. We were overawed by the vineyards and the mythical experience with the wine tasting which one can see so much tenderness and love in this family orientated wine and olive grove planting. My husband and 4,5 yr old son and I spent endless hours in the sea water lagoons and I daily visited the thalassotherapy, whether it was to get a massage or detox treatment that helped me unwind and take in such beauty. My husband and son played soccer , sea sports, horse riding and spent quality time together. We took a stroll every evening at the marina which was rich in a nautical atmosphere bringing fond memories of Sydneys little marines and later sitting at the restaurants to indulge the glorious food in this fantastic marine setting. All the staff are helpful, with a smile that made our stay feel at home. Everyone was extremely generous and extremely polite. Congratulations to all , Porto Carras Grand Resort is by far an exceptional place to get away, relax, spend quality time with your loved ones. A place respected by the owners which is in perfect harmony with its beautiful landscape. We wish everyone here at the Grand Resort well and great health, we thank you for an amazing time. Dr P

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Effie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

5 star??? Maybe once a long time ago but certainly not now. The first room stankand was filthy, the next room had loose shower head which sprayed water everywhere when we showered and flooded the bathroom. The bed in both rooms were singles pushed together and hard as nails. When we complained no more rooms were available, certainly not ones that matched the description we that we booked In to have. They did put a layer of sponge over the mistress which I assume was supposed to make it better. It didn't! The food was the poorest I have eaten in Greece. They couldn't offer a decent tea or coffee. Everyone left towels on the chairs while they swam or went to have their outdoor lunch near the pool. Ours went missing while we had lunch. They wanted to charge us even though they might have collected them themselves the pool guy told us. Great scam!, WHERE is the service?? The grounds are the only thing going for this place. The view is beautiful but it takes more than view to have a relaxing time. Yes the winery makes great wine. The manager only gave us his attention as we were leaving to say he hoped we had a lovely stay ! Even though he was aware of our problems, as we were told to come back at a certain time and he would see us, only to find he didn't turn up and the person on reception now had no idea we needed to see him. They have 'no service' down to an art. Very poor. On top of everything the young lady at the desk who on our arrival said she would look after us and make sure we had a lovely stay, turned out to have a temper that she didn't mind showing you. She would raise her voice and not stop talking to listen to us. I am astounded that the hotel seems to think you should be grateful for staying there and not because you pay to stay there.
I can see review that report very different experiences, maybe this is because those on packages are looked after to spread the word about the packages. Still I don't understand this sort of management! I will not and do not recommend it to anyone. Don't pay for you room until you see what you are getting. Shame on you Porto corrals melting!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GinnyP1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Unique location, we loved the beach, pools, breakfast, great facilities. Food experience ...in marina restaurant with famous chef. We had a free family room upgrade with beautiful view of sea and marina(thanks Meliton Porto Carras)! My family spent great moments, your family will love it!

Room Tip: Family room with a sea view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fenia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

The property was amazing, and worth every cent. The location was phenomenal! Authentic Greek landscape and magic sunset. The suite itself was excellent - a comfortable, well-kept with everything we needed. Lots of fresh vegetables and fruits, tasty Greek cheese and variety of desserts. The service was nice and the staff very friendly. We stayed a week and I wish we could stay more.

 

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ross71290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neos Marmaras
6.8 mi away
Acrotel Athena Pallas Village
15.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Hotel
Blue Dolphin Hotel
#1 of 3 in Metamorfosi
450 reviews
20.9 mi away
Eagles Palace
Eagles Palace
#1 of 10 in Ouranoupolis
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Anthemus Sea Beach Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Kelyfos Bungalows & Suites
Kelyfos Bungalows & Suites
#5 of 8 in Neos Marmaras
86 reviews
4.7 mi away
Lagomandra Hotel & Spa
Lagomandra Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Neos Marmaras
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Carras - Meliton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Carras - Meliton

Address: Neos Marmaras 63081, Greece (Formerly Meliton Thalasso & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Sithonia > Neos Marmaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Neos Marmaras
Price Range: £104 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Porto Carras - Meliton 5*
Number of rooms: 480
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along a 9 km stretch of the gorgeous, sandy beach of Halkidiki, with its crystal clear azure blue waters and amidst 1,763 hectares of natural grandeur, nestles the 6 times awarded by Condé Nast Traveller and proud holder of the Green Key Eco Label award Porto Carras Meliton 5*. The endless beach, including 25 secluded pristine coves, awarded each year with the International mark of the Blue Flag, offers countless ways to recharge: swimming, snorkeling, scuba diving, water-skiing, windsurfing, canoeing, sailing. But beachside bliss is only the start: enjoy a host of outdoor activities from horse riding to tennis, to basketball, beach volley, football, soccer 5X5, trekking, jogging, cycling, and mountain bike. Golf enthusiasts are at one with nature on our 18-hole course, where strategic water obstructers and the bunkers provide tension in every stroke, offering superb views. Those seeking complete repose visit the 4,700 m², world-class Thalassotherapy & Spa Center, offering a wide range of treatments by Pevonia and Ligne St. Barth, indoor sea water pool, thalassotherapy pool, high salinity pool, Jacuzzi, 6 hydro baths, sauna, steam bath, 2 fitness centers, 27 treatment rooms and a VIP spa suite. Or lounge at the lagoon esplanade, cool off with a swim in the swimming pool, the thalassotherapy outdoor pool, or the lagoon style pool and float over to Wet Bar for your favourite cocktail. Retreat to our deluxe guestrooms designed to bring the outdoors in: 324 stunning sea, marina or golf view rooms boast private balconies. Escape and unwind in one of our 156 suites and experience the Suite lifestyle that only the Meliton Suite Program can offer. For culinary adventures, choose from the 3 restaurants of the hotel or the 2 tavernas by the marina. Enjoy live music at the bar or try your luck at the neighbouring New Orleans’s style casino: roll the dice and hit the slots - the perfect end to a sun-filled day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Porto Carras - Meliton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Carras Meliton Hotel Sithonia
Meliton Thalasso Hotel
Meliton Thalasso Resort
Porto Carras - Meliton Sithonia/Neos Marmaras, Halkidiki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing