We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”
Review of Eagles Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eagles Palace
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ouranoupolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We have just returned from the Eagles Palace. It is at least a two hour transfer from the airport at Thessaloniki The hotel is lovely as are all the staff who we always found friendly and efficient.
As others have commented food & drinks were good but not cheap but that is to be expected.
We had two 15 year old girls with us and they were happy to simply lie in the sun and partake of some water sports. Older teenagers may get a little bored.
The pool area has more comfortable seats than the beach but does tend to get busy.
If I am to be honest I found our rooms Superior with sea view a little small and basic along with the bathroom.
However, we slept well but if you want a larger room and more 5* than 3 or 4* feel check the type of room you have booked.
Hotel offers a shuttle to the local town of Ouranoupolis with the last shuttle at 8.30pm. There really should be a later shuttle back to the hotel at around 10.30 -11pm. If you phone the hotel they will collect you for a small fee but most of the restaurants will take you back to the hotel. Just ask?
A week for us was the perfect length of stay.

Room Tip: check the type of room offered if you want seaview and 5* feel.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,000)
There are newer reviews for Eagles Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 1,000 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2012

We have been frequent visitors for many years and just love this place.

The room we were given was the best ever and the staff are just a delight. Nothing is too much trouble for them.

In a nutshell - you pay for quality and that's what you get!

Room Tip: Go for the best room you can afford. If on arrival you are disappointed with anything, including ro...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueFirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 6 days and it was a great experience.
Friendly and very professional staff, excellent food, nice rooms,
relaxing atmosphere...everything that you can expect from holiday.
Prices are maybe little bit higher but if you want to turn off and enjoy
this is the right place. I will surely come back...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank marko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Very nice hotel with lovely staff, nice spa, good quality Apivita toiletries. doesn't look like a hotel from the beach- which is stone so you may want beach shoes. Ideal for adults and very small children but nothing much for teenagers unless they lime the sea or the pool. Note that there's no wheelchair access to the pool. It is expensive €4 for a local beer or a coffee, €6 for chips at lunchtime and because there's nowhere else to buy anything you are a bit stuck. However Ouranopolis - which is about 2 miles away but you can only walk it on the road - has the usual small supermarket. The tavernas in the town are willing to fetch you from the hotel and take you back if you eat with them, so once you've been in and picked up a few cards, getting into Ouranopolis is no problem. Overall a nice hotel if you really do want to do absolutely nothing but is a bit isolated without a car.

Room Tip: Any sea view well worth paying for
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jefy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

unique in every way.the style and atmosphere is something only this hotel can give you.
you have to go to experience the high quality service and accomodation cause words are just not enough to describe.

Room Tip: it is worth paying a bit extra for a sea view room
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank alex12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We booked this hotel for a quiet, relaxing week away without having to travel too far from the UK.

Rather than go for transfer offered (€160 each), we booked a hire car from the airport and drove the 2 hours through the countryside, and that was no bother whatsoever. We therefore had a car for the duration of the holiday, for half the price of a return transfer.

Initial impressions of the hotel are good; very friendly Reception staff, slick baggage collection, check-in and a welcome glass of bubbly.

The room was spacious and spotlessly clean, and breakfast had a wide selection, with everything being constantly refreshed.

The hotel is a member of the 'Leading Small hotels of the World', and it is a true 5* luxury option. The only two negative aspects that we experienced were not massive issues, but they were enough to drop our overall rating down from 5 to a 4.

With regards to the first point I can't blame the hotel, however there were too many whingy, spoilt brats disturbing the peace in the restaurants and on the beach. And some of the parents were no better ! I would definitely recommend going here during the school term if you're looking for a chilled, peaceful break.

The second point is that the hotel is charging premium prices for all additional extra's. Drinks at the bar (€10), evening buffet (€35) and spa treatment's (average €90-100) were all good quality, but in a country crippled by recession and desperate for custom, it doesn't come across as great value.

The final impression we were left with however, was of a very well run, high quality hotel. The staff are professional, hard-working and genuinely friendly. The nearest town is only 2 miles away and there are a few good quality, better priced restaurants available there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JamesandNichola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for five days to give my granddaughter of 4 a short holiday before starting school. Very long journey from airport, approx 90 mins. On arrival friendly greeting with a cold drink. Were told we had been upgraded but had already paid for a sea view bungalow so don't know what the upgrade was supposed to be!! From photos and reviews would have expected lovely sandy beaches but was very stoney at waters edge with many stones in sand everywhere else which made walking down to sea very uncomfortable. If you bring small children be aware that there are stone steps down to beach and many steps everywhere else so had to carry my granddaughter down to beach every time and also in hotel to toilets which are also located downstairs. Wouldn't really want any children I was taking to be running about on their own as I thought the steps were a hazard, maybe it would have been a good idea to have put a sloping walkway down to beach. Also a drop, not fenced off by beach bar which anybody could fall down if not aware of it, easy to step back and fall. Beach beds very uncomfortable, pool beds much better but unfortunately access round pool is restricted as many beds are too close to edge which makes walking round pool dangerous with small children. Also no lifeguards round pool and no sign of any at beach. Shower in room was in bath and I expect to have a seperate shower if 5 star accommodation. Also drain hole in middle of bathroom which on emptying bath flooded all over floor for some reason. Very friendly helpful staff everywhere and beach bar bells very good idea. Hit my head on bungalow sign several times as located in a very silly place. All said did have a very nice time but too far from airport, but have since found out hotel has helipad so might be a better option if you can afford it.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luxababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EaglesPalaceHotel, Front Office Manager at Eagles Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Dear Luxbabe,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Eagles Palace & Spa.

It’s very important for us to get a report from our clients with their experiences in our hotel, because our aim as a 5 star Hotel and SLH Member is always to improve our self daily and to deliver services of a very high standard.

We would like to take a position on your report.

The Sea view Bungalows are behind of the Bungalow Sea Front and in a totally different location. The Bungalow Sea Front which is a higher category is directly on the beach just some steps from your door. We would be very happy if you would have given us this note during your stay, so it would be more clear for you to see that you were upgraded to a Bungalow Sea Front.

In the main building all our guests can reach easily all departments as well the toilets with the lift.

Our beach is awarded for the 20th time continuously with the blue flag and offers to our guest’s crystal clear water and clean sandy beach which has in some places pebbles.

Regarding the information about the steps at the Beach bar, we would like to inform you that several safety inspections are carried out and we receive every year the certification.

The rooms are very good described in every brochure and in our website. Our hotel offers also rooms with separate shower and clients have the possibility to book these rooms.

Regarding the drain hole, we have a special button in the bath in which you can regulate it.

Finally we would like to thank you for submitting us your experiences, and it would be our pleasure to welcome you again at the Eagles Palace & Spa.

With best regards

The Eagles Palace Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouranoupolis
1.3 mi away
Alexandros Palace Hotel
Alexandros Palace Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nea Roda
313 reviews
19.1 mi away
Danai Beach Resort
Danai Beach Resort
#2 of 10 in Nikiti
207 reviews
2.8 mi away
Agionissi Resort
Agionissi Resort
#2 of 3 in Ammouliani
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Akrathos Beach Hotel
Akrathos Beach Hotel
#6 of 10 in Ouranoupolis
318 reviews
2.2 mi away
Xenia Ouranopolis
Xenia Ouranopolis
#2 of 10 in Ouranoupolis
427 reviews
17.7 mi away
Acrotel Athena Pallas Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagles Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagles Palace

Address: Ouranoupolis 63075, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Mt. Athos Peninsula > Ouranoupolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ouranoupolis
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ouranoupolis
Price Range: £117 - £425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Eagles Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagles palace, member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World offers 157 rooms & suites on a private beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Eagles Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eagles Palace
Eagles Palace Ouranoupolis
Eagles Palace Halkidiki/Ouranoupolis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing