We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing holidays”
Review of Eagles Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eagles Palace
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ouranoupolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Eagles Palace is a great place to relax.
The hotel is lovely and the place is very picturesque.
Beautiful clean beach with crystal clear water.
Although the place is lovely, there are some minor negatives for a hotel, who advertise themselves as luxury hotel.
The rooms need updating, especially the furniture, its outdated and a bit run down.
The breakfast was of good standard.
However, the dinner in the main restaurant (half board option), although of an acceptable standard, but failed to impress or live up to the high standard for this type of hotel.
Firstly, the food was quite repetitive.
There was no much fresh seafood and even the meat in the theater bar and the grill bar wasn't that good. Most of the meat dishes were swimming in different sauces, the kitchen needs to serve more just more healthy options like just grilled meats and poultry.
And the ventilation in the main, Melathon restaurant was poor.

Otherwise, its a lovely place and I would definitely recommend it.
The best thing about this hotel is their service.
The staff are extremely attentive and helpful.
Especially want to mention two lovely ladies, Olga and Nina from customer relationship, which were extremely helpful and attentive. Nothing was much for them to do for their guest.
They and some other staff of the hotel (Dimitris from the cafe, waitress Carina and Georgia, reception) made a big difference.
If you are not going for a half board option, you need to bare in mind that the a la carte restaurants are not cheap, so are the drinks. Cocktails are 12 euros each. But the food is of much better quality.
All in all if you want a very relaxing holidays in a very beautiful location, I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank natalie1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,051)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

508 - 514 of 1,051 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

Eagles Palace is the ideal place if you need to relax from an hard year at work.
You we feel spoiled by the way you are treated and you might think that paradise is there...

Atmosphere is terrific, clean, very nice hotel with everything you need, charming beaches and wonderful restaurants...
We stayed 1 full week and we never ever got bored, well this a place where you need to be really in love with the person who is with you as this place is distant miles away from the chaotic life and ordinary "touristic" place that you find everywhere, we went one day out of the hotel to see a close village and there was nothing, but believe me, real nothing to buy (thanks God...!) unless you are a fanatic of bizantine icons, well here you are.

We think it has been the most beautiful holidays so far, just the two of us, beautiful sea, marvellos food and wine, incredible atmosphere.
What else do you need?
Personally, I just regret it's over so far and I'm back to routine life...

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room with a little terrace, you won't regret!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ciemme28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile


Mid-October is probably too late to enjoy all the features of this resort.
We stayed 8 days but only had one quick splash in our private pool on the last and only gorgeous sunny day.
We hired a car to explore the area but would not recommend to do it, there is very little to see worth the effort. Even the cruise along the coast to see Mount Athos Monasteries is not very exciting.
Our suggestion is to choose the right time of the year and take full advantage of the beautiful long beach, the large pool, the many relaxing areas in every corner, the fantastic beaches on the small island (Ammouliani) in front and fully enjoy the unique atmosphere of the Eagle based essentially on the courtesy and attitude of the whole staff with no exceptions. Make the most of your own "island"!
Even the buffet, usually the weak point of many resorts, is quite good with excellent wines reasonably priced... and anyway you could not find anything better in the nearby town's tavernas...
Highly recommended... in good weather.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saveron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My partner and I have just returned from two weeks at the Eagles Palace Hotel and we had a wonderful time. As mentioned by so many others, the service of ALL the staff was second to none, nothing was too much trouble for any of them and any requests were always met with a smile. Olga and Nina have been mentioned previously and I can only add to what has been said about how friendly and professional they are.

From the moment we were met at the airport by Thomas who drove us to the hotel and gave us some information about Ierissos and Nea Roda just before we arrived at the Eagles Palace were a glass of bubbly was waiting for us. Our cases were taken to our room, which was very well equipped although for me personally, the beds were a little too firm! The only downside we experienced from Room 240 was our very noisy neighbours, a family with, I'm afraid to say, two not very well behaved children. There was a lot of shouting and screaming from fairly early on in the morning and we witnessed their behaviour in the restaurant without any reprimanding from the parents - but this of course was not the hotels fault.

The restaurant staff especially Thannis were lovely, very welcoming and friendly, recommending wines and offering after dinner drinks. The food was lovely, so much choice and although buffet style, the quality and options was fantastic. The dishes were replaced very quickly so everything was fresh.

We didn't encounter one member of staff who didn't greet us with a hello and a smile.

The only downside was the first week we were there, the weather wasn't brilliant but you can't hold the hotel responsible for that!

The highlight of our holiday was the day we hired a small boat from Dinos and spent the day going round the islands, such good fun and when we told others what a great time we'd had, they did the same.

Another excursion we did was the Mount Athos boat trip which again I would thoroughly recommend, very interesting and informative.

The walks up and over the mountain to Nea Roda and Ouranoupoli were great. The first we did to Nea Roda was by far the easier of the two with the one to Ouranoupoli going up a lot of hills and down the other side on very rutted tracks. It took about two and three quarter hours and we didn't see another person for two and a half hours.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dreamcatcher166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Eagles Palace is a quiet, sophisticated hotel with great beach, wonderful food, excellent service. They regularly organize wine events like presentation of Greek wineries, wine and food matching etc. The scuba diving centre is excellent, the two sisters Niki and Katerina do great job. We really look forward to going back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MacedonianFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We were delighted with the service and food at Eagles Palace. All the staff went out of their way to make our stay a good experience. The food in the main restaurant is buffet style, not normally my prefered choice, but the variety and quality were excellent, really could not fault it.
Excellent location for a beach holiday, the weather was cooler while we were there but found enough activities to keep us busy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricandShirlJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Take one very stressed husband, go to the eagles palace and watch the stress ebb away!!
We returned from our holiday a few weeks ago, it was a last minute break and it all went very smoothly. The most wonderful staff, who truly cannot do enough to make your stay special, you feel truly cosseted. Special mention to the divine Olga who nothing is too much trouble.
Also the charming Christos and his team in the bar who make world class martini's!! Nikos the maitre'd in the restaurant again so effortlessly efficient and has great wine recommendations.
We were staying on a half board basis and ate in the main buffet restaurant 4 nights and found it to be a very good selection and great service.The other nights we dined in the hotels other restaurants which are excellent, with a good relaxed atmosphere.
Our room sea view double was very comfortable with a nice bathroom and spotlessly clean, excellent housekeeping.
We loved the sunbeds with the buzzer... Cocktails, snacks, etc bought swiftly to your lounger just press the button! Gorgeous crystal clear sea the colour of a rare blue tourmaline,like swimming in velvet,with shimmering silver fishes and lovely ambient music drifting from the beach bar... Bliss.
A most is a visit to the spa for a queen bee treatment, one and a half hours of totally pampering,
They offer lots of lovely treatments but get very booked up,so I would suggest booking either as soon as you arrive or ideally before.
My only criticism is the main lobby and parts of the hotel are a little dated, refurbishing to make it more contemporary and luxe are needed. Also the surrounding area outside the hotel isn't typically Greek ( white washed villages etc) it's dramatic scenery but not beautiful,we have travelled to the mainland before several times and to many islands and this was very different.
Having said that hotel is set in very pretty surroundings, so I would just arrive unpack and let the wonderful staff work their magic!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah Menta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouranoupolis
0.1 mi away
Eagles Villas
Eagles Villas
#1 of 1 in Skala Neon Rodon
52 reviews
19.1 mi away
Danai Beach Resort
Danai Beach Resort
#2 of 10 in Nikiti
212 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alexandros Palace Hotel
Alexandros Palace Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nea Roda
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Akrathos Beach Hotel
Akrathos Beach Hotel
#6 of 10 in Ouranoupolis
327 reviews
2.3 mi away
Xenia Ouranopolis
Xenia Ouranopolis
#2 of 10 in Ouranoupolis
448 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel AKTI Ouranoupoli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagles Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagles Palace

Address: Ouranoupolis 63075, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Mt. Athos Peninsula > Ouranoupolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ouranoupolis
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ouranoupolis
Price Range: £135 - £615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Eagles Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagles palace, member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World offers 157 rooms & suites on a private beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eagles Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eagles Palace
Eagles Palace Ouranoupolis
Eagles Palace Halkidiki/Ouranoupolis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing