We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable stay!”
Review of Eagles Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Eagles Palace
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ouranoupolis
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A memorable stay!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We had a great time at this hotel. Everything was excellent. Beautiful gardens, an amazing golden beach, great food and most of all the most polite staff i have ever encountered in a hotel. Thumbs up, i will be coming here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michalismi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagles_Palace_H0tel, Διευθυντής at Eagles Palace, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and taking the time to review your stay.

We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time here at Eagles Palace and left with the best of memories.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon and remain

Yours sincerely

The Eagles Palace Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    654
    208
    63
    20
    11
See reviews for
317
460
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We spent a week in triple room (which was all but not for three persons) and were generally wondering why was the hotel so expensive. Nothing special,at the first glance. We were not particularly warmly welcomed by a red harry women on the reception desk neither.
But after a week there, that was completely other picture. Fantastic feeling,relaxing (probably due to the nearby Athos), fantastic breakfast, beautiful beach, island of Amougliani, perfectly clean rooms, and generally friendly people... warmly recommendable.
I still think that the hotel is over prized!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mladen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel. The service, food, setting, beach and pool are very good.

There are many positives - but by holding itself out as 5 star and charging accordingly, we had very high expectations...

The size and standard of our superior sea view room was a big disappointment. At 382 Euros per night it should have been bigger and better furnished - or cheaper! We complained but were told nothing else was available.

We were charged 350 Euros for the transfer from and to the airport despite spending so much on the room plus food and drink for a week - come on guys!

The hotel lacks those extra touches of true 5 star, such as a really good welcome, turn down service, going that extra mile to impress (we felt they weren't concerned about our room complaint), subtle and constant first class service.

In summary - a great hotel. Good 4 star, not 5 star. Pricey for what it is - but still popular and plenty of people seem willing to pay the prices! If the hotel can improve the rooms and push up service standards just a little - it might then be brilliant.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank MGE1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I saddens me to leave a rating on this hotel which is anything other than 10/10. So many aspects of the hotel are absolutely fantastic - it really is a lovely place to be and most probably the nicest hotel I have ever stayed at.

However, there are 3 reasons why I have had to rate it 6/10. If these issues are not relevant to you, then you can be assured you will have a fantastic experience there.

1) One of the reasons we stayed at the hotel, was because we had contacted them before hand to ensure that wifi internet was available in all rooms (and not just the lobby). We were told it was. However the wifi did not work in our room. We persistantly tried it on 5 devices but to no avail. As an internet business owner this was a huge problem and meant I had to use the lobby area (away from my family) for around 2 hours each day - not to mention not being able to occasionally use websites like Facebook or local weather from our room. We reported this, and although the IT manager came to look at it, he could not understand why. The biggest dissappointment was that he (or anybody) did not come back to us about it. Nobody offered a solution/repair, different room or anything.

2) The pricing of drinks, non-inclusive food and water sports/boat hire associated with the hotel, is very expensive. I appreciate it's a 5 star hotel and with that you can't expect things to be cheap or even averagely priced. But this was way above what we considered reasonable/acceptable - even for a 5-star hotel. In the end we decided to purchase things like bottled water, soft drinks, snacks etc from a shop and sometimes took them with us to the beach/pool. I've seen that some people who are regulars to this hotel have also mentioned in their reviews, a concern of recent high pricing.

3) The last thing is a bit random and really just a small point, but I feel will be important for some people. The bathroom door in our room (and I guess all of them are the same), is not a door which is 'fitted' to a frame and therefore can't be closed properly or locked. It is a clouded glass door which has gaps around between the door and the outer frame meaning you can see in/out. The doors in the communal toilets are equally as 'public'. This will be very uncomfortable for alot of people, and especially those who have small children who are likely to just 'wander in' whilst you're in the bathroom. I don't understand why anyone would install a bathroom door made of glass (albeit clouded), with no lock and with gaps all around it.

Other than these issues, the hotel was absolutely fantastic. The staff were incredibly friendly, and efficient (with the exception of the wifi problem we had), and the facilities and quality of the place were outstanding. It was also nice that you could always very easily find a space on any part of the beach, the pool, or any of the bars/restaurants there. The hotel gave a proper sense of spaciousness and quality and the evening entertainment was lovely also.

Would we go again ? I would like to think yes, but I think given the 3 issues above, we probably wouldn't. Which is a big shame.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank beemerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for the first week of August this year. There are few hotels I have stayed in where you truly believe that every member of staff tried their very best to ensure your stay is perfect. This hotel was one of those few. The staff attended effortlessly to every request. So it was a complete holiday.

The location was stunning: clean beach, calm waters which were great for water sports - they even had a proper slalom water-skiing course. Water was crystal clear.

The food was fabulous. All fresh produce, from the sumptuous fruit, pastries and cooked foods at breakfast to the carefully prepared various local fish in the smartest of their 4
restaurants.

I went with my girlfriend for a romantic break but would return readily with my kids. I would recommend Eagles Palace to anyone looking for the perfect summer holiday. It was simply fabulous.


  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank F B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Overall a very good hotel with friendly staff and beautiful setting but 5 stars is a stretch.

We booked 2 seafront junior suites but the rooms we were taken to could barely see the sea and did not resemble the pictures on their website in any other way than furniture. We complained and as a result one room was changed for the actual seafront suite we booked while the other was changed the day after. The rooms were spacious, comfortable, simply decorated and the view was certainly worth fighting for.

In terms of hotel's amenities the beach is certainly the one we valued most. The view is absolutely stunning and since it is a private one it's not overly crowded. You can also rent a boat of do water ski, which we both tried and highly recommend (especially the boat renting for a day, gorgeous bays but be careful with the Paris restaurant bill as we had some 'unordered extras added')

When it comes to food its really very simple be it in their Greek or Asian restaurants. Ingredients are superfresh and very good quality so anything that doesn't require meat/fish hot preparation is great but as soon as you move to any hot meat or fish dishes you realise they have a big problem with timing it right. We ate in the hotel almost everyday and fish and meat has been always VERY well done except one case where we received an almost raw lamb steak (when we complained that same steak has been reheated for us and returned which we found unacceptable especially that it was their 'gourmet' restaurant).

The ambiance of the place is very pleasant and relaxed especially when watching sunset from one of their restaurants. However I fail to understand how can a 165 room hotel be still considered a Small Luxury Hotel (which is the title it has). You certainly feel the crowd in some common areas such as breakfast, that really feels like a canteen experience.

Staff has been quite helpful & friendly. Special thanks to Olga at Guest Relations who has been most kind & helpful with planning trips to the local monasteries or organising our beautiful day on the boat.

All in all, I would recommend Eagles Palace for a holiday with a group of friends or family when you're looking for a simple, relaxing getaway but if you're looking for a romantic corner this is not the address for you.

Room Tip: - ensure in your confirmation of booking that you have the sea view you wanted - if you're look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank -KeepLooking-28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagles_Palace_H0tel, Διευθυντής at Eagles Palace, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Eagles Palace for your stay and for taking the time to comment on your holiday experience. We value your comments very much and apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

Regarding your complaint with the lamb steak we would like to point out that we actually did not reheat it; instead our Executive Chef gave the order for a new steak to be prepared according to your liking.

As you have stated yourself we do indeed use only the freshest of ingredients which we buy from local markets and follow all procedures and policies from the point of receiving the goods to the actual food preparation doing things strictly by the book.

Regarding the Melathron Restaurant where breakfast is served we would like to inform you that its functional layout of one large indoor and two outdoor areas with a total of 354 seats can accommodate the entire hotel capacity in one sitting.

We hope to see you again in the future and remain at your disposal for any further questions.

Yours sincerely

The Eagles Palace team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drama, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My family and I visited eagles palace for 8 days at the end of July. This was our third visit and we unanimously voted for it ! As a matter of fact, we have been waiting the whole winter to come back!
The location is stunning, the sea incredible, the facilities impeccable but I have stayed in many other hotels around the world that offered beauty and luxury: the Dorchester, the Four Seasons in New York, the Hilton in the Maldives, the Al Qasr in Dubai, to mention just as few.
What makes this hotel outstanding are the people who work there. From reception (Georgia, Froso and Olga), to the beach bar (Dimitris, Ratko and a young men from Skopia), Sakis in the Japanese restaurant, Dimitris and Dimitris in the other restaurants, the house - keeping ladies, were all truly amazing! I can not stress enough how hard they work Around the Clock to please the guests.
Yes, it was busy and very hot and yet they were all happy to offer my son to make his own milk shake, running up and down the beach to bring clean towels and refreshments. I noticed most of them there from 10 in the morning till late in the evening - always with a smile.
Erika, ilia and Anna from kids club, truly excellent! My 5 year old who is rather shy and reserved was comfortable enough to play with them most of his time. We had to drug them away every day and both of my kids were crying when we left the hotel. They got a beautiful picture from the girls and lots of hugs and kisses. They have never cried before in any other resort! Best activity voted: making cookies and then eating them together.
Breakfast had absolutely everything. Omelets were the best we ever had and orange juice was fresh ( which is not something that happens in every luxury resort). There is a special section for kids and another section with Greek goodies ( truly top quality).
I find hard to believe that people would have any negative comments!
I can see us going back year after year because it makes all four of us happy in many different ways.
I highly recommend it for those who want luxury, attention to detail and Greek hospitality at its best. When we forgot something in the hotel, it was found and send to us right away. When we left the hotel cold bottles of water were given to us for the trip.
Last but not least our pool boy was excellent. I explained to him that our 9 year old daughter had just had an ear infection and the pool had to be spotless. He did his job!
This a hotel where they can see your needs because they care about their guests. That is why people go back to it year after year.
I hope the management appreciates the hard work they put in. We certainly did!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouranoupolis
1.3 mi away
Alexandros Palace Hotel
Alexandros Palace Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nea Roda
274 reviews
19.1 mi away
Danai Beach Resort
Danai Beach Resort
#2 of 10 in Nikiti
196 reviews
17.7 mi away
Acrotel Athena Pallas Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Xenia Ouranopolis
Xenia Ouranopolis
#2 of 10 in Ouranoupolis
396 reviews
2.4 mi away
Akti Ouranoupolis
Akti Ouranoupolis
#3 of 10 in Ouranoupolis
129 reviews
2.6 mi away
Agionissi Resort
Agionissi Resort
#2 of 3 in Ammouliani
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagles Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagles Palace

Property: Eagles Palace
Address: Ouranoupolis 63075, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Mt. Athos Peninsula > Ouranoupolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ouranoupolis
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ouranoupolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Eagles Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagles palace, member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World offers 157 rooms & suites on a private beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Eagles Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eagles Palace
Eagles Palace Ouranoupolis
Eagles Palace Halkidiki/Ouranoupolis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing