We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total Disappointment!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Xenia Ouranopolis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Xenia Ouranopolis
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Ouranoupolis
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Total Disappointment!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

What can i say.. one star at most. These people dont know what hospitality is.. they publish in the brochure internet in the room.. they charge at the lobby. publish safe in the room.. try to find it. Fridge doesnt work, tv from the 80's without telecontrol. Bring your own umbrella because they will charge you for the beach umbrella!! and... your towels, and shampoo and soap.. they charge for those as well.. Do not go to have a coffee before 7.30.. You'll make the cleaning lady angry and you will get ousted. If you want to have clean sheets.. get your own. Blue flag beach, hahaha.. no lifeguard, no sowers (but you still pay the umbrella)!! To sum it up.. Its a camping place.. I really cannot understand why this company got the right to use this unique hotel.. (as i found out they even have a "hospitality college"..... ). Its a shame for everything that Greece stands for: Hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank vasily_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    108
    58
    26
    27
See reviews for
129
105
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

We booked this hotel in Ouranoupolis because most of the Xenia Hotels in Greece used to be government properties, they are now private, and as such are in some of the best locations, this one is within walking distance to the town of Ouranoupolis. We also thought we were getting a good relative value. Well, at least for us, the old saying of you get what you pay for proved true. Our room was old and tired, the AC didn't keep up. We had booked a family suite and got a average size room with four beds glued to one another. The breakfast was at best average and the beach was so-so with a view of construction machine...so we were gone after one night. Truth be told a friend had a chance to look at the regular rooms and thought they were pretty good, we weren't given that option until we were checkin out, which was too late.

Room Tip: If traveling with family ask for connecting rooms not family suite. They are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SKG23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BUCHAREST
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Xenia is the best choice when you decide to visit Mount Athos or Ouranopoli village. Is the only one close to the city and port, the only one situated on the beach. The beach and the water are perfect.All the rooms have sea view and all buildings of the hotel are situated exactly on the beach. It is a very quiet region, perfect for relaxation. There are not strange people on the beach selling fake watches or donuts, like in other regions of Greece. This is really a nice think. You can make cruise during Mount Athos coast and see from the boat all the monasteries, you can rent a boat ( 30 euro/day+ the gas ( 20 euro ) and you can visit the small islands and wild beaches. The only thinks we did not like, but which are not very important is that the TV in the room is the smallest possible and they do not have any children channels ( cartoon channels ), Interesting is that even is a four star hotel you have to pay for the internet ( only in the lobby and 5 euro/day ), but all the tavernas close to the hotel have free internet and if you have a coffee there you can use their internet. The sunbeds and umbrellas belong to the hotel and they are very cheap ( 3 euro/day a set of 2 sunbeds and an umbrella for 4 days, or 2.5 euro/set for 8 days ). The breakfast is the same every day and we recommend not to take half board because you have nice restaurants and tavernas very close, and the owners are willing to make good prices if you eat there more than one day. We recommend Eukaliptos taverna.So, it is a place we highly recoomend.They also have a spa which is 10 euro/room/day. It is not a lot, but for a 4 star hotel, to ask that, it is strange.We recoomend rooms 391 or 392.They are the biggest in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ANIALEXANDRU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

As is often the case in Greece, the location is great but the execution is shoddy and the service poor. In this case not for lack of trying but simply because they seem incapable. Shame really...

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Antispin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

We went to Xenia for 3 days. I booked it trough Dertour, but they made a mistake with my reservation?! They give me other room, further away from the beach. The room is not cleaned at all, the electric plugs and the phone are not working, there is no soap, nor shampoo. The breakfast & dinner are poor for 4 star hotel, and the meals are not delicious at all, there are not any diversity. The beach sets are broken and charged for 8 Euro for the guests. The internet connection is charged for 10 Euro for the whole stay. Only the hotel location is perfect, it is on few steps from Ouranoupoli, directly on the beach. Оnly the fine sand, clear water, the serenity and breathtaking scenes are make you feel in paradise. This is an overestimated hotel, unreasonable 4 star. I dont recommend this hotel, unless the price is is twice lower.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank casi0peia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

I think that this is one of the best hotels in Ouranopolis because of its idael location, on the beautiful beach. The rest of the hotels are mainly beyond the highway, and you must pass it to get to the beach (or go through a tunnel), which is really unpleasant, especially with small kids. We were accomodated in the new building within the hotel, which had better, newly furnished rooms . Everything was very clean, we had a beautiful frontal sea view, the maid was very clean and professional. Staff at the reception desk were ok, unlike the people working at the restaurant. They were unexperienced, slow, unprofessional and spoke very bad English. The food was not spectacular, it was very decent and everything was tasteful, but the chice of meals was not so diverse.
And one great move of the staff: my husband had his birthday during our stay there, and we received a beautiful fruit basket and chilled white wine, with a nice card. This was waiting for us when we came back from the beach. this was really nice and thoughtfull!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VAVUBelgrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

Since we wanted a "dicent" hotel in the area, for two days, and nothing else was available at high summer season, we ended at this awful place!!
A very high price for a low quality services. Very old buildings and decoration, poor cleaning for a 4 star hotel and... if you decide to go to the piscine area or beach, you will find broken or extremely dirty beach sets which are CHARGED even for the hotel occupants !!!
Don't try this hotel!!! Just take a look at the beautiful natural scenery and go far away!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nikli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouranoupolis
2.2 mi away
Eagles Palace
Eagles Palace
#1 of 10 in Ouranoupolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akti Ouranoupolis
Akti Ouranoupolis
#3 of 10 in Ouranoupolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
3.5 mi away
Alexandros Palace Hotel
Alexandros Palace Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nea Roda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Acrotel Elea Village
Acrotel Elea Village
#4 of 44 in Sithonia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
17.6 mi away
Acrotel Athena Pallas Village
1.3 mi away
Akrathos Beach Hotel
Akrathos Beach Hotel
#9 of 10 in Ouranoupolis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xenia Ouranopolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xenia Ouranopolis

Property: Xenia Ouranopolis
Address: On the Waterfront, Ouranoupolis 630 75, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Mt. Athos Peninsula > Ouranoupolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ouranoupolis
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ouranoupolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Xenia Ouranopolis 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
XENIA OURANOUPOLIS, of P.A.P Corp. Hotel family, is located just 2 minutes from the town of OURANOUPOLIS, built on the most beautiful beach of the area, with an exceptional view towards Mount Athos, the tower of OURANOUPOLIS and the Amoliani island. Xenia OURANOUPOLIS, one of the 10 Greek hotels characterized as "right on the waterfront", has been recently expanded with 3 new two store buildings, an internet cafe, a SPA of 700sq.Ms. A bar and a spacious reception lobby with many indoor and outdoor areas. Common architectural elements of the new buildings are along the lines of the 1960's with colors that harmonize with the environment and respect the local construction elements. The 88 new comfortable rooms with sea view respond to all contemporary needs with the well-known P.A.P Corp. Hospitality care. In addition the new SPA of XENIA OURANOUPOLIS, is another BEAUTY HAVEN by the hospitality family that started the concept of the rejuvenation and wellness already 10 years ago with the first BEAUTY HAVEN at AGIONISSI RESORT in Amoliani. The rich Mediterranean cuisine of XENIA OURANOUPOLIS is a discovery of original tasteful secrets: olive oil, capers, oregano and fresh ingredients from the gardens of the area which are transformed into delicious dishes thanks to P.A.P Corp. Recipes. All recipes are made with pure and traditional ingredients along honey, wine, marmalade, fruits in natural syrup and the olive oil being P.A.P Corp.'S own biological production, which can be enjoyed at the hotel or taken away as a souvenir or gift. The hotel family P.A.P Corp., Is an Environmental Friendly managed hotel company and is an active member of all major National and International Eco friendly Organizations for the last 30 years, with numerous of actions dedicated to the Preservation of Nature. XENIA OURANOUPOLIS as all P.A.P Corp. Hotels has got the GREEN KEY, European Eco Label. The XENIA OURANOUPOLIS beach is awarded with the Blue Flag. XENIA OURANOUPOLIS will be open all year around with the most contemporary and suitable infrastructures representing an example of a hotel close to Mount Athos. Winter in Halkidiki is mild and treasures the most beautiful Natural landscapes. OURANOUPOLIS village is full of cultural colour and is a busy town Even in winter due to the Maths pilgrims. For couples that wish to relax and enjoy anti stress techniques at our Beauty Haven Spa, scholars that wish to spend some time before or after their visit to M.Athos so they will re adjust themselves, XENIA will be open all year around. The indoor pools, the halls, lobby s and bars that are perfect for a year around operation will be your open door to Heaven s City: OURANOUPOLIS For more information on the hotel and the services offered to people with special needs, please visit the Europe For All. Capacity: Total Rooms: 88, Total Beds: 136 Accommodation: The hotel rooms, non smoking, 40 of them build in the winter of 2007-8, are decorated in the modern style of the 60's. Each room has a shower or bath, WC, hairdryer, balcony/terrace, soundproof windows, private heating and air-conditioning, direct-dial telephone, music, mini-bar, satellite TV, internet connection and safe. The Maximum in room capacity is 3 people. The rooms in the bungalows at the ground level were renovated in 1998 as hotel was leased by P.A.P Corp. They have the same amenities as the hotel rooms, and additionally they have their own spacious terraces. The maximum in room capacity is 4 people. At the hotel there are also rooms for people with special needs. The Xenia's balconies overlook the beach where children can play safely and the fresh sea air and the sound of waves lull guests to sleep at night. Recreation: Beach towels Service available,.Laundry, Secretarial services upon request. Hair dresser & Baby sitting upon request. Exclusive Spa Therapies in the BEAUTY HAVEN Spa. 24 Hrs Client Service guaranteed. Dining: Both breakfast and dinner are offered in rich buffet choices based on traditional recipes and local products. Breakfast room service is also available. On the Beach there is OASIS Beach bar for snacks & refreshment, fresh very updated and delicate snacks. Tasty ouzomezedes and fresh fish from Mt.Athos waters are served daily on the Pool terrace for lunch. Special days with Pasta Fiestas or Souvlaki action may happen during your stay. Clear moonlight nights are ideal for evening strolls or a cocktail by the pool bar F, one retro corner of the old XENIAs days and sophisticated music. The friendliness and discretion of the hotel staff further enhances the feeling of welcome, warmth and personalised attitude Entertainment/Leasure: Once a week a Byzantine buffet, pick nicks, barbeques, Beach or Pool Parties, Cooking classes and special theme events take place. Beach Volley, Children's playground. The beach is described as FREE of SEA TRAFFIC but for any sea sports rental, there is 3rd party associate, who has his base 3 kms from the coast and is available upon request. Boat Excursions, Bikes & Car Rentals. The local area can be visited on Xenia's private ferry, Megalexandros, or visits to Drenia, Amoliani Island and the Agionissi Resort can be arranged by renting boats, where baby dolphins often escort visitors to the shore. Meeting & Event Planning: P.A.P Corp. Is well qualified for any size of event. The best proposals and offers tailored to the customers needs unique and professional are accurate to the last detail upon request. A vast list of successful events of any type that took place as reference is available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xenia Ouranopolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xenia Ouranopolis Ouranoupolis
Xenia Ouranopolis Hotel Ouranoupolis
Xenia Ouranopolis Halkidiki/Ouranoupolis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing