We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ambar Beach
Nearby Hotels
US$285
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Iberostar Playa Gaviotas(Playa de Jandia)
US$294
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
H10 Tindaya(Costa Calma)
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (1,645)
Filter reviews
1,645 results
Traveller rating
336
630
378
187
114
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
336
630
378
187
114
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmorro jablesnack baranimation teampastathe air conditioning unitsoft drinkssea viewbus serviceambar beachfood on offerkids poolplenty of sun loungersbuffet stylebad pointspuddingfussy eatersteep walk
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 1,645 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2011

its over an hour drive from the airport on the bus but at least you get to see some of the island. the hotel is set about 300 metres downhill to the lovely sandy beach which has a public toilet and a bar and sailing boats for hire, sea temp is around 22 degrees c so warm enough for a swim. the hotel has really nice views of the mountains and the beach. there are 2 pools for adults and 1 for children clean and good sizes. plenty of sunbeds around the pool. the rooms are large and clean and tidy and have all the basics air con, safe, hairdryer, tv, telephone, fridge and 2 showers and bath nice size. the all inclusive food on offer had a good selection for even the fussy eaters. the entertainment at night was good most nights. the guests are made from all countries so very few english but not a problem. good value for money recommended. dont forget your sun screen cos i burnt.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank wendy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I have just returned from a week in Fuertaventura with my best friend and her husband all of us 25. Cannot fault the hotel it was always clean and tidy and the maid service in the rooms was excellent tidying up behind us! This hotel is definately more popular with the German and Italian guests and therefore the evening entertainment is more catered for them and the 'animation team' made minimal effort to interact with the English guests. Definately recommend a good pair of flat shoes to explore the resort - our rooms were in the 1000 block and had to walk the equivalant of 12 flights of stairs up to the pools, bar and restaurant. The walk to the beach is an experience in itself down the slopes of cliff side but definately worth it by the time you've caught your breath at the bottom with golden sands and crystal clear waters although it would appear for some of the sun worshippers on the beach clothes are not an option!!!! The food on offer was a bit repeatative and again mostly catered for the german guests however if you like pasta with your chips you can't go wrong!!! The dessert choice is slightly limited though but did enjoy my daily jelly and ice cream. The alcohol selection on offer in the bar is good and recommendnthe peach schnapps ;) The hotel in itself is slightly isolated so definately recommend renting a car in order to explore the island couldn't beleive price of petrol 70 cents a litre! All in all i had lovely relaxing week and well worth a visit!

Room Tip: Wouldn't pay the extra for sea view unless you fancy the daily hike from your room to hotel facilities
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a lovely 2 week holiday at the Ambar Beach Resort & Spa. The hotel is A+ in our mind as we wanted a quiet restful break and that is exactly what we got. On arrival at the hotel (which was around 10pm) the receptionist was very friendly and check in was quck and easy. Our room was lovely with the most stunning view overlooking the beach and the sea beyond. The restaurant was excellent and the choice of food was amazing and my husband was spoilt for choice !!. The hotel caters mainly for german and italian but I was always told that if a hotel has german clientel then the hotel is a GOOD ONE and that it certainly is. The whole of the staff were polite friendly and always said Hello etc when they saw you. The Manager and his staff of this hotel are to be comended for running what I would call a beautiful hotel with a beautful pool amazing staff and being so spotlessly clean. Both my husband and myself could not fault this hotel on anything at all and are definately going to book again to return next year. AMAZING HOLIDAY

Room Tip: ask for a sea/garden view and you get the best of both
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuzyQ73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

My wife and I visited Fuerteventura in August 2011, and after a long long transfer eventually arrived at the Ambar Beach. Check in was great; we were asked to drop our bags, and head off to the dining room for something to eat. Bearing in mind it was late at night, this was excellent, with a good variety of cold cuts and salad to choose from, and wine or beer to wash it down with.
Our room, which was booked as a double double, actually turned out to be a double one and a half, with two large singles pushed together. It was OK, but not quite what we expected. The room was a good size, well furnished, and fairly clean. We had an ok view, with a bit of sea. The bathroom was good if a little tired, with a bath plus shower over, and a separate shower cubicle.
The hotel itself consists of a main building, with restaurant, and bar, and outside there are the pools and pool bar. Off to one side is the snack bar and kids pool. All the rooms are arranged in blocks leading downhill from the hotel. Not sure I’d want to be in one of the furthest away, as the hill was quite steep.
About five minutes walk down a rough path takes you to the beach, which was nice and clean, golden sand and had toilet and changing facilities, a couple of snack bars, and a watersports centre.
Food at the hotel I found to be good, with a big choice of hot or cold, salads, fish, pasta, meat dishes, desserts, cheese. Every day there was a different selection, which kept us happy. There were red, white, rose wine and beer taps in the restaurant, and you could help yourself as often as you wanted. Or tea and coffee if you prefer. Excellent restaurant staff, kept the place clean, clearing tables quickly and properly. The only issue was that outside of the dining times, apart from a short snack period in the afternoon, there was nowhere to get anything to eat, or indeed anywhere for kids to get ice cream…
Pool area was ok, if a little spoiled by the usual sunbed bookers. The pool bar was good as well, if a little overrun at times. Just about adequate given the number of rooms.
Entertainment was dire. This ranged from the “snake” show, which was a snake lady hanging snakes round peoples necks, to the sketch show, which was haphazard rubbish by the animation team. All the entertainment was ruined by the need to bellow out everything that was happening on stage over the PA system in English, German, Spanish, Italian and then French, so that the effect was just to drown out any comedy or entertainment value completely. They would be better off sticking to music, dance or mime, which requires no commentary. To add to the issue, the only place you could get a drink post dinner was the bar in the stage area, so you had to put up with queuing in the same noisy awful din. Next time I go AI I will be seeking out somewhere with more bar areas. Not sure if this is an English thing, but I quite enjoy a nice quiet few drinks after dinner, watch the sun go down, chill out. Not have to listen to shrieking pointless translatory commentary rubbish every evening. On one occasion my wife and I sat in the dining room for a couple of hours after dinner, playing cards, reading, and refilling our glasses from the wine taps, just to avoid having to suffer the entertainment. Best evening of the week, although I would have preferred the option of a proper bar area. Not much to ask for 4 star I would have thought.
Cocktail night at the pool bar was weird. The pool bar opened for the one night only, and the staff filled up about 500 shot glasses with various nasty things, and just left you to it…No music or anything…how strange. After the first dozen or so, strangely we were less bothered by the lack of music…..
Only book here if you are happy to stay in the hotel. There really isn’t anything anywhere near worth walking to. The nearest town is a good 15 minute trot, and there’s nothing much to see or do. There is a small shop on site with limited opening hours.
So, in a nutshell. Good hotel, good food, ok rooms. Bad entertainment. Only one bar in the evening. Middle of nowhere. Long transfer. Oh and did I mention the awful entertainment?
I should mention the staff; they were the best and happiest of anywhere I have been. Always smiling, always speak to you. Excellent.

Room Tip: Get a room near the main building, the ones further down the hill are a drag, especially when it's hot
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank neekbaldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

This is a hotel ideal for a quiet break from it all.

Food & Drink - The all inclusive was very good. There was plenty of choice on the main meals, with meat, fish and vegetables. Desserts were limited and were what let the food down, Angel delight, Jelly, Sponge cake etc. But some fantastic ice cream was always available. Breakfast choice Fried, Continental, Cereals etc. With three choices of coffee at breakfast, Freshly ground, Instant (out the machine) or an urn of coffee. The soft drinks were good, seemed to be original Coke-Cola and Fanta. There was also a choice of Beer, wine and local spirits (not for breakfast though!).

Room - Our room was very large, compared to what we've had previously. We had a balcony (no sea view). I'm not sure if many of their rooms have a sea view as the rooms are on a hill with a very shallow incline, each set behind the other. The TV only had two English channels CNN and CBS. But a plus was the heavy black out curtain and air con that worked like a dream. The bathroom had a stand alone shower and a tub with a shower over it. We preferred to use the later. There was a large safe for €2/day. So large I could've brought my laptop and some DVD's.

Pools & Facilities - Two outside pools, unheated. There was someone cleaning these virtually every day. One is shallower for the kids. There were plenty of loungers around the pool. You can get towels specifically for the pool/beach from the reception for a €10 refundable deposit. €1 each time you want to change it for a clean one. There is also an internal pool and Jacuzzi. Two Saunas are available from 4 till 8, we would get a glass of beer to enjoy in the Sauna then run from the Sauna to the pool! Great fun. There is a mini Gym, but if you are a gym bunny don't expect much. The equipment seemed a bit token. Two each of running machines, cross trainers and bikes. But some of the digital displays on these didn't work. There was a weight bench with a bar bell and no more than 30 Kilos in weights. There was also a Multigym machine, but it was limited and cheap. There are also two Billiard tables, a Fusball table and an air-hockey table. €1 a go.

Location - The hotel is an hour and a half from the airport! But...for this you do get a quiet break, beautiful beaches and no tacky tourism. You have a lovely beach at the bottom of the hotel (the walk is probably not suitable for the elderly or small children). There are also other beautiful beaches a short bus ride away, where they do kite surfing and wind surfing but also good for swimming.

Entertainment - There is an Animation team and during the day there were things going on if you wanted to get involved. Pool aerobics, Cocktail games, Archery etc. During the evening the hotel lays on entertainment. The usual fair: Singers, Snake shows, Bird shows and Acrobats. One or two of these were fantastic (especially the magic/circus show) but otherwise pretty bland. The Animation team did also try to do some entertainment before the shows but it seemed a bit half-hearted. So we enjoyed our drinks and played cards. One big disappointment was NO DANCING!!! The music was very poor, no dancing atmosphere at all. C'est la vie.

We enjoyed this holiday, it was just what we needed a quiet break with good food, sunshine and lovely pools.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Puddings_pies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews