We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Unusual Stay”
Review of Little Broom

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maugersbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Little Broom
Ranked #1 of 1 Maugersbury B&B and Inns
Canby, Oregon
Level Contributor
379 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“An Unusual Stay”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Little Broom B&B in Maugersbury a short walk from Stow on the Wold was an unusual stay for us. Our host, Brenda greeted us with the news that she needed to be away for a horse activity and that her daughter would see to us in the morning. Directions to the out of the way house made it fairly easy to find, but with the heavy rain we never got to walk to the village, but had to drive. Being alone in the house (no host, but there were other guests) was slightly off-putting and on the two nights we stayed (cold and wet days) we certainly missed that the there couldn't be a fire in the lovely lounge fireplace, although our room was very nice. Brenda's daughter did a good job with the breakfasts in the morning and made us feel more comfortable with the situation. Definitely not a bad stay, just unusual.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    16
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
39
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Mountains Usa
Level Contributor
284 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Little Broom was a delightful stay for us. We enjoyed the accommodations. Brenda makes you feel at home, has all the local information and details you need and it's in a beautiful part of Wales. From greeting to departure, it was a most enjoyable experience and one we'd do again if we get the chance.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stumpy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Very nice property on the outskirts of Stow-on-the-Wold in Maugersbury - a 10 minute walk to downtown Stow (you don't have to worry about trying to find a place to park that way). And, speaking of parking, there's plenty of parking in the back, so that's a definite plus (some B&B's only have parking on the street and Cotswold village streets are very narrow - so narrow in fact that most people fold in their street-side mirror when they park!)

The owner Brenda was lovely and very accommodating. Breakfast was delicious and filling. There's a heated pool, although we didn't think to bring our swimsuits. We stayed in the stable end apartment - it had a bathroom, bedroom, and sitting area. The bed was comfortable and the water pressure was good.

Brenda gave us a driving list of the Cotswold villages. It's created in such a way that, if you follow the order, you go from one village to another in a circle route. Also, the Cotswold roads are well labeled - when you leave one village, you won't have trouble finding the next one.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeeingTheWorld701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2013

A thoroughly enjoyable stay for our family at Little Broom, the B&B was well signposted from nearby Stow. The property is a gorgeous Cotswold stone house, a short walk from Stow. Rooms were clean and pleasant with a good breakfast cooked to order.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We had a Family Reunion at Little Broom with 8 adults and 5 youngsters. We practically took the place over! Brenda was really helpful, and we loved all the facilities - especially the swimming pool. There is lots to do around the area, and there was never a dull moment. The children thought they were in paradise!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dem_wotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmaus, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

This B&B is located off the beaten path and can be difficult to find, but worth the effort. Brenda, the host, was very helpful with our plans. She made dinner reservations for us and helped us with our next B&B in Bath.
We stayed in the Garden Room with a large bathroom and an attached sunroom which was great for relaxing and watching TV. As an added touch, we had fresh fruit and a refridgerator available in the room.
Breakfast was served in a small dining room, which was very nice. Brenda had a nice variety of choice for breakfast and it was very well done.
We would recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: Recomend the Garden room which has a spacious sunroom attached
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pmars43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We were very much on a budget for a spontaneous weekend in the Cotswolds. Accommodation is notoriously expensive in the area so our expectations were not high given the competitive price. Our expectations were very much exceeded our host was extremely friendly and accommodating, offering to pick us up from the village if we were stranded by the rain and supplying torches for our walk back from the village of Stow on the wold (only a 6 minute walk). Room was quaint, clean and had everything you would need plus a couple of extra touches. Brenda is a natural host and is helpful in every way. A real treat in the heart of the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cougarclift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maugersbury
0.4 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stow Lodge Hotel
Stow Lodge Hotel
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
319 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Bell at Stow
The Bell at Stow
#1 of 21 in Stow-on-the-Wold
341 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Porch House
The Porch House
#3 of 21 in Stow-on-the-Wold
477 reviews
0.4 mi away
"B"
"B"
#7 of 21 in Stow-on-the-Wold
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Broom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Broom

Property: Little Broom
Address: Maugersbury, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold > Maugersbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Maugersbury
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Little Broom Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing