We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RETURN-OH YES”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Bayahibe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“RETURN-OH YES”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

With 7 A'la Carte retaurants and no line to join to book, it is wonderful. The whole Hotel,staff,food,entertainment,beach, are all spot on, I could not fault anything. I made the mistake of going to the Jolly Beach Resort in Antigua three weeks ago, never again. Seaside Suites in Riveria Mayo, Mexico was good, but the Dreams has the edge I can't praise it enough.

Room Tip: The room we were allocated was fine, no complaints.2nd floor with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,796
    2,689
    953
    278
    159
See reviews for
3,816
4,779
125
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,253)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Painesville, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

When we started planning our trip to the Caribbean we had a variety of things to consider. My wife wanted an AI so we could relax, I wanted a place not as commercial as Cancun or Punta Cana, plus we were taking our 2 girls, 7 and 4, and finally, of course price. This place was the perfect combination for us. The grounds were absolutley beautiful and the staff were wonderful. Since we were taking the kids the Explorers Club was important to us and they were amazing! I have to mention Joly and Georgi as being the sweetest girls (the other girls were great too, but we got to know these 2) and our girls loved them and couldn't wait to go to it every day. It freed us up to go snorkeling together, chill on the beach and allowed us some quiet meals at the nicer restaurants.

The beach was beautiful and the water a wonderful shade of blue and calm (again good for kids) and there are a couple of places to snorkel right off the beach, which was really cool. It's adjacent to the public beach and it was an easy walk into the village of Bayahibe for some local flavor.There was, however security there, so no one was allowed onto the Dreams beach unless a guest. For some reason, one day several boatloads of cruise ship passengers invaded the resort. It was like Jersey Shore with a bunch of loud spring breakers there to see how much booze they could swill getting very obnoxious. I have no idea what management is thinking allowing that.

The food was good, but not great. We didn't care much for the buffet but there are other options. The Seaside Grill is good for breakfast and lunch, the burgers by the beach OK (needed more side though) and the pizza by the pool not bad. We liked the ala carte restaurants in the evening, Bordeaux was very good and the Asian place Himitsu was surprisingly good (didn't expect good Asian in the DR).

The daytime entertainment was there if you wanted to participate, however we were there to lay in the sun, swim and snorkel so we didn't do much and they didn't pressure you to do so. The evening entertainment was not that great, but again we didn't go there for that. One of my few complaints is how loud the music was in the evening. I didn't need to hear them lip synching Michael Jackson (or other bad music) at 1000 decibels until 11:00 at night. A good reggae band or some steel drums would have been much more appropriate.

I don't know that we would come back, just because there are a lot of other parts of the Caribbean we want to visit. If we do, we'll wait until the new freeway is completed or fly into La Romana. We knew it was a long trip from Punta Cana to Bayahibe, but it was worse than I expected. I would however reccomend it, especially if you're bringing children. Just know what to expect, beautiful grounds, wonderful staff, great beach with easy access to snorkeling and plentiful, decent (not gourmet) food at a good price.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Hola! March 03 to 18/2012! I would like to start by saying that ALL,ALL of the staff are hard working,joyful,proud and genuine people.Reception Desk: Victor Baez- hard working and very helpful.Concierge Desk:Mario and Food Manager: Juan Pierre for making my birthday very special! Lobby Bar:Mary,mi amigo.Beach Bar TEAM:Antonio,Claus,Ariele,Donna,Carolyn,Evelyn.Spa:Jose, Again,Congratulation!You will find Jose dress in white shirt and creme pants going up and down the beach NOT the all creme dress people that are standing around all over.Gri-Gri divers/water sports Ricki look for him around beach bar area for tours and ask him aout AQUANAUTUS or take a 3-5 min walk down beach and visit Gri-Gri for yourself and see video for Aquanautus ask for our very dear friend Pedro!Entertainment TEAM:Pablo Picasso,Carmello,Eddie Murphy,Andy,Coca-Cola,James Bond,Yonilka and the rest of the TEAM!!!Wedding CoordinatorTEAM:JennyGoicechea/Yanna Guzman put your trust in them!Being our 4th time at DREAMS we have seen alot of weddings but this time we got to experience one and has my son says Magical!! THANK YOU ALLLL! for making it another EXCELLENTE! Experience!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshinesudbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havant, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We have just returned from a week at this resort, in our group was my wife Hazel, our two boys aged 8 and 5 and myself. We have travelled extensively as a family and have been lucky enough to have at least one sometimes two exotic holidays a year together, so we consider ourselves quite well travelled and able to give an experienced review.

I can honestly say that the Dreams La Romana is by far one of the nicest resorts in every way we have ever visited. The whole experience was a delight made perfect by the ever helpful and pleasant staff.

The resort is maintained to the highest standards and the grounds, beach and pools are all immaculately cleaned.

The food choices are superb with choices for all tastes, but could do a little more for younger guests.

The entertainment tem top off a wonderful resort and all do so much to ensure the guests are kept happy, even if you don't want to join in they respect your space.

Overall a top resort, we have never returned to a hotel or destination we have ever visited, but have agreed Dreams La Romana is a place we will go back to.

A special thank you goes out to Alex "Capachinlo" one of the entertainment team, just a great person with time for everyone.

Thanks to you all.

Room Tip: Take a mask and snorkel for the sea as you can get them from the resort free to hire, but limited ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neil_and_Hazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We honeymooned at Dreams La Roma for 2 weeks in August/September, and it was pure relaxation! Bliss! My husband had surprised me by booking us into the preferred club - and I'm really glad that he did if only for the use of the separate pool as the activities and noise at the main pool and beach just aren't our cup of tea and not what we want from a honeymoon.

Arrival - Glass of bubbly and wet flannels on arrival and an extremely quick check in - in our room after 10 minutes of arrival. Bottle of bubbly and a plate of fruit in our room waiting for us.

Room - Lovely room. Comfortable bed, lovely bathroom and amenities. Nice décor. Fantastic air con. Safety deposit box which you can choose the password. Fridge stocked with beer, coke, sprite, fanta and water and is refilled daily. Laundry service - we used to clean a few items before coming home. Very fast service. Daily newsletter which explains the activities planned for the following day and which restaurants are open and the cocktail of the day!. Our room overlooked the preferred pool.

Food and drink - We really enjoyed the food at the restaurant - it was much better than we had expected. Our favourite was La Patio Mexican, and we liked having lunch at the Seaside grill. We enjoyed the food at all the restaurants we visited (the only one we didn't go to was the Jungle). The breakfast at the buffet was really good and plenty of choice. We had Champagne breakfast in bed on one occasion which was a lovely treat. We ordered room service on a couple of occasions - on one occasion the food was cold.
We liked visiting the coffee shop to take a break from the heat.

Staff - The staff at the hotel work extremely hard and we always had excellent service. We arrived just after Hurricane Irene had visited and the beach was closed while the staff worked on getting back up to scratch - cleaning etc. The hotel is very clean, there are always people cleaning and the staff are always friendly and happy to help. The bar staff were excellent, and we enjoyed the waiter service at the beach.

Pool - We only used the preferred pool, but it was a very relaxing area. I'm very fair so shade is important to me and we had no problems getting an umbrella. The waiter service at the pool was a nice touch.

Preferred club area- We liked the snacks and enjoyed drinks at the preferred area. We had breakfast here on a few occasions if we didn't fancy a big breakfast. We also enjoyed the games they supplied. It was nice being able to use the internet for free although it was temperamental.

Trips - We only went on one trip as we found them to be quite expensive. We went to Santa Domingo. I'm glad we went, it's not one of my favourite cities but it was nice to get out of the resort 'bubble' for a day.

Hotel location - although i had a fantastic relaxing honeymoon I found that after a week I was itching to get out of the resort. This was the first resort type holiday that we have been on so wasn't sure if we'd enjoy it.

Spa - we had a full body massage. Not the best I've experienced but was still very relaxing.

All in all we had a fantastic time and the hotel is and staff were excellent. The weather when we arrived was a little overcast which I really liked as it wasn't scorching. As the week progressed it got a lot hotter!! We saw a couple of storms, quite impressive and a few rain showers that never lasted long and were quite refreshing. A couple we met said that during hurricane Irene they had a few days of non stop rain so we were lucky to have missed that.

Great hotel perfect for a honeymoon - but push the boat out and book the preferred club!!

Room Tip: preferred club!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Curly82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

There are a lot of very critical reviews on trip advisor about this hotel, but hey you cant please everyone!!The hotel is often described as a 5* but it is more like a 4* and this is reflected in the price. Me & my boyfriend stayed here in september 2010 for 2 weeks and absolutely loved it, so much that were going again in august 2012!!
The hotel is about an hour n half from punta cana airport which is a great drive as you get to see the real dom rep, not just the all inclusive resorts. But there is a airport in la romana for those who arnt bothered. We arrived at the hotel and were really impressed everything was modern decor, light and open. Check in was super quick - we were in our room within 20 mins of arriving. We were really happy with the bedroom (we stayed in one of the renovated blocks) the decor was lovely, spacious rooms, lovely bathroom etc etc cant fault the room. A nice touch is that daily you get a news letter with weather forecast, activities, restaurants open etc which was a great.
The hotel itself is really clean, big and well maintained. All pool areas are clean and have really comfy sun loungers and plenty of them!!the grounds have beautiful plants and flamingos etc making it a really pretty resort. All the restaurants were beautiful and the food we ate whilst there was all gorgeous (no sickness) , you must try the la romana fish fingers from the seaside grill!we always ate at the restaurants rather than the buffet for main meals although the buffet is excellent. even the room service is great and quick.The drinks are great all brand drinks and they are never shy on the measures - malibu cocktail is the best. Staff at the hotel were always helpful and made sure you were always having a good time both day and night whether thats aqua aerobics or shotting mamajuana :). The beach isnt huge but a beach is a beach and its a beautiful one at that.
Overall this is one of the nicest hotel i have been to and we had a great time (hence going back) and i would advise and reccomend anyone to go.

Room Tip: Pick one of the rennovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westwood, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We just returned from one of the most relaxing vacations we've ever taken (and we travel a lot!). Spent a week at Dreams La Romana with my husband, two children under 6 and my parents. I was immediately impressed by the warm welcome at the resort, friendliness of the staff and the quick check-in. The reason for the family vacation was to celebrate my mother's 65th birthday and I mentioned this to the reservations manager when I called to confirm my vacation plans. I was so pleasantly suprised to find that my parents' hotel room was decorated with dozens of balloons and a "happy bday" banner on the door --- what a nice welcome!! Thank you, Federico!!

The rooms were nice, the beach beautiful, the pools clean and very well serviced, the grounds immaculate! We tried ALL 7 restaurants and had a pleasant experience in all of them. Each restaurant is uniquely decorated to match the cuisine is represents, the menu is varied and the food great! It was nice to have such a variety of dining choices every night with no wait and no need for reservations.

The best part about the resort, though, was the Kids' Club! I don't have enough words to thank all the amazing ladies working at the Explorer Club (Joly, Yaya and Clary) for the great care they took of my two boys! They had an amazing time, filled with a lot of fun activities (cooking lessons, tennis lessons, movie nights, camping on the beach, etc...) and we got to relax knowing they were in great, capable hands.

The resort activities were also quite diverse and readily available, the nightly entertainment excellent, the water sports on premises many to choose from.

We honestly have no complain about this resort, other that it was a bit far from Punta Cana, where we landed. Yet from what we gathered, there's a new highway under construction, which should be ready by this summer and that might make the airport transfers much quicker and more direct. That, in itself, will ensure our return to this resort!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ralu_Minea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayahibe
7.4 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
2.8 mi away
Dreams Dominicus La Romana
34.7 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.9 mi away
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
#13 of 112 in Punta Cana
11,189 reviews
35.3 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
23.2 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa

Property: Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
Address: Bayahibe 22000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Spa Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 Green Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a world of pristine beaches, lush tropical jungle and turquoise sea on the southeast coast of the Dominican Republic, Dreams La Romana is the perfect resort for singles, couples and families. Unlimited Luxury Enjoy the many amenities of Unlimited-Luxury at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, where nearly everything is included. Every gourmet meal, every fine wine and cocktail, and so much more. At Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, these amenities include: •Elegant accommodations with incredible views •Gourmet dining at eleven specialty restaurants •24-hour room service •Unlimited top-shelf spirits at seven festive bars and lounges •All day and nighttime activities and entertainment •Option to upgrade to Preferred Club privileges •Free WiFi and international calling with Unlimited Connectivity (coming soon) •Full breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks •Unlimited natural fruit juices and soft drinks •Unlimited international and domestic top-shelf spirits •Complimentary mini-bar refreshed daily with soft drinks, juices, bottled water and beer •24-hour room service •Specialty restaurants with no reservations required •Themed parties, oceanfront bars and entertainment venues •Pristine swimming pools •Pool and beach wait service •Endless daytime activities and live nightly entertainment •Explorer's Club for kids with supervised activities •Core Zone Teens Club with teen activities •Fitness center •No wristbands required •All taxes and gratuities Unlimited Top-Shelf Spirits Enjoy international and domestic top-shelf spirits, fine wines and ice-cold beer at any of our seven bars and lounges. Then keep the party going with 24-hour room service and your own complimentary mini-bar. All of your favorite drinks are served without limit or expected gratuities at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa. World-Class Spa Indulge and invigorate your senses with a day in the Dreams Spa by Pevonia. Spanning more than 21,000 square feet, the on-site spa at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa offers a la carte treatment options ranging from the traditional to transcendent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams La Romana Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Hotel Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing