We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Bayahibe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

I was at dreams resort 10/16-10/21 very nice resort! The beach party every afternoon was entertaining and the food on the beach was delicious! Mr Eddy Murphy was pleasant to talk to as he gave us all the information about what was going to be happening in the resort as far as entertainment! The food was good! The bartenders friendly! The night club was good but the DJ did not play a variety of music unless instructed. The pool activities were fun! All in all it was a fun trip! For the evening shoes I asked for the Michael Jackson show! I was told dreams resort don't show Michael Jackson show out of respect!!!! That is the best SHOW ever!!! They need to bring it back!! Other than that loved la romana!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elsa2048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Trip Advisor response to - elsa2048

Date of review - 23rd November 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to serve you during your time here at Dreams La Romana and we appreciate the time you have taken to post a review of your time with us.

We are so pleased that once again we have met with your expectations, and we are very grateful for all of your feedback,

We hope we have the opportunity to be your hosts again in the future

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11,397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,746 - 4,752 of 11,399 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

This resort was soooo much fun!!! We loved the food, the location, the pools and most of all; the DRINKS!! Luis (main lobby bartender) started my wife and I off with a mama juana shot...and kept them coming. It was perfect, he took our orders and made great conversation. Carlos we met the next day when we came back to see Luis, his high energy and chi chi ka ka bocka drink was delicious. My wife and I will come back just to hang out with them! Amazing time and they made our trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VladimirEtienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Trip Advisor response to - VladimirEtienne

Date of review - 22nd November 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for allowing our wonderful resort to be your hosts during your vacation and we are extremely grateful that you have posted a review of your stay with us.

It is so great to hear that the effort and hard work of the staff mentioned, helped make you stay with us even more enjoyable, and I will make sure they are both aware of your great feedback

We hope we have the pleasure of serving you again in the future,

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We have just returned from a two week holiday at Dreams and wow did it live up to it's name. Check In was quick and efficient and within no time we were shown to our room in Block 5. And what a lovely, clean, spacious room it was with a fairly large balcony overlooking the main pool. The main pool and the infinity pool were were both lovely areas also kept spotlessly clean and the bar and pizzeria were amazing. My favourite place to wile away the day was the beach, one of the best beaches I have had the pleasure to stay on and believe me we have stayed on a few. Lots of trees for natural shade if you want it and lovely clear crystal blue water. The bar and service was excellent and the snackbar was lovely, particularly on beach bbq day when the Entertainment Team had everyone up doing the merengue.
Restaurants - went to them all and they were all fantastic, food in all of them including the World Cafe was of a really high standard. Can't really pick my favourite because they were all so good so can only recommend them all!!
We were celebrating our Silver Wedding Anniversary whilst here and my husband had booked Dreams Corner with the E-Concierge Louise in advance. What a wonderful experience on the day from the champagne breakfast brought to our room in the morning to the day by a lovely private pool being served by our own extra tentative and friendly waiter. He kept us in constant drinks, served our lunch and just gave us that extra to make our day special - thanks Victor!!
The Entertainment Team worked unbelievably hard, doing all the games etc during the day and putting on the most professional shows at night that we have ever seen in a hotel. If you're going don't miss the 4 Elements Show - it was brilliant.
I could write a book on the many amazing things about this hotel and I cannot understand any review that rates it poorly - perhaps these people should stay at home!
Thank you Dreams and whatever it is you are doing, keep doing it!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRACKIELILY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Trip Advisor response to - TRACKIELILY

Date of review - 22nd November 2013

Dear Guest,

It is such an honor for us that you chose Dreams La Romana to be you holiday destination and we express our sincere gratitude that you have taken the time to write a review of your experience with us.

We are delighted that we surpassed your expectations and we appreciate all of your great feedback, we are happy you were satisfied with your allocated room, and we are glad you enjoyed the use of our pools and our stunning beach,

We are pleased to hear that during your time with us you enjoyed our delicious food selection, and we will certainly pass on your feedback about our entertainment team and the shows they produce, I am sure they will be thrilled!

Lets hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This resort was in general and overall very good. We had a great holiday overall. The negatives, although few, put an un necessary stress on the holiday.

For starters, after having a 12 hour day from start to finish, I was extremely disappointed with the service when we checked in... There was no warm welcome glass of champagne as so many people on here state... Why didn't we get ours? We didn’t get anything; we were just shown straight to the Reception desk.

The resort was very well maintained, and staff extremely friendly. The resort however was slightly dated, with the rooms having a slight musky smell and shower tiles a bit grubby.

The worst part of this hotel for me though was the horrendous paper thin walls... It was absolutely IMPOSSIBLE to get a good nights sleep in this hotel! After complaining numerous times we were eventually moved to a quieter location, in the preferred area but in my opinion, every single customer, whether they are in the preferred club or not, should still have a good, peaceful room.

I would also like to mention that your restaurants state a strict dress code policy for men, however it was disappointing that when my boyfriend made the effort to follow this policy, there were fellow diners in jeans and flip flops.

Food overall I cannot fault… the jerk chicken in the seaside grill was fantastic!

I can’t complain too much about this hotel and the majority of it was perfect, but the no drink/greeting on arrival didn’t give a good first impression and the paper thin walla really do need to be addressed as I see so many people on here complain about it.

2 years ago we stayed at Now Larimar and although I shouldn’t compare, I have to be honest and say overall Now Larimar is a much newer, slicker resort (although it is in the same chain of hotels as Dreams La Romana).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annabanna_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Trip Advisor response to - annabanna_3

Date of review - 22nd September 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for all of your feedback regarding your stay at our wonderful resort, we are delighted and honored that you allowed Dreams La Romana to be your hosts during your vacation.

We are so pleased to hear that overall you had a great holiday with us, we also thank you for bringing some issues you encountered to our attention, this will only help us to make improvements in the future. Regarding your arrival, I am sure this was just an oversight that you were not offered champagne and we apologize that your expectation was not met.

We are very pleased to learn that we were able to move you to a room which was more to your satisfaction

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

It would be our pleasure to serve you again should you return to us in the future,

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

As soon as we arrived at the resort, we were greeted with champagne and everyone welcomed us "home". The grounds are meticulously kept and pools are pristine. The beach is very nice with lots of soft, white sand! There were many European vactationers here so lots of different languages spoken, but generally most of the staff spoke at least some, if not very good English. The service is definitely worth bragging about here. A few people who really stood out include our Preferred Club concierge, Marsha, our Preferred Club pool bartender, Carlos Gil, and our breakfast waiter at the World Cafe, Benny. They all went above and beyond to make sure we were feeling pampered on this amazing vacation. The atmosphere was always warm, friendly, and relaxing!

Room Tip: the preferred club upgrade was worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Trip Advisor response to - Ashley E

Date of review -21st November 2013

Dear Ashley,

Thank you for allowing Dreams La Romana to be your hosts during your vacation and we thank you kindly for posting a review of your stay with us.

We are so pleased to learn that your time with us exceeded your expectations, and we appreciate all of your feedback, I will absolutely pass on your kind comments to those staff mentioned who helped make your time with us even more memorable.

We hope we have the opportunity to serve you once again in the future

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We just came back from 4 nights at Dreams, and hated to leave. The place is pretty, with palm trees, beaches, and blue water, just beautiful...
It is rather large, and in certain areas there are lots of people about. It is definitely worth the extra few $$ to stay in the preferred section... much quieter. But that said, you have to be willing to explore the whole place, as the restaurants in the preferred section are only half the story. We waited 1/2 hr for dinner at Portofino, the Italian restaurant, and could have walked to the other side of the complex and eaten at the World Café, which has a rather nice buffet. We did the extra-price lobster buffet the first night, which was tasty and quaint, right on the beach. The food in general is good, though not gourmet, but the service is superb.
The drinks are top shelf, and don't be afraid to ask a bar-tender to prepare his own specialty, which gives them a nice challenge, and you will get a nice surprise. My favorite was one that the bartender called kryptonite... green and potent.
Actually, what attracted us to Dreams was the snorkeling. If you go the the right of the beach, and swim around the pier, there is some coral which is home to myriads of fish. A great way to spend a few hours. The shore on the other side of the pier is a bit rocky, so it is easier to enter from the beach sand, but you can get out pretty easily right by the pier. There is a snorkel boat tour from the dive desk for $20, and a snorkel cruise to Catalina for $55. Unfortunately we did not do either of those, because we had booked a Catalina tour through the tour desk which was a bit more $$ and was more island than snorkeling, though the reef we did stop at was superb.

Another highlight of our time at dreams was the spa, where we got a great Swedish massage.

Other fun stuff we did: Water aerobics... bike tour on some very funky bikes, kayaking (a bit of a workout), and a rather adventurous sail on their Hobie cat. The equipment in all cases reflected the Dominican culture, but it was fun.

Could have stayed much longer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xdisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Trip Advisor response to - xdisney

Date of review - 21st November 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you kindly for taking the time to post a review of your experience here at Dreams La Romana, we are delighted you allowed us to be your hosts during your vacation

It is a great honor for us that you enjoyed your time at our wonderful resort, and we also wish you could have stayed with us longer!

Thank you for all of your feedback and we hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed at dreams la romana for one week for our wedding. We had 16 guests and it was fantastic! Everyone was pleased with their rooms and service. The food was good, what was to be expected from an all inclusive. The activities were great, there was always something to do. The resort is huge and is very well kept and has such a airy feel. The casino was a big hit and the disco is fun, for a few nights. The wedding was PERFECT! Our weather was the best we could have asked for, Yanna, our wedding coordinator, was amazing and very accommodating. The beach gazebo location was the most seclusive and beautiful, you didn't realize you were at a resort. The dj, bar service and food was excellent. I would recommend this resort for groups, WEDDINGS and just to have a good time. The concierge was extremely helpful with any excursions we wanted to do. I would definitely return to this resort. The preferred club is worth the extra $$$.

Room Tip: building 7 is where we stayed, the most quiet building. it is on the far side of the resort so if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Trip Advisor response to - Devon B

Date of review - 21st November 2013

Dear Devon,

We are so honored that you choose to host your wedding here at Dreams La Romana and we are delighted that your big day was as beautiful as you hoped it would be,

We thank you so much for all of your great feedback and we will certainly pass on all of your kind comments to all of the relevant departments,

We do hope we have the opportunity to be your hosts once more in the future

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayahibe
2.6 mi away
Catalonia Royal La Romana
Catalonia Royal La Romana
#2 of 16 in Bayahibe
232 reviews
7.5 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
2.5 mi away
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Dreams Dominicus La Romana
3 mi away
Be Live Collection Canoa
Be Live Collection Canoa
#12 of 16 in Bayahibe
6,833 reviews
35.4 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa

Address: Bayahibe 22000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 Spa Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 Green Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range: £173 - £452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a world of pristine beaches, lush tropical jungle and turquoise sea on the southeast coast of the Dominican Republic, Dreams La Romana is the perfect resort for singles, couples and families. Unlimited Luxury Enjoy the many amenities of Unlimited-Luxury at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, where nearly everything is included. Every gourmet meal, every fine wine and cocktail, and so much more. At Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, these amenities include: •Elegant accommodations with incredible views •Gourmet dining at eleven specialty restaurants •24-hour room service •Unlimited top-shelf spirits at seven festive bars and lounges •All day and nighttime activities and entertainment •Option to upgrade to Preferred Club privileges •Free WiFi and international calling with Unlimited Connectivity (coming soon) •Full breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks •Unlimited natural fruit juices and soft drinks •Unlimited international and domestic top-shelf spirits •Complimentary mini-bar refreshed daily with soft drinks, juices, bottled water and beer •24-hour room service •Specialty restaurants with no reservations required •Themed parties, oceanfront bars and entertainment venues •Pristine swimming pools •Pool and beach wait service •Endless daytime activities and live nightly entertainment •Explorer's Club for kids with supervised activities •Core Zone Teens Club with teen activities •Fitness center •No wristbands required •All taxes and gratuities Unlimited Top-Shelf Spirits Enjoy international and domestic top-shelf spirits, fine wines and ice-cold beer at any of our seven bars and lounges. Then keep the party going with 24-hour room service and your own complimentary mini-bar. All of your favorite drinks are served without limit or expected gratuities at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa. World-Class Spa Indulge and invigorate your senses with a day in the Dreams Spa by Pevonia. Spanning more than 21,000 square feet, the on-site spa at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa offers a la carte treatment options ranging from the traditional to transcendent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams La Romana Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Hotel Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing