We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'' Our Sons Perfect Wedding ''”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Bayahibe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Ola !! lol, We just got back from the most amazing time, at Dreams La Romana for our son Marks wedding to Steph, we can only say that it was just so perfect in every way...the staff could not have done more for us, to make it such a special time for us all....there were 18 of us in our wedding party and we all had such a great time, nothing was too much trouble from any of your staff they all worked so hard to make sure we were always catered for, and the wedding was 'Magical' is the only words to describe it, we would like to thank Yana your wedding planner for doing a fantastic job for them, and all the staff on the day and eve, infact the whole time we were there, Benuamin, Jose' , Alexander, Henrry, Moises, Francisco, Maritza, and not forgetting Eddy Murphy, they are all stars !! the girls who clean the rooms, and everyone else who cant name but many thanks to them all.
As for the bad comments well don't listen...I do not know why they are saying such rubbish???? the food was fantastic...god knows why they are saying bad things ???? really odd, but please do not read the bad ones cos trust me they are all so very wrong, this is a lovely place and is a piece of paradise, don't hesitate .just go there you will not regret it !! thank all your staff from us, they all deserve 5 stars! Geoff & Ali from England.

Room Tip: we were in 5 section and was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Geoff

We are so pleased that your sons wedding day was everything you imagined and more, and we are truly honored to have hosted such a special occasion.

I will absolutely pass on your wonderful feedback to Yanna and the other staff members mentioned who helped to make not only the wedding but your entire stay a memorable one.

We hope to welcome you back again soon

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11,421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,387 - 4,393 of 11,423 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

There are many reviews of this property, so I thought I would just add my 5 cents on highlights and lowlights.
In my opinion, the best about this hotel is the beach. It is truly glorious with white soft sand and completely calm water appropriate for children of any age. However, this does not mean that there is no need for a lifeguard and there is NOT one. In fact, I myself have caught a 3 year old who slid from Wibit and could not hold herself on the water. Note that European parents are very laid back about letting their kids swim on their own regardless of their ability of lack of it.
Now, a quick summary on a 10 point scale:
Staff: 7 (we tipped non stop and the service was average and slow nevertheless)
Food: 9 (excellent food, esp appetizers in the evening, we went to every place and the Italian and Asian twice)
Beach: 10 (we ignored people saving chairs and just removed their towels)
Room: 6 (updated must be made, our room in bldg 3 was falling apart and the bedding was disgusting)
Entertainment: 7 (shows are average)
Kids club: 2 (my kids ages 9 and 4 refused to go after the 1st time there)
Feel free to email me with questions.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank malinkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest

We thank you for allowing our wonderful resort to be your hosts during your vacation and we are always thankful for the time our guests take to tell us about their experience

We are delighted you enjoyed the use of our beautiful beach and we are so happy you enjoyed our delicious food selection. We thank you for all of your feedback, positive and otherwise as this is an excellent way of making improvements in the future

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We miss Dreams already! There was truly something for everyone to do throughout the day. The Caribbean view from the beach is spectacular, and the waters are tranquil. In the water just off the pier, next to the Seaside Grill restaurant, is a great snorkeling spot. On the coral and rocks there we saw a huge variety of fish and sea urchins, and passed by sea stars in our short swim to get there. Our daughter marveled at it daily. Mask and fins are free with a $20 security deposit from Gri Gri Divers. We recommend the day excursion via catamaran to Saona Island. The island itself is not much different than the hotel grounds, but the trip there was lovely. On the way back by speed boat, we stopped at a natural pool which sea stars frequent. A beautiful spot.

The resort staff are wonderful. Our daughter thoroughly enjoyed the activities at the Explorers Club each day...they are wonderful with children. The Entertainment Team felt like family after a week. We especially appreciate Lookey Lookey for always encouraging us to get involved in the fun. Chocolate was our favorite dancer, and took the time to get to know us as friends. We will miss him!

At this resort, there is a wide variety of people from all over the world, which was fun for all of us. Our daughter made friends with children who communicated first in smiles, and then through gestures and words. As Dreams is a big draw for European families, there are more smokers than we were accustomed to, and more topless sunbathers, but after initial surprise, we no longer noticed.

The only downside we experienced was that all three of us shared a single room (a rollaway bed was brought in for our daughter), so not much alone time for parents. But with some planning and help from the Explorers Club, alone time is possible!

Next time, we'll fly directly into Punta Cana and take the one-hour cab ride here, rather than fly to La Romana, which required two stops and layovers.

We will be back! :)

Room Tip: We stayed in building five, which was very nice. Ask for the third floor for the best view; however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Jamey

We are so pleased to learn that your stay here at our beautiful hotel exceeded your expectations, and we are thrilled you have rated us 5 stars!!

We have enjoyed reading all of your great feedback and we will certainly pass on your comments to chocolate and lookey lookey who I am sure will be delighted!

Please come back and visit us soon!

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Great resort with great staff and beutiful location but 4 out of 6 in our group suffered with bad stomach cramps n diarrhea.other groups of tourists also complained about same issues. Something is definitely wrong somewhere. Been all over the Caribbean and never seen it as such a widespread issue.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saltybutsweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest

We are so pleased you chose our resort as your holiday destination and we very much appreciate the time you have take to share your experience.

We are very sorry to hear that some of your party fell poorly during your time with us and we certainly hope they are feeling better now, there are various reasons as to why people can fall poorly during a visit to a different country, changes in climate, differences in the oils food is cooked in, over exposure to the heat and sun, over indulgence of rich food and alcohol, amongst other things, we do appreciate you bringing any issues encountered to our attention as this is an excellent way of making improvements in the future

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Luis Sergio the bartender in the main lobby is the best person at the resort by far , he was so friendly and at times helpful with any concerns. His friendliness made our stay fun. We would recommend this resort to our friends. The waitress at the main lobby Sindy was also very friendly and approachable , she had our drinks ready before we ordered them . She is a special lady.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank 345_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest

We are delighted that you have rated our wonderful resort 5 stars, and we appreciate the time you have taken to tell us about your experience

We are so happy that your stay with us exceeded your expectations, and we will certainly pass on your kind comments to Luis Sergio and Sindy who I am sure will be delighted

We hope to welcome you back again soon

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Currently staying 4/16-4/23. Grounds beatiful, staff very friendly, room was decent, building number 5, second floor, newer room, no musty smell, thank goodness. End of hall no foot traffic, no noise defiantly a plus. Did check another room opposite building 5 first floor room was very very musty smelling.

Food: t e r r i b l e, terrible ter/rib/le anyway you want to say it or spell it, the food was terrible.

Great price, absolutely beautiful tropical grounds, well maintained, but the food dropped this rating down to a three, just average.

Room Tip: bldg. #5 request end unit to avoid traffic noise in the halls
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank camie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Just arrived home last night and we are eager to go back already. Some of the highlights are check in/out was easy, food selection was fabulous, you need to arrive between 6:00pm and 6:40pm at the a la carte restaurants to avoid waiting for a table (but it is really nice not to have to make a reservation) Our favorite was Oceana and the Italian. Never got to the French as no children are allowed in that one, but I heard many people enjoyed that one too. Beach was lovely and well maintained. 2 very large pools and 1 average size if your in the preferred club. Yes, quite hard after 9:00am to find a lounge chair at the pools or on the beach. whole resort is clean, clean, clean. I want to acknowledge the sweetest bartender ever, his name is Marino Gonsalez you can find him at the beach bar called the Sugar Reef bar. From day one he was very kind to my one son, then when he found out that we were celebrating my other son's 8th birthday and he made him a very special drink in a pineapple all dressed up with umbrella's--how lovely!! He was so attentive to all his guests and is truly an asset to the Dreams La Romana team. Also I have to mention Christina, at the same bar, it is fabulous to watch her make the drinks for her guests and she is always smiling along with Manuel. The activity's crew Eddie Murphy, Mr. Picaso and we can't forget Omega. Wow, the energy these guys have is commendable in that heat. They go around to try to get the guests motivated to participate in the activities and they do a great job. You can truly see they enjoy what they do. The food selection at the World Cafe buffet is great, some of the selections are a little on the cold side, but there are so many items to choose from you can always find something you'll enjoy. I read some of the other reviews regarding noise and yes if you are in building 4 it will be noisy since some of the nightly entertainment is held at the main poolside. However, we were in building 2 and it was great. Nice and quiet yet close to everything, you do have the occasional disrespectful guest(s) who are loud walking down the walkways, but that's the guest being ignorant to other people, not the hotel's problem. We had our extended family with us and we occupied rooms 2145, 2147 (April 8-15th) and 2149, 2151 (April 7-17). All were clean and nice inside. I can only say that 2149 needed a desperate bath tub repair, but when you see what the housekeepers do with the towel decorations and the overall cleanliness of the rooms I'm sure you'll be as pleased as we were. An commendation goes out to the housekeepers, they do a fabulous job making our stay comfortable. The housekeepers made a lovely decoration for our son's birthday too, he was so pleased and surprised. Most other resorts have timeshare people walking around bugging you, this place does NOT. Most other resorts have people walking the beach to sell you stuff and are rather pushy, this place does NOT. There are Gri Gri staff going around to help assist you with booking day trips, but they are not pushy at all. They are quite friendly and nice especially Juan and Ava. Both of them are very nice people. We will miss all of those named above and thanks for making our trip very enjoyable and memorable. Thanks Dreams La Romana, you made all our dreams come true and if we could we'd be on the next flight back.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms have sun in the morning, even numbers in building 4 will be the loudest as they f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank putus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for rating your stay here at our wonderful resort 5 stars! That is a great honor for us and we are very grateful

We are delighted that your stay here exceeded your expectations, and it has been great to read all of your feedback, we are sure the staff members mentioned will be over joyed with your amazing comments!

Please come back and visit us soon!

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayahibe
2.6 mi away
Catalonia Royal La Romana
Catalonia Royal La Romana
#2 of 16 in Bayahibe
240 reviews
7.5 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
2.5 mi away
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Dreams Dominicus La Romana
3 mi away
Be Live Collection Canoa
Be Live Collection Canoa
#12 of 16 in Bayahibe
6,858 reviews
35.4 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa

Address: Bayahibe 22000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 Green Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 Spa Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range: £174 - £441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a world of pristine beaches, lush tropical jungle and turquoise sea on the southeast coast of the Dominican Republic, Dreams La Romana is the perfect resort for singles, couples and families. Unlimited Luxury Enjoy the many amenities of Unlimited-Luxury at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, where nearly everything is included. Every gourmet meal, every fine wine and cocktail, and so much more. At Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, these amenities include: •Elegant accommodations with incredible views •Gourmet dining at eleven specialty restaurants •24-hour room service •Unlimited top-shelf spirits at seven festive bars and lounges •All day and nighttime activities and entertainment •Option to upgrade to Preferred Club privileges •Free WiFi and international calling with Unlimited Connectivity (coming soon) •Full breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks •Unlimited natural fruit juices and soft drinks •Unlimited international and domestic top-shelf spirits •Complimentary mini-bar refreshed daily with soft drinks, juices, bottled water and beer •24-hour room service •Specialty restaurants with no reservations required •Themed parties, oceanfront bars and entertainment venues •Pristine swimming pools •Pool and beach wait service •Endless daytime activities and live nightly entertainment •Explorer's Club for kids with supervised activities •Core Zone Teens Club with teen activities •Fitness center •No wristbands required •All taxes and gratuities Unlimited Top-Shelf Spirits Enjoy international and domestic top-shelf spirits, fine wines and ice-cold beer at any of our seven bars and lounges. Then keep the party going with 24-hour room service and your own complimentary mini-bar. All of your favorite drinks are served without limit or expected gratuities at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa. World-Class Spa Indulge and invigorate your senses with a day in the Dreams Spa by Pevonia. Spanning more than 21,000 square feet, the on-site spa at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa offers a la carte treatment options ranging from the traditional to transcendent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams La Romana Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Hotel Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing