We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just got back and had a great time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Bayahibe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toledo, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just got back and had a great time!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just returned from Dreams La Romana. The place is gourgeous! We were in building 3 (because we had a family room-two adjoining rooms) and it was perfectly located. The pool with the swim up bar was just out our patio and the remainder of the resort was within easy walking distance.

Bienvenido (a server at the World Cafe) was exceptional 5 Stars. Very personable and pleasant to talk with but also very responsive to our needs. The buffet is buffet food-nothing great nor was it bad. The morning had fresh eggs any style, cooked to order omlets, OJ, chocolate milk. Lunch was nothing fancy either but definitly not bad. Cooked to order slim sirloins, chicken and sandwich meats.

The other restaurants on site (they acclaim no reservations needed) and they don't. However, if you are a late eater (730p-930p) then you can expect a wait. We were early eaters (630-7p) and never waited. But, as we were leaving there was always a line. The Bourdeux was the best great French Onion soup, excellent rack of lamb. The service was a little slow but I think they wanted you to dine versus eat. Himitsu (Oriental) was the second best. Good sushi and a variety of oriental dishes (chinese to korean to Malaysian).

I would have given 5 stars except for a practice that the resort does. The "day passes" for either cruise ships on a layover or locals. The people who showed up with the purple wrist bands (no one there had wrist bands except for the day passers). Usually 15-20 people showed up on 4 of the 6 days there and they were all different but LOUD and OBNOXIOUS. Also, never saw one of them leave the pool they hung in the pool with the swim up bar ALL DAY. Never saw them leave to use the bathroom (disgusting and they didn't care they were gone at the end of the day). The pool closed a little early (6p).

All in all a very relaxing vacation just not a fan of the day passers.

Ed from Michigan USA

Room Tip: Try to get into building 3. Very centrally located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,899
    2,710
    961
    281
    162
See reviews for
3,895
4,818
127
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,282)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This was my husband and my first experience at an all inclusive resort. We upgraded to the Preferred Club (which I recommend) and stayed in a beautiful suite with a lovely view of the water.
The resort was clean and the grounds were beautiful. Room service was great and all the staff was cheerful and friendly.
However, after two days there was a wedding and reception right in front of our room. For hours we had to listen to unbelievably loud fireworks and music outside our suite. It was so loud that my husband and I could not even hear each other. This went on until 11:00 and we were furious. There were many complaints from guests who had paid to come there to relax.
Also, they boast of their eight restaurants to choose from, but very few were open, so you couldn't make plans . We had to walk all over the resort each evening and we were there for eight days, searching for a restaurant that was open. There were only only about two, maybe three open each night. Choices were slim. And the food left much to be desired. It all tasted the same, wherever you to eat. The food quality and choices were a huge disappointment.
As soon as you arrive, they start soliciting you to join their Dreams package (where you buy into a program to stay at all their Dreams resorts) and we felt it was high pressure sales. Our advice is to stay away from the main lobby.
We we on the marinarium excursion to Punta Cana. The reefs were unhealthy and you are herded through like cattle.
Bottom line; if you want to go on a vacation where drinking alcohol is your main agenda, you may enjoy it. If you have children, you may want to rethink it.
This was our first and last time at an all inclusive resort. Very touristy!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Preferred Club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Janice,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience here at our wonderful resort, as always we appreciate your feedback

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the upgrade to our Preferred Club, however we are very sorry to hear that you were inconvenienced by some of the weddings we host here, this most certainly was not our intention.

We do apologize that you had to look around to find a restaurant which was open, however please allow me to clarify that as a convenience to our much valued guests this information is on the sundial which you receive in your room each night, as well as posted in various other places around the resort, we are sorry this did not reach out to you as expected.

We appreciate all of your feedback, both positive and otherwise as this is an excellent way of making improvements in the future.

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Came to Dreams La Romana for our honeymoon. Preferred club is ABSOLUTELY worth it. Express check in, private pool and bar with premium liquor, private beach area. There were many times where we said to ourselves "thank goodness we are preferred". Did the romantic dinner in the wedding gazebo. Everything was great. $150 but we got 60 bucks off for the coupons they gave us. 5 course meal, bottle of wine, and a beautiful location. Wilson was our server and was incredible. Highly recommended. Long story short, go preferred and do the romantic dinner and request Wilson.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Kyle,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your honeymoon here at our wonderful resort, we are so pleased that you enjoyed the benefits of our luxurious Preferred Club and we are so pleased you enjoyed your private dining, we will be sure to pass on your feedback to Wilson!

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The service was amazing, the food was even better.This place is a great vacation spot. I enjoyed my time there. Im coming back next June for my graduation!
P.S. "Eddie Murphy" is the best entertainer hands down.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnSab14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing our beautiful resort as your holiday destination and we very much appreciate your kind comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yekaterinburg, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were dreaming of white sand, palms and quiet sea for a long time and were really astonished that all our dreams came true immediately once we arrived to this hotel. Service (all things considered) was perfect and "all-inclusive" option allows you to relax and simply select one of the 8 restaurants (7 a-la carte and one buffet) or several bars with a good selection of drinks and cocktails. Caribbean side of the island offers a rather calm and clean sea and excellent beach with fine white sand. Animation is good and not intrusive and you can select many options from Spanish language lessons to local dance fest. If you are visiting this site in Feb-Mar, spend a day to visit the ocean shore (Santa-Barbara de Samona) and spend some money for a whale chase boat. Whales are coming there with children and they are amazing!
Some points to consider - (1) if possible, select rooms far from pool and arena and on upper floor (otherwise they'll be noisy); (2) there are some good extras like spa and Italian ice-cream shop - they do worth extra investments; (3) unlike point 2, don't expect much from weekly gala dinners that are also of extra charge - we were disappointed by organization and meals there; (4) if you'd like to visit places of interest, better seek for a private company or driver in advance (as hotel doesn't offer good excursion programs) and plan your journeys accordingly - avoid group tours as they will result in crowded feeling and basically useless experience; (5) check the moon phase (I'm not kidding) for your vacation - sea is calm at new moon but may be stormy at full moon, thus, better arrive close to the new moon.
Overall, this hotel, although a bit pricy, worth investments and is definitely a charming place with friendly staff where you can spend a week or two literally like in paradise.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlexMyrddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for the time you have taken to tell us about your experience here at our wonderful resort, it is great to hear that your time with us met with your expectations, and we thank you kindly for all of your feedback, positive and otherwise as this is an excellent way of making improvements in the future.

We hope to welcome you back soon

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Our son was married over looking the Caribbean sea with dinner and reception on the beach under the stars. Perfect setting. Beautiful evening. A night to remember. Everything was breathtaking. The night ended with a falling star!

Room Tip: My husband and I paid for the upgraded room. It was well worth it.!! Over looking the main pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Judy

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience here at or beautiful resort, we are so pleased to hear that your sons wedding was everything you imagined and more and it was a true honor for us to be your hosts,

Please come back and visit us soon!

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

amazing location, staff , food room, cocktails, everything. and the funniest guy i have ever met mr picasso highlight of holiday when he came around main pool dressed as little bo peep with a goat behind him lol the goat jumped on a sunlouger and done a poo to mr picasso shock and horror but very funny guy should be on tv ? and also Treasure great happy go lucky guy beth says hello from scotland superb resort with staff that work hard non stop. one small complaint could someone tell me why the security guard was making people take t shirts off in pool then turned a blind eye to a muslim lady who went in with full body clothes on plus head scarf ?????????????? nearly forgot erik the preffered club butler the happiest and frienliest guy on the planet. overall EXCELLENTE!!!

Room Tip: upgrade to preffered club its superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Colin

We are delighted to hear that your time here with us exceeded your expectations and we appreciate all of your feedback, we will most certainly pass on your kind comments to Picasso who I am sure will be delighted.

We hope we have the chance to welcome you back again soon!

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayahibe
2.8 mi away
Dreams Dominicus La Romana
34.7 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
36.9 mi away
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
#12 of 112 in Punta Cana
11,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.3 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
35.4 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
2.5 mi away
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa

Property: Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
Address: Bayahibe 22000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 Green Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a world of pristine beaches, lush tropical jungle and turquoise sea on the southeast coast of the Dominican Republic, Dreams La Romana is the perfect resort for singles, couples and families. Unlimited Luxury Enjoy the many amenities of Unlimited-Luxury at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, where nearly everything is included. Every gourmet meal, every fine wine and cocktail, and so much more. At Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, these amenities include: •Elegant accommodations with incredible views •Gourmet dining at eleven specialty restaurants •24-hour room service •Unlimited top-shelf spirits at seven festive bars and lounges •All day and nighttime activities and entertainment •Option to upgrade to Preferred Club privileges •Free WiFi and international calling with Unlimited Connectivity (coming soon) •Full breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks •Unlimited natural fruit juices and soft drinks •Unlimited international and domestic top-shelf spirits •Complimentary mini-bar refreshed daily with soft drinks, juices, bottled water and beer •24-hour room service •Specialty restaurants with no reservations required •Themed parties, oceanfront bars and entertainment venues •Pristine swimming pools •Pool and beach wait service •Endless daytime activities and live nightly entertainment •Explorer's Club for kids with supervised activities •Core Zone Teens Club with teen activities •Fitness center •No wristbands required •All taxes and gratuities Unlimited Top-Shelf Spirits Enjoy international and domestic top-shelf spirits, fine wines and ice-cold beer at any of our seven bars and lounges. Then keep the party going with 24-hour room service and your own complimentary mini-bar. All of your favorite drinks are served without limit or expected gratuities at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa. World-Class Spa Indulge and invigorate your senses with a day in the Dreams Spa by Pevonia. Spanning more than 21,000 square feet, the on-site spa at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa offers a la carte treatment options ranging from the traditional to transcendent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams La Romana Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Hotel Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing