We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Single Mom with 9 and 14 had a great time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Bayahibe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Single Mom with 9 and 14 had a great time!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Single mom of 9 year old daughter and 14 year old son went for Spring break in April. We opted for this resort over the more mainstream ones in Punta Cana for a more relaxed, authentic Dominican Republic experience. It fit the bill – my kids felt immersed in a different culture and even though the staff spoke excellent English, were motivated to attempt to speak Spanish to the staff. Some of the Americans felt frustrated by the lack of clear, centralized communication but seasoned travellers or those wanting to experience a new culture will appreciate the low-key, relaxed feel.

The resort and grounds: Utterly beautiful, immaculate and well-designed. It sits right on the ocean with palm trees and calm turquoise water that is great for snorkeling and swimming. There is a main large pool and an infinity swim-up pool. Beautiful grounds and layout. The resort is adjacent to a local seaside village for those wanting to experience local life and shop at beach market stalls. Security is very tight and I felt safe at all times. We opted not to do Preferred upgrade and I am glad we did not. The area was out of the way and the pool was average. The only reason would be for couples who want to stay away from kids.

The Staff: The staff was lovely and friendly and particularly nice to my kids. And can they dance! The male staff was amazing with my teen son and his friends – they were cool and fun and had quite the following.

The Guests: A nice friendly group of couples and families and older people. Not too many young adults or rowdy folk here. Met several nice families who took me in even though I was single.

Activities/entertainment: Lots of offerings available in a low-key way. I took yoga and salsa dance lessons on the beach, and aquatic fitness classes in the water. Played bocce ball and pool games with my kids. All were well-run and enjoyable. My daughter and I had an exquisite spa --grounds and services are great. We used the wonderful GriGri Dive Shop on the beach regularly for parasailing, kayaks, snorkeling and Scuba Do. The Scuba Do is an underwater vespa-type machine that allows you to submerge in the water and see the sealife if you don’t dive. Also enjoyed the nightlife entertainment --magicians, dancers, circus. Very good for all ages.

Childrens/Teen Programs: The teen center was a highlight. Kids could hang, play pool, basketball, ping pong, video games and it was a great central meeting place for them behind the main pool. My kids found lots of friends to hang with and because it was All Inclusive, they could grab burgers by the pool (they did an afternoon grill), order virgin frozen fruit drinks at the swim-up pool and otherwise feel very independent. They loved it and I loved the fact that I could have some free time. The younger kid center was disappointing and really needs to be managed better. My 9 year old did not want to go there and we had some unfavorable interactions with the staff, who seemed bored and checked out. Definitely could use improvement. The teen center and nature of the resort worked out for her, however, as she met lots of great kids. Younger kids probably fare better.

Food: The good news is that there are many restaurant selections offering beautiful décor and ambience. The ones facing the beach that offer open air dining were heavenly. The bad news is that other than the special cooked-to-order special offerings , the food was disappointing. Other than the Mexican restaurant, and the main dining room that cooked to order, there were many so-so meals. The main dining room offered a wide array of offerings to please all palettes and is a good safety when needed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flightsofancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest

It was a pleasure to be your hosts during your recent stay here at our wonderful resort and we are so pleased that you have taken the time to tell us about your experience,

We appreciate all of your feedback, both positive and otherwise as this is an excellent way of making improvements in the future

We hope to welcome you back again soon

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,660
    2,658
    939
    277
    157
See reviews for
3,724
4,714
125
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,227)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

we have just had our second stay with our good friends also with the Dreams La Romana and the staff who were very helpfull would get a 5 every time Adelkay,Eddy Murphy.Picaso,evlyn,yojaino,castillo
there were a few problems but the staff made our holiday enjoyable

Room Tip: the hotel has good rooms no matter which part you stay in
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karl s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Karl

We are so pleased to learn that your recent vacation with us met with your expectations and we appreciate the time you have taken to tell us about your experience.

We are thrilled to learn that certain members of our team made your stay even more enjoyable and we will make sure your positive comments are passed on.

We hope to welcome you back again soon

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor Locks, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Been back a week now, finally caught up and now I have some time to express what a wonderful vacation we had at dreams la romana! First a shout out to Cathy and Carrie from sanditz travel for hooking us up with a great apple vacation package. The apple reps were also fantastic during our vacation. I would like to give 5stars to these employees who made our stay that much more better besides the sun and the fun! To me, a lot has to do with service& I don't mean being waited on hand and foot. I mean service with a smile! Happy employees make for happy guest. Genuine smiles from genuine people. You can see it in their eyes and feel it when they talk to you. First is brandy at check in, so happy and so pleasant. My in laws wanted to take her back to Italy. We treated them to paradise from a visit to the states to dreams and boy don't you know they were surprised and love it. After checking in, I stopped by the main pool bar where I met Evelin, and what a delight, from her sweet smile and laugh to her professional bar tending skills. Next would be rolando, ex baseball player at the same bar. Instead of throwing a baseball, he is throwing out some great drinks with a great personality. Although all the wait staff is great, our favorite was Ronny the coffee boy, Johnny on the spot! Always there with coffee and juices & our favorite waiter was " Benny" bienvenido, a real gentleman. Always a smile and happy greeting everyday! One more and not to be forgotten is Estefania from housekeeping, she does a wonderful job and is very pleasant and is always smiling! Vacation may be over but my memories will last a lifetime! Looking forward to my next visit, so in closing, it's never good by with me, it's till we meet again! Ciao Giovanni & Anna

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mugsy317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest

How wonderful to read you excellent review, and we are thrilled to learn that you time here at our beautiful resort met with your expectations and we appreciate all of your feedback, we will make sure we pass on your great comments to our staff who helped you enjoy your vacation even more.

We hope to welcome you back soon

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Dreams La Romana is a beautiful hotel set in a wonderful location with a great beach.The rooms and restaurants were spotlessly clean and the staff always helpful with ' hola ' regularly being said!
There was a good choice of places to eat from the World Cafe buffet to the various other restaurants offered ( Dominican,Mex,Italian,French,Asian etc ). The ' Buffet ' had a good variety of food,however if you're vegetarian then your options are a bit limiting. In the World Cafe special mention to young waiter STARRLE he was very good with a great attitude to the guests and very efficient and getting drinks and clearing your table 5 STARS! He will go far!
Also special mentions to Moses at the Veranda Bar for making sure we never went thirsty! Eunice our maid in Building 5 floor 3 for keeping our room clean and creating swan shapes out of our towels! and Finally Mr Treasure who was always looking out for us and chatting when he could.
Our only criticism would be that all the bars except the Lobby bar shut way too early at 11pm at the very latest. The hotel would be well advised to try and keep somewhere else open a bit later rather than have to go to the Lobby or Disco.
Overall a great place to have a holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed in Building 5 facing the gardens and near the pool this was a good location as quiet in ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank arundel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest

We are delighted to learn that your recent vacation here at our wonderful resort exceeded your expectations and we thank you for the time you have taken to share your thoughts!

We are happy to hear that some of our great staff here helped you enjoy your vacation even more and we will certainly pass on your great comments!

Come back and visit us soon!

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just got back from our family vacation, and we had an amazing time at the resort!!!

When we booked this vacation, we upgraded to the preferred rooms, and it's worth every penny! The concierge staff was very warm and welcoming, especially Edelin and Yonathan! Also, the pool staff in the preferred area rocked!!!! Kenia, Stephany, and Carlos did an outstanding job making sure we always had a drink in our hands. Facundo was awesome too. And let me not forget Edwin! Best pool service ever!!!

My son went to the kids explorer club daily, and the staff was great! Genesis, Mariluz and all the staff were so welcoming to my son. I had a hard time getting him out of there everyday. Plus, it was nice to have some quiet time and know that my son was in great hands.

The food throughout the resort was great too. We tried every restaurant and were very satisfied with the quality of food. If you don't see something you want, ask the staff and they will try to accommodate you.

The rooms were nice too. We stayed on the 3rd floor in building five. We love the cathedral ceilings, and we had a partial ocean idea room that faced the private pool. Our housekeeper, Eunice, was excellent. She always made sure our rooms and bathrooms were tidy and clean.

The resort was absolutely breathtaking and the beach was beautiful. We went for a week of fun and relaxation, and that is exactly what we got!!! Looking forward to going again next year!!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to preferred/concierge service! Definitely worth the upgrade! Rooms and services you receive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ljthomas33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest

We are so pleased to hear that your time here at our beautiful resort exceeded your expectations and we appreciate all of your great feedback

We are very happy that you enjoyed the benefits of our Preferred Club and we thank you for your positive feedback regarding our Explorer's Club

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed here from July 11 to 17 To Celebrate by b-day with my friend and had a blast! Although its a bit far from airport almost an hour trip i would say that my overall experience was great. they have a good show every night. Staff were very nice Specially MR. "TREASURE" who were assigned in entertainment! Love this Dude his very accommodating and very helpful!

Room Tip: building 3 is accessible to everything! Be sure you have 7 dollars to pay for wifi daily!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reynaldo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest

We thank you for choosing our wonderful resort as your holiday destination and we appreciate the time you have taken to tell us about your experience

We are so pleased that your time here met with your expectations and we appreciate all of your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back soon!

kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

The staff was very gracious, and made sure that you have a great time! The resort is gorgeous and the beach is breathtaking!!!! The restaurants were fantastic, and the entertainment was nicely put together and there was a nice variety. It was a great time, we would definitely recommend this hotel

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Trish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr J M, Chief Concierge at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Trish

We are so grateful for the time you have taken to tell us about your recent vacation here at our wonderful hotel, it is great to know that your time here exceeded your expectations and we very much hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future

Kind regards

Mr J Mercedes

Chief Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayahibe
7.4 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
2.8 mi away
Dreams Dominicus La Romana
Dreams Dominicus La Romana
#10 of 16 in Bayahibe
835 reviews
34.7 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.9 mi away
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana
#15 of 111 in Punta Cana
10,932 reviews
35.3 mi away
Now Larimar Punta Cana
35.4 mi away
Sunscape Dominican Beach Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa

Property: Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
Address: Bayahibe 22000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#2 Spa Hotel in Bayahibe
#3 Green Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 756
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a world of pristine beaches, lush tropical jungle and turquoise sea on the southeast coast of the Dominican Republic, Dreams La Romana is the perfect resort for singles, couples and families. Unlimited Luxury Enjoy the many amenities of Unlimited-Luxury at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, where nearly everything is included. Every gourmet meal, every fine wine and cocktail, and so much more. At Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa, these amenities include: •Elegant accommodations with incredible views •Gourmet dining at eleven specialty restaurants •24-hour room service •Unlimited top-shelf spirits at seven festive bars and lounges •All day and nighttime activities and entertainment •Option to upgrade to Preferred Club privileges •Free WiFi and international calling with Unlimited Connectivity (coming soon) •Full breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks •Unlimited natural fruit juices and soft drinks •Unlimited international and domestic top-shelf spirits •Complimentary mini-bar refreshed daily with soft drinks, juices, bottled water and beer •24-hour room service •Specialty restaurants with no reservations required •Themed parties, oceanfront bars and entertainment venues •Pristine swimming pools •Pool and beach wait service •Endless daytime activities and live nightly entertainment •Explorer's Club for kids with supervised activities •Core Zone Teens Club with teen activities •Fitness center •No wristbands required •All taxes and gratuities Unlimited Top-Shelf Spirits Enjoy international and domestic top-shelf spirits, fine wines and ice-cold beer at any of our seven bars and lounges. Then keep the party going with 24-hour room service and your own complimentary mini-bar. All of your favorite drinks are served without limit or expected gratuities at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa. World-Class Spa Indulge and invigorate your senses with a day in the Dreams Spa by Pevonia. Spanning more than 21,000 square feet, the on-site spa at Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa offers a la carte treatment options ranging from the traditional to transcendent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelbag, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams La Romana Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Hotel Bayahibe
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing