We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (611)
Filter reviews
611 results
Traveller rating
439
133
28
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
439
133
28
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstao catperuvian restaurantroyal guestsrodeo steak housela romanafrosted glass doorexclusive clubplunge poolsister hotelroyal sideboutique hotelbreakfast was buffet stylesmall size of the resortdual showerthalassa restaurantsuperior junior suitechilled towels
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 611 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2017

good : condition of hotel, staff, rooms, beach, water, gardens and plants, housekeeping, entertainment in the evening, lots of bars and snacks, overall cleanliness.
could be better : food. some restaurants were closed, i am very picky so this is not represantative.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank monichris2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, Gerente at Catalonia Royal La Romana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us and for your review. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We will share your comments with the involved department. Thanks for your observations. This is your home and we hope to welcome you back anytime soon.

Best regards.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We loved everything about this resort! The staff was exceptionally amazing! The beach was clean beautiful and well kept. The bartenders always went above and beyond to make and remember what type of drink you liked as well as make sure that their service was top-notch. Check in and check out where a breeze. Our room was upgraded without even asking and was absolutely gorgeous. I swear the staff here treated us like royalty for the week!The one and only thing that we would change is that we wish there was a little night life in the adult only side. Like a disco with dancing or a DJ outside. Maybe some adult oriented games to get the guests laughing! Other than that we have zero complaints, and do plan to come back in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank DrEjb023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, Gerente at Catalonia Royal La Romana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We are glad to know that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed our friendly service. This is your home and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

I had booked and planned this trip as an anniversary and birthday present for my wife (married 18 years and in our early 40's). After countless hours of reading and researching different resorts in the Dominican, I came across Catalonia Royal La Romana. The reviews I read were very good but being a newer resort I was a little nervous and we had never stayed at an all-inclusive before either. We can't wait to come back!! Everything about our experience and our trip was nothing short of excellent and the resort exceeded all of our expectations. Every aspect of the resort was spectacular! Every member of their staff would go out of their way and go above and beyond to make sure you have a great experience and that means all of their staff starting with reception when you first get there to the bellman who would transport our bags to servers and bartenders and even the grounds crew. Everyone treated us like we were royalty and would always stop what they were doing when we walked by or if they walked by us and would smile and say Hola! Staying in the Royal is an adults only resort but by staying there allows you access to the Catalonia property right next door (Catalonia Gran Dominicus - family resort) and all that that resort has to offer as well. We were there for 5 days and honestly didn't have to leave the resort if we didn't want to as it is literally as big as a small town. The beach and water were breath taking! The water was crystal clear and being that my wife is not one who usually goes in the water unless it's 82 degrees or more, was telling me she wanted to go the beach and get in the water. The water ranged between 82-85 degrees all the time whether it was 8am or 6pm. The sunsets were gorgeous. We had dinner on the beach at 7pm our last night literally 10 feet from the sea. We did an excursion to Samana which was lengthy (6am to 9pm) with 6 hours of that being in a bus for transport but it was some of the most beautiful scenery you could ever imagine when you finally get there to the natural waterfalls. It is somewhat physically demanding so I would not recommend it you are older or physically unable to hike up and down on rough terrain in the heat but if able to, please go as it provides pictures and scenery one only dreams of seeing or that you only see in movies and then to follow it up with a couple hours of beach time on a private island. If you do plan a trip down there, please take the time and a little extra money to tip and take care of staff. Not a-lot but a dollar to two here and there goes a long way to them down there and they are very very appreciative. If you are an American as we are, it would help to learn some basic Spanish when going although many of the staff speak and understand some English they are just a little limited at times. We will definitely be back next year!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Honeymoon Swim Up Suite that was amazing!
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrisk300868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, Gerente at Catalonia Royal La Romana, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We are glad to know that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed our friendly service. This is your home and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

This all inclusive is excellent, We stayed on a room that had its own private mini pool. It was amazing. Service was excellent and the food was great. It needs some improvement on the Peruvian restaurant. it just need a little more refining and it will be very good Peruvian food. but the others were excellent. The beach was great and the service at the beach was quick. The grounds are very well kept and it looks new. People were really nice and they make you feel very good. I will definitely come again.

Room Tip: Get the room with the private mini pool.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank smartor2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, Gerente at Catalonia Royal La Romana, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We are glad to know that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed our friendly service. This is your home and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

We came to Catalonia Royal La Romana for a week with the only objective to relax.
This is the best place to do so.
The staff is always trying to anticipate your needs and make your stay incredible.
We had room 310, a duplex with a small swimming pool in the terrace.
The room was spacious, spotless, with two TVs and Netflix access.
Restaurants were also better than expected for an all inclusive resort.
This is a calm hotel, however you have full access to Grand Dominicus just next to it with all activities.
Special thanks to Estiven, always smiling and in a good mood, making you feel happy from breakfast to dinner, Raisa making your days at the beach as pleasant as possible, and Elias.
We will come back for sure.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank lucpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, Gerente at Catalonia Royal La Romana, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We are glad to know that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed our friendly service. This is your home and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews