We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of El Eden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Eden Hotel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Bayahibe
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
208 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very disappointing!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

After reading the other reviews, I feel like I stayed in a totally different hotel! The outside is very nice but the rooms don't match in terms of quality. The room is furnished very sparsely; the walls are off-white; the bed covering is off-white, so everything was very sterile looking while outside the building is painted a nice pinkish color and the landscaping is very pretty. There's not even an attempt at putting a picture on the wall. The bathroom has little ants crawling around on the counter. They require a 1,500 peso deposit to use the safe. You can't pay by credit card at the bar/restaurant area. I actually cut my stay one day short because I was so unhappy there.
On the positive side, all staff are exceptionally nice and helpful. The pool area is very nice. And there is even a drying rack for wet bathing suits and towels outside each room.
The hotel is owned by an Italian so there are quite a few Italian guests which means the TV in the bar/restaurant area is turned onto Italian language channels (and too loud for my taste).

Room Tip: Stay away from the pool and bar/restaurant area if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maringfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    18
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
8
23
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

Hotel is clean and good price for 2. US$60. The only issue we had was with the water heater...didn't work and they were not able to fix it on Sunday. But they changed the room and we got hot water...(save hot water...water heater is very small).
Breakfast is italian style...(Bayahibe is in fact a little Italy in DR...) so don't expect big breakfast/eggs.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lualqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

This is a small hotel in the little town of Dominicus, far from the beach. A place where you can stay when you have spent a day at the beach and are not staying in an all-inclusive hotel around the area. Rooms are clean and spacious, has Cable TV and AC plus a safe box. It has also a pool. Breakfast is included but it is simply terrible, coffee machine not working well, juice not good and bread was old and dry. Better to bring your own crackers or go somewhere else for breakfast. Dominicus town is just 2 blocks from hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy-Rox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2010

We stayed at the Hotel El Eden in Dominicus/Bayahibe, for the sole purpose of taking a couple of tours. It was unexpectedly pleasant. The grounds were beautifully landscaped, and there was a very nice pool. The rooms were spotless, even though very simply furnished. They had ceilings fans, AC, hot water, cable, large bathrooms, and in-room safes. We paid $60 total per night, per room. Our rooms, 312 and 313, each had a large king sized bed. The staff was friendly, and we felt completely welcome and safe. Dominicus is a lovely little town.
I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angela o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2009

I stayed here one night. My flight was cancelled and American sent us all to Hotel Eden. I was pleasantly surprised. I cannot comment about the service too much as 200 people were thrown on them at once. They were organized and handled the situation well. I cannot imagine in a normal situation this resort would have bad service.The grounds are very well kept, modern decor, comfortable chairs at the beach and pool, very cool looking pool, and powder sand beach. The buffet had a great selection and was very good. The room was very modern and clean. The bathroom was large with a great tub and awesome shower. I had stayed 3 nights at Dreams and this was 10 times nicer. It actually made me want to return to Punta Cana, where Dreams does not.

Helpful?
2 Thank lettielou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayahibe hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Iguana
Hotel Villa Iguana
#3 of 16 in Bayahibe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
1.6 mi away
Weare Cadaques Bayahibe Hotel
1.0 mi away
Be Live Collection Canoa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Catalonia Gran Dominicus
2.1 mi away
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Eden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Eden Hotel

Property: El Eden Hotel
Address: Avenida Laguna 10, Bayahibe 3200, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — El Eden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Eden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Eden Hotel Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing