We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VIVA WYNDHAM DOMINICUS BEACH”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Bayahibe
Certificate of Excellence
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“VIVA WYNDHAM DOMINICUS BEACH”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

TRIP: 6/15-6/21

ok i was very hesitatnt about booking this resort after reqading a lot of bead reviews. i booked through cheapcaribbean.com and i must say everything went smooth!

transportation: w3e saw the guy in a hawaiian shirt right away as soon as we came out to the airport lobby. also the next day, he explained some things and excursions. very helpful. we did crazywheels and saona island -- beautiful!!!!

Resort itself: yes, there were a lot of smokers, but i think wherever you go there will always be smokers. suck it up and go to a different area -- it is a big resort. beautiful blue ocea. sands. shows every night. ok they did have a party almost every night but you can't really hear the music unless you are near the main lobby/pool area. when you get out of th resort gate, theres some local vendors around so you are able to walk around the arae. i dont think it was dangerous at all, but for safety, just make sure you go out during the day time though. ok we did see two women with boobs out but, once again, just move to a different spot if you need to. and yes, there were a lot of europeans but who cares! you are there for you, who cares about them!!!

food: buffets. snack bars. few restaurants you have to reserve in the lobby . a pizzar place is open late late nights (the nights when you are drunk and want something to eat lol) ps. bring your own bigger cups for drinks since they give you littl glass from the bar.

so yea, over all. our vacation went great~! you are there for yourself, or your loved ones and friends -- make the best of it!!!! if you not paying for a 5 star hotel, then dont look for stuff that you couldn't afford!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank zelle y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaDominicusPalace, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you so much for your valuable comments on your family vacation at Viva Wyndham Dominicus.

We are extremely happy that your experience was great; It is very important for us to receive feedbacks and to know that you had a pleasant vacation.

Please remember that we will be glad to welcome you back at Viva Wyndham Dominicus.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach & Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,274
    2,868
    1,089
    528
    420
See reviews for
1,753
3,293
210
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

First let me start of by stating I have stayed at the Palace side of this resort and had no issues except that the food could be better. Now this side of the resort has a great party scene and all employees are great but the resort is overbooked and understaffed. Bars had one or two bartenders, trying to find a bell boy to get your luggage was a struggle, buffet, snack bar, and pizzeria had long lines. Food was an even bigger issue everyone seemed to be using the bathrooms which isn't fun. No I didn't drink the water I didn't even brush my teeth with it, I used Dasani. The resort had way to many people and could not accommodate all of us. I enjoyed my stay and sincerely hope the resort works on issues since I have enjoyed previous stays. Basically the resort needs work.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yank2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaDominicusPalace, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for the review regarding your recent stay in our property for the second time.

We are sorry your experience did not meet your expectations. Your comments will help us evaluate our amenities and services.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity of regaining your trust the next time you visit Dominican Republic.

Kind regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Dominus Beach & Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My daughter and I stayed at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach June 16-20, 2014. First let me say the grounds of the resort are nice and well kept. Beach is GREAT! Pools are GREAT! Entertainment is GREAT! The food is okay...I wish they would make more traditional foods and stop trying to make hamburgers (which were undercooked). The rooms were another story. Not so great. They are old and worn down. Also if you are an American be fully aware that the entire resort staff EXCEPT for front desk speaks Spanish only. Like literally you will not be able to communicate with anyone unless you speak Spanish. If you are bi-lingual then you will have no issues if you are not like me then you will have a hard time communicating the simplest of needs like "more towels please?" This was very frustrating. Next...we stayed in a Bungalow and a lot of the doors on their bungalows do not close flush with the frame of the door thus leaving a gap at the top and bottom of the doors. This is not what I expect from a resort quality hotel room. The second room they moved us to ( I complained thinking I could get a better room) was worse, it was a standard room ONE BED. The A/C was leaking through the bathroom ceiling onto the floor. I had to use a garbage can and towels to catch the steady drip. The A/C was not blowing cold air more like humid air. By the time we woke up the next day the entire bathroom floor was a puddle of water and it was running out into the room!!! The shower would not run hot water so we had to take lukewarm baths after a day of saltwater and sand everywhere. The tub itself was rusty it was just a nightmare. (pics below) After a fight with the front desk manager they moved us back to a Bungalow which they say are their best rooms! (pitiful) I will be writing a letter to Viva Wyndam (they are a chain) to let them know the quality of their room on this resort are sub-standard for the price. HORRID!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Bugalow's are their best rooms. Get one of those if you can...standard rooms are horrible!! If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mzzfelicia75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaDominicusPalace, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holidays.

We are very happy to find out that you consider our beach, staff and entertainment as great and also that you enjoyed our beautiful grounds.

Regarding the room, it is our priority to satisfy all of our clients and we can assure you that we work every day with great efforts to optimize our services.

We appreciate the time you dedicated to write your remarks about your vacation. Your comments and observations will assist us in our commitment to improve in all aspects of our operations.

We remain at your disposal.

Best regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach & Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

To be honest with you, this had to be the worst hotel and or vacation resort I have ever stayed in. Lets just start from the beginning. When your transport arrives, you pull into a beautiful compound behind castle like gates.... the open air lobby, where guests are checking email or posting pics on their phone is inviting. That's the only nice thing I can say about this place.
When we checked in, we were given an orange arm band."If you lose this, it costs $30 to replace; here are your beach towel cards, if you lose these, they are $20 each to replace. Your room number is xxxx, here is a map. Dinner tonight is buffet. Any questions?"
So, we pulled out this cartoon map and began the task of locating our room. It took longer than necessary, the complex is huge. Someone should have taken us and our bags to our room.
It was the time I entered the room I began taking pics. First, it smelled like old seafood. The bedding is trampoline style rough on the skin nylon. The red pillows had a questionable stain on them. I took a shower. It leaked into the bedroom, onto the floor and created a huge puddle. The shower was filled with moldy caulking and tiles. You're provided with two toiletries... a bar of soap, and one shampoo. These are NEVER replenished. To brush your teeth, you must use bottled water... which the hotel does provide, even though you will usually have to call for it.
The food? What a joke. It was all school lunchroom quality. Even in the "sit down, reservation only" restaurants. You get 1 reservation per 2 days of your visit, but beware... the reservations fill up quick. And that is a joke. one restaurant takes only 65 people per night. LA Roca has a great view, but truthfully the food makes you think- meh, ust go to the buffet.
Drinks- heres where the fraud begins. I noticed the liquors didnt have the appropriate viscosity intially, but didnt say anything. An ongoing joke was that I always got a Pied-deterre. Every drink I ordered, no matter what I ordered was pretty much the same, some shade of pink and chemically cherry flavored. I asked one of the employees I am still friends with and in contact with that works there, and he confirmed my suspicions. The rum, vodka, tequila, whatever the liquor is, its not that. It is water down GRAIN ALCOHOL. And its watered down to about 6% alcohol by volume. So i decided to try wine. GROSS. It's some form of a red wine product malted beverage but he doesnt know, the tap is actually unlabeled.
The public restrooms were all surprisingly clean, as well as the grounds maintenance.
I utilized the spa. I got a massage. It was Ok. THere is one shower, with no toiletries. also, no water was offered while I waited- which I should point out was in a shampoo chair. There's no real reception area, or a lounge.
Another HUGE TURN OFF FOR ME? The stores INSIDE THE RESORT. look at my pictures below. One store sells counterfeit Michael Kors bags. I was sure to include the viva wyndham rug for everyone to see. Another store had a Target brand xhiliration swimsuit, marked for $15.99, but the store was selling it for $80 USD.
The pools close at 6! sun set is much later. This is weird, because it really cheats you out of your day, because there is really not much going on at the resort. The buffet for dinner starts at 7:30, so be sure to sneak some food from lunch into your bag- you will be hungry!
internet? yeah right. good luck, even when you buy the $25 plan.

avoid this place. the pics online look great, but its all fake! ive never felt so defrauded in mylife.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaDominicusPalace, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate the fact that you have shared your thoughts on this traveler’s forum.

We strive to create the best possible experience for our guests so it was disappointing to learn that our services and gastronomic offer did not meet with your expectations.

We encourage our guests to share their concerns during their stay so that we may address them immediately and create the experience they come to expect.

We really regret your negative impression and deeply apologize on behalf of all our staff.


Kind regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach & Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at the Dominicus Beach resort 6/11-18/2014. I was pleasantly surprised at the resort. The grounds were very nice and well kept. We stayed at a Garden Bungalow which was just steps from the beach! However, there was loud music from 10am-midnite everyday and the common wall shared with our bungalow neighbor was thin. We did not ask to be relocated since we liked our central location within the resort and were able to ignore the noise. The resort does cater to Europeans and Spanish speaking tourists and generally 10-40 yrs. There was some family, but the resort definitely had a Latin party vibe that many of the tourists seemed to enjoy. This is not the resort to stay if you want a peaceful quiet getaway. However, we enjoyed our visit here. The beach was beautiful (fine white sand and clear turquoise waters with some waves) and the food satisfactory (not bad, but nothing memorable). The drinks were generous enough with the alcohol. Beware of a lot of bees around the resort, especially around the soda fountains! I would recommend visitors to bring their own snorkel gear since the resort only seems to sell them at the store, rather then lending them out. And someone stole our snorkel gear from our bungalow patio area the day before we were to leave, so this was a rude awakening. Although the resort appeared safe and people generally honest (we saw cameras and watches forgotten on beach chairs for hours), you never know what other tourists might take! We were able to take advantage of the all inclusive activities such as Wind Surfing, Paddle Boarding (although beach waves made it a challenge to balance), Catamaran Sailing with free lessons, Kayaking, Boogy Boarding, Archery, and Trapeze. There was plenty of beach chairs on the beach. All the staff was very friendly and very accommodating. We did not have any issues with customer service. There was free WIFI at the lobby reception area, but it was slow and not very convenient. We did book an independent tour to Soana Island on a speedboat which we enjoyed. But there were not many other options of places nearby to sightsee we thought were worthwhile enough to pay extra to visit.

Transportation: We did take advantage of the resort's private transfer from PUJ airport by emailing: transferdominicus@vivaresorts.com. Just be sure to email, follow up and confirm details of the transfers with Edgar at the resort as the response can be delayed. However, the $85 RT/pp was worth the private transfer. The fee is charged to our room and paid upon checkout. There were a lot of other transport companies and reps at the airport which can be uncomfortable and stressful upon arrival.

Shopping: If you are planning to buy the island's Marimar, blue stone, make sure to BARGAIN and Compare Prices. The island's native drink, Mamajauna, consists of rum, red wine, and honey steeped in misc wood and spices. Ask to try this drink at the resort's bar and they will give you a glass. This is a good way to try it before you buy the bottles as souvenirs.The resort offers reasonable prices for these souvenirs and were comparable and even cheaper than the airport prices.

One tip for ALL DR tourists: Get your TOURIST CARD online before arriving into the country. It is the same price, $10US. But we were able to save at least 45 minutes in line on arrival by bypassing the huge line to get this tourist card. Read the signs at the customs area and go to the shorter line on Right if you already have the Tourist Card receipt on hand. After you have the tourist card receipt, then you go through to the much shorter Passport Stamp arrival line. BIG TIME SAVER! see link for more details. http://dgii.gov.do/tarjetaTuristica/EN/about/Paginas/default.aspx

Overall, we enjoyed our trip to this resort and to the island, especially for the price we paid by booking over 6 mos in advance during the low season. However, there is not much to do around the immediate area and will most likely not return for another trip. I would rather explore other Caribbean islands we had not yet visited or return to some of the islands we had already visited (i.e. Jamaica, Maya Rivera, etc).

Room Tip: We paid a few dollars extra per night for the Garden Bungalows which I think was worth the expense...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank El2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaDominicusPalace, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our deepest gratitude for your generous comments and for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful resort, our beach, our grounds, the room and accommodating and friendly staff.; Our goal is to provide all of our guests with enjoyable and happy vacation experiences. We are glad to know that we have achieved this.

We will take your observations into consideration, as they will assist us in our ongoing commitment to improve our services and facilities.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay at Viva Wyndham resorts.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach & Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, CA
Level Contributor
157 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

then this is the place for you. The place is huge and has booming bass banging until 12:30 at hight. Has both good and bad things about it...

The good: We stayed in a cottage - cute and spacious with good quiet air conditioning. Maid kept room very clean. Plenty of beach chairs outside. They kept the nice sand beach clean. Ocean not polluted. Easy to get into the water, which was a nice temperature. Pool between the Beach and Palace Hotels quieter and not crowded. Grounds were lovely. Had plenty of hot water. Staff were very pleasant. International tourists, which made it interesting. Food in the specialty restaurant 25 was excellent.

The bad: Besides the booming music and jillions of people - the food in the buffet restaurant and other two specialty restaurants was pretty poor. Although the selection was adequate in the buffet, the entrees were usually very overcooked and dry and not seasoned that well. Free wines offered were horrible, except in restaurant 25.. Mexican restaurant was pretty awful -- any resemblance to Mexican food was purely coincidental! Room furnishings were pretty ugly and falling apart. They charge extra daily if you use the safe in the room, which I thought was chintzy. Pillows not good, bed adequate. If you like to swim, you have to find small sections of the beach that don't have big rocks . The quiet pool needed major work -- tons of missing tiles. All of the alcoholic beverages seemed to be watered down.

Had a good time, but would not stay here again nor recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank csteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaDominicusPalace, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your room, the services provide by your maid, our beautiful grounds, beach, our restaurant “25” and other amenities we have available.

Is always very rewarding to know that we were able to offer our guest’s a happy and comfortable stay.

We will take your observations into consideration, as they will assist us in our ongoing commitment to improve our services and facilities

Please remember that we will be glad to welcome you back at Viva Wyndham Dominicus.

Kind regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach & Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sulphur, LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

While the beach and location and resort itself was BEAUTIFUL and we did enjoy ourselves, our worst problem was GUEST SERVICES... Terrible, Terrible, Terrible!!! They say this resort is "all-inclusive" when it is not at all. There is about 3-4 resteraunts and the buffet and you could eat the Buffett of course when it was open (you were stuck with a snack bar that made burgers, pizza, and hot dogs during the day when the Buffett was closed that you could hardly get any food off of because of the greedy people) but had to reserve the other nicer resteraunts. We were told since we stayed 5 nights we were to have 2 nights for a reservation, but since everything was booked we could only have one. I PAY FOR ALL-INCLUSIVE EATING BUT I CAN ONLY EAT THE DISGUSTING BUFFETT PRETTY MUCH EVERY NIGHT IM HERE?!? Hardly anyone spoke English. I guess that could be part of the reason guest services was always so rude because they could hardly understand so they didn't feel like dealing with the issues. This resort caters to Italians and French. The day before we left we went to guest services to schedule a time for a shuttle to pick us up to be at the airport the next day. After being shoo-ed away by an employee at guest services saying we should've have taken care of that with our travel agent and we have to call ourselves, we go back to our room to call our travel agency where we then discover we can't dial out on our room phones. We then go back to guest services and speak with the same employee who is at this time almost yelling telling us he has to "open the line" on our phone, he picked up the phone and pressed a few buttons and said it should work now. We went back to the room only to discover it once again did not work and finally decided to try to get in touch with someone from home from our cellphones and have them call our travel agency to make sure we were going to be picked up for the airport the following day. (Not to mention while we were at guest services there were 2 American women in front of us canceling the rest of their stay there and going to a different resort, telling us they were having the same problems and could get no help from anyone) I will say the Dominican Republic is the most beautiful place I have ever seen and we did not let any of that ruin our time there. We had a great time! I would just never ever stay at this resort again. I would maybe go back to go to Punta Cana where I would assume it has more tourists and they are accustomed to catering to tourists better, and probably people that speak more English. If you are American... DO NOT GO TO THIS RESORT!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chelseab0948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaDominicusPalace, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate the fact that you have shared your thoughts on this traveler’s forum.

Rest assure that we strive to create the best possible experience for our guests so it was disappointing to learn that our services and gastronomic offer did not meet with your expectations.

We encourage our guests to share their concerns during their stay so that we may address them immediately and create the experience they come to expect of the Viva Wyndham Dominicus.

We really regret your negative impression and deeply apologize on behalf of all our staff.


Kind regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach & Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayahibe
1.5 mi away
Weare Cadaques Bayahibe Hotel
9.3 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
0.2 mi away
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Catalonia Gran Dominicus
0.9 mi away
Be Live Collection Canoa
2.2 mi away
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach

Property: Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach
Address: La Romana, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 530
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach Hotel Bayahibe
Wyndham Hotel Bayahibe
Viva Dominicus Beach
Wyndham Resort All Inclusive Bayahibe
Wyndham La Romana
Bayahibe Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Dominicus Beach Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing