We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“pizza without good cheese it's horrible” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capitan Kidd

Capitan Kidd
Ranked #17 of 48 Restaurants in Bayahibe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
La Romana, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“pizza without good cheese it's horrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

sometimes when you want to lower your cost you lower the amount of pizza lover. The ambiance is ok but the food is not was it was before. will not go back - there are better pizza place.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank CWS2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    123
    39
    24
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dominical, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We eat pizza at the outside sitting area, which was great view and lots of fun seeing the fishes joining together when the coloured lights in the water went on. They seemed to like swimming close to the lights. Also the crabs walking on shore at sunset. The pizza we had was good but a bit pricey. The beers were good and cold. And we got free mama guanas i think it was called. Great drink with a good story behind it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RainbowNine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
411 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Dinner Beachside!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Really a nice "local" restaurant. They have covered indoor dining, but the "treat" is sitting outside on the sand. The view is lovely of the Bayahibe bay. The food was quite good. Will return!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
105 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, bad food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We heard the food wasn't the best here but how bad could it be?? My daughters liked the pirate theme and we wanted to eat out on the point near their Capitan Kidd sign. We heard the pizza was good so we went to order that. No pizza until after 7pm. My daughters were disappointed. With our American young child schedule we eat at 5 or 6 pm not after 7pm so no pizza. I ended up ordering the lemon chicken and my wife got some pasta dish. My chicken looked like it was cooked on a George Foreman grill and had been left on too long. I could have skipped it across the water. the pasta was just as bad. We all did not like our meals. The ambiance on the water and in the restaurant is great. My advice come here have a drink and then go eat somewhere else.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dabyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
169 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“very nice place near the sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

perfect for a romantic dinner
you can have a table just beside the sea with candles at night
we chose the pizza which was good and cheap
the other dishes were not so cheap for the country
I would recomment this restaurant
the place is really beautiful
Italian owner and italian dishes mainly
the waiter was very nice and helpful

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Capitan Kidd also viewed

Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Capitan Kidd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing