We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Saona Tour”

Bayahibe Fishing Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Deep Sea and Bottom Fishing trips specialist in Bayahibe/La Romana. We also do private tours to the islands.For a great day out..Come and fish with captain PEPE recognised as the best fisherman in the area. Multilingual staff with more than 20 years experience.We are based in Bayahibe Beach at Cyber Cafe Coco in Bayahibe
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We booked on line beforehand with Sara and put a deposit down on paypal. Then once we were at our hotel Dreams La Romana we paid the balance through paypal from our hotel internet.
It was $65 USA each person and we felt the day trip was well worth it.
We met Sara and Pepe in Bayahibe which is a short 10 minute walk from Dreams along the beach. Pepe took us out with about 3 other staff. Pepe speaks 5 languages and English is easy for him. He is very mindful that all the passengers can hear him clearly and understand in their own language. We can't remember his name but the man with the Punta Cana hat that spoke excellent English and assisted Pepe was very helpful and gave us lots of info too. We enjoyed his company.
The boat was in good condition and lots of lifejackets for everyone. The boat ride was fast and comfortable.There was a shaded area at the back but bring sunscreen because you can get quite a bit of sun from the reflection off the sea. Great food and drinks. We had lots of lobster for lunch. They made sure we all had shade wherever we went if we needed it. They try to take you to the areas where there aren't so many people but you can still see quite a bit. Lovely colour of the ocean. Very informative sea turtle spot at the village. Loved the natural swimming pool sandbar with starfish. The beach at Saona was gorgeous!
Would highly recommend this tour. Not a party boat but we had lots of fun.
Thanks for everything!
Big Pappy, First Lady and the gang from Toronto

1  Thank adanac55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigbite, Owner at Bayahibe Fishing Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thnak you very much for taking the time to write a review.
We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed the trip to the island so much and that you consider the effort that we put in our work.
We love to see you back on your next visit.

Greetings from paradise!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

Booked half day fishing trip with Pepe. Did everything on-line went great, Sara would respond quickly to all our questions. Sorry we never got to meet Sara as Pepe picked us up at 8:00 A.M.with his smaller boat that looked just like the pictures, on our beautiful beach at Iberostar. Started fishing almost right away and caught a double header that we used for bait. Did not take long to catch about twelve Tuna, not huge fish but lots of action. Got a few big hits that left only a small piece of the bait on the hook. Intercepted a sail fish but could not get it to bite, was fun seeing the bait fish jump to avoid being eaten. Got to see quite a few flying fish during the morning, had snacks, beverages and a few beers. Pepe was always ready to answer our questions, don't expect a luxury boat but a good experience La Romana style. We will be back soon and book a trip with Sara, full day Saona island visit.

Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigbite, Propietario at Bayahibe Fishing Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.

It is great to read that you had so much fun and good experience fishing with us.
We hope to see you back on your next visit to paradise!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

When we saw that La Romana was not the most attractive port ( for us ) and read that a lot of people stay on the ship or went sunbathing what is not our cup of tea, I decided to look for something private and I found Sara.
I mailed her that we would love to combine snorkeling with site seeing and after a lot of mails ( thank you Sara for your patience ) we rented a private boat for a day and let Sara guide us.
Actually this tour was one of the best tours we ever had on a cruise ship. We were picked up by a private car drove to Bayahibe saw a little bit of the local life, and Sara waited for us together with our captain.
We went snorkeling, stopped at Catalina for a picnic, then discovered the Chavon River and the rainforest of the Dominican Republic all nice and easy.
Sara is a lovely girl very attentive and it was very nice coming from a big cruise ship and have a boat for ourselves and almost did not see any other tourists the whole day long.
We really had a wonderful, relaxing time !
So thank you Sara, we definitely will meet again !
Best greetings from Belgium
Erwin and Frieda

Thank Loserandpoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigbite, Owner at Bayahibe Fishing Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you very much for your great review!!!

We do a lot of effort to make sure our clients feel great with us.
It was a real pleasure to have you on board and we really hope to meet you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

After reading all the reviews on TripAdvisor, I pre booked my Saona Island excursion with Bayahibe Fishing Centre before I left. Communication with Sara via email was excellent.

Pickup the day of the trip from the hotel was on time and a short 10 minute cab ride from the Iberostar Dominicus.

The trip itself...incredible...any photos you see will not do it justice. And I can't say enough about Sara - multilingual, she slides effortlessly from language to language engaging all of her clientele with interesting information and what to look for. Likewise, she pays particular attention to the safety of the elderly and young. About 24 people on the boat, all ages, all nationalities.

We were taken by speed boat from Bayahibe and sailed east along the coast past the resorts, crossed a channel and onto Saona Island. You'll pass the first part of Saona Island littered with hundreds of white resin tanning chairs - that's where the others tours stop with the larger catamarans. Go there if you want to "party". Sara will take you further east where no partying catamaran dare wonder, about 2 miles east of the village of Mano Juan, to pure white sand and blue water. You'll have a few hours there to "chill" - light snacks and beverages available from Sara. A few locals setup to hawk their wares, not a big deal, they will leave you alone. You can get a massage if you like.

After a few hours boat back to Mano Juan for lunch, a small local fishing village. Lunch prepared advance by the locals. Lobster, chicken, potatoes, rice, salads, etc. The amount of lobster was astounding....everyone had their fill...impossible for anyone not to say they didn't pig out on lobster. After lunch, Sara will take you around the village for an hour, show you life around here, to a turtle hatchery, and then on to some local vendors. After that, sail on to the mangroves and the "natural pool" to see the star fish.

What a day - enjoyed by everyone - and Sara was an incredible host as were her crew. Do not hesitate to use Bayahibe Fishing Centre.

2  Thank TheDoncas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigbite, Owner at Bayahibe Fishing Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you very much for your review!!!.

Thank for appreciating the difference that we make, the personal touch, the homemade food, the fresh food and the amount of lobster that we offer to make everybody happy.

We really glad to read that you enjoyed yourselves so much and we really hope to meet you again in paradise!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I booked a day long fishing trip during a recent trip to la romana. Everything was very easy to arrange via email prior to my arrival in the Dominican. On the planned day as previously arranged and requested, i was promptly picked up at my resort and transported to boat. Once there I was met by the guide and after a quick completion of payment we were on our way. During my day of fishing the guide was attentive and eager to get us some fish. No luck with the fishing that day but it wasn't from lack of effort. Lunch was build your own sandwich (not my sort of thing to do in a boat) but the food, pop, water and beer were plentiful and cold. All and all a good day. I would recommend not taking Sara I for a full day. The lack of seat cushions and size is better suited for a half day or a full day with a shore trip to the island.

Thank sdc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigbite, Propietario at Bayahibe Fishing Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you very much for your review.
We will take very seriuosly all your comments to keep improving the service.
We are glad that you have a good experienc with us.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bayahibe Fishing Centre also viewed

Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Bayahibe Fishing Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing