We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Great Days”

Bayahibe Fishing Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Deep Sea and Bottom Fishing trips specialist in Bayahibe/La Romana. We also do private tours to the islands.For a great day out..Come and fish with captain PEPE recognised as the best fisherman in the area. Multilingual staff with more than 20 years experience.We are based in Bayahibe Beach at Cyber Cafe Coco in Bayahibe
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Pepe and Sara, thanks for your genuine hospitality on our Saona Island trip! It was a great, if not a long day, and much of it was special because of Pepe's knowledge and caring of the country, ecosystems and the fragile nature of our environment. We learned alot while enjoying the beaches, sea turtle restoration project, lobster lunch, snorkelling and starfish. The one hour of rain we experienced in the DR in the whole week was on the speedboat on the way to Saona, what a blast just to be at the front of the boat and seeing everyone get soaked. Of course, a warm rain and either dried off or simply went in the ocean when we arrived took care of that!

As for fishing, I would recommend Pepe to anyone and enjoy a day or half day on Sara I. On our way out, a sailfish jumped in front of us, flying fish beside us, and two seaturtles that we had learned about two days before. The set up of two Penn reels and one hand line, with Mahi Mahi and a Wahoo in the boat, was a great day. Pepe you don't stop, and your skills at guiding and teaching / showing us local fishing techniques will stay with us forever. The results are everything and you delivered!

A great day fishing, one of the best I have had in the Caribbean.
Take care,
Ken

1  Thank Saxondog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigbite, Propietario at Bayahibe Fishing Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you very much for your review.
We are glad that you enjoyed both trips and congratulations for a great catch!!!!

We hope to meet you again on your next holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

We booked both a fishing trip and the Saona Island tour with Sara & Pepe. Making the arrangments was very easy and they were very accomodating. The lobster lunch during the island tour was wonderful. We really enjoyed seeing the starfish too! Snorkeling off of the island was certainly not the best we've experienced but certainly not the worst either - guess just depends what your expecations are. Fishing with Pepe and his first mate was nice. They sure tried but just wasn't our day which as my husband says is why they call it "fishing" not "catching". Pepe felt so bad - I think he felt he let us down, but certainly wasn't from lack of trying - plus we still saw some neat things like a flying fish! Thanks Pepe and Sara!

1  Thank John_Mary_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigbite, Propietario at Bayahibe Fishing Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you very much for a great review!!!

We are very pleased to read you enjoyed the experience and we will keep trying very hard to catch a fish next time. That is for sure!!!

We hope to meet you again soon.

Regards from paradise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We booked on line beforehand with Sara and put a deposit down on paypal. Then once we were at our hotel Dreams La Romana we paid the balance through paypal from our hotel internet.
It was $65 USA each person and we felt the day trip was well worth it.
We met Sara and Pepe in Bayahibe which is a short 10 minute walk from Dreams along the beach. Pepe took us out with about 3 other staff. Pepe speaks 5 languages and English is easy for him. He is very mindful that all the passengers can hear him clearly and understand in their own language. We can't remember his name but the man with the Punta Cana hat that spoke excellent English and assisted Pepe was very helpful and gave us lots of info too. We enjoyed his company.
The boat was in good condition and lots of lifejackets for everyone. The boat ride was fast and comfortable.There was a shaded area at the back but bring sunscreen because you can get quite a bit of sun from the reflection off the sea. Great food and drinks. We had lots of lobster for lunch. They made sure we all had shade wherever we went if we needed it. They try to take you to the areas where there aren't so many people but you can still see quite a bit. Lovely colour of the ocean. Very informative sea turtle spot at the village. Loved the natural swimming pool sandbar with starfish. The beach at Saona was gorgeous!
Would highly recommend this tour. Not a party boat but we had lots of fun.
Thanks for everything!
Big Pappy, First Lady and the gang from Toronto

1  Thank adanac55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigbite, Owner at Bayahibe Fishing Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thnak you very much for taking the time to write a review.
We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed the trip to the island so much and that you consider the effort that we put in our work.
We love to see you back on your next visit.

Greetings from paradise!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Booked half day fishing trip with Pepe. Did everything on-line went great, Sara would respond quickly to all our questions. Sorry we never got to meet Sara as Pepe picked us up at 8:00 A.M.with his smaller boat that looked just like the pictures, on our beautiful beach at Iberostar. Started fishing almost right away and caught a double header that we used for bait. Did not take long to catch about twelve Tuna, not huge fish but lots of action. Got a few big hits that left only a small piece of the bait on the hook. Intercepted a sail fish but could not get it to bite, was fun seeing the bait fish jump to avoid being eaten. Got to see quite a few flying fish during the morning, had snacks, beverages and a few beers. Pepe was always ready to answer our questions, don't expect a luxury boat but a good experience La Romana style. We will be back soon and book a trip with Sara, full day Saona island visit.

Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigbite, Propietario at Bayahibe Fishing Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.

It is great to read that you had so much fun and good experience fishing with us.
We hope to see you back on your next visit to paradise!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

When we saw that La Romana was not the most attractive port ( for us ) and read that a lot of people stay on the ship or went sunbathing what is not our cup of tea, I decided to look for something private and I found Sara.
I mailed her that we would love to combine snorkeling with site seeing and after a lot of mails ( thank you Sara for your patience ) we rented a private boat for a day and let Sara guide us.
Actually this tour was one of the best tours we ever had on a cruise ship. We were picked up by a private car drove to Bayahibe saw a little bit of the local life, and Sara waited for us together with our captain.
We went snorkeling, stopped at Catalina for a picnic, then discovered the Chavon River and the rainforest of the Dominican Republic all nice and easy.
Sara is a lovely girl very attentive and it was very nice coming from a big cruise ship and have a boat for ourselves and almost did not see any other tourists the whole day long.
We really had a wonderful, relaxing time !
So thank you Sara, we definitely will meet again !
Best greetings from Belgium
Erwin and Frieda

Thank fvandewouwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigbite, Owner at Bayahibe Fishing Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you very much for your great review!!!

We do a lot of effort to make sure our clients feel great with us.
It was a real pleasure to have you on board and we really hope to meet you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bayahibe Fishing Centre also viewed

Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Bayahibe Fishing Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing