We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VFM (value for money)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Bayahibe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London
Level Contributor
159 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“VFM (value for money)”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

What a great holiday at such a reasonable price! Book through Thomas Cook for the best deal.
I travelled with five friends in a total of three rooms in block 6 top floor. We stayed for two weeks from the last week in June to the first week in July. My friends had been here before and liked the food so much they wanted to return. The food is spectacular! Choose from four Al a Carte restaurants and one buffet for the evening meals. The lobster was large and we could eat steak every day. The sea bass was the best I ever tasted!
Onto the beach (we never used the pool). If you want beds in front of the sea don't even arrive there at 6 am. People were putting the towels down the night before.  This is even though the hotel prohibited it. They need to do something about this.
The grounds are kept perfectly and  have ducks, peacocks and swans.
All the staff are great and the odd dollar tip goes down very well. Find your favourite waiter and stick with them. They will go out of the way to serve you.
Are there any downsides? I did expect free  Wifi but none of the hotels in the area offer that. It will come in time the more people ask for it. Not all the staff spoke English. Isn't that part of the charm? If you want all English speaking stay in England! The check in check out procedures need to be improved. No smile, no "welcome,' did you have a nice journey" and "did you have a pleasant stay?" They seemed to rush you through as quickly as possible.
It's  good to get to know the management and they are always there to help. They value your feedback! Brit ( the director) was very helpful to us and she always said hello if she saw us around the resort.
Would I return? Most definitely. The All Inclusive five star hotels in Spain are more expensive and don't serve lobster!

Room Tip: Always go for the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan050651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear guest,
We thank you very much for sharing your experience in Tripadvisor and for choosing Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus for your holidays.
We are very satisfied to read that our varied gastronomy, the beauty of our premises and our amazing beach ensured you a memorable holiday. In Iberostar one of our guiding principles is to upkeep our hotel landscape. Our maintenance team will be happy to hear that their work left you a remarkable impression.
On the other hand, I have shared your suggestions with our Front Desk Manager to improve the courteousness of our staff when checking in and checking out.
We look forward to welcoming you once again and feel free to contact us to help you enjoy your next stay with us.
With the best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,102
    1,978
    424
    145
    77
See reviews for
3,160
3,729
130
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Breinigsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Traveled here 7-3 to 7-10. We traveled for the first time to the Dominican Republic with a group of 8 people including two small children ages 5 and 3. We flew from Newark, NJ into Santo Domingo with a two hour bus transfer to the resort. The transfer was long but it was interesting to see the local culture. Arriving to the resort, we were greeted by resort staff who unloaded our bags and we began the check-in process. Check-in was smooth, quick and friendly. Our intial impressions were very favourable, the interior of the hotel/complex was exceptionally decorated and very clean. During check-in a star friends staff member brought each of our children a frozen cherry drink which they enjoyed and was a nice gesture.

The decor of the hotel is exceptional. The walkways and common areas are very clean, landscaped well and constantly being tended to. Our room was a standard king bed room which was clean, spacious and well kept by the maid staff throughout the week. The in-room fridge with included drinks ( beer, water, soda ) was helpful when we needed a quick drink. We did not use the in-room safe. The air conditioning and TV would turn on when activity was detected in the room, something that did not bother us at all and we assumed was an energy saving measure. We ordered room service once for the kids and it came fast, was hot and the kids liked it.

Most morning's before the pool we would play a game of ping pong, Jenga or chess. These were available to borrow at the towel hut near the pool and we would play near the pool bar. Heading into the pool..... this is where we would start our day. Our kids loved the walk-in entry into the pool and we regularly took laps around the entire pool. There is also a small ledge that allows kids to jump into the pool without interfering with anyone else's day. The pool bar was large, often uncrowded and served to the adults as well as to the kids throughout the day. We would typically get to the pool by 9am or so and it was empty all morning, pool seemed to get more crowded later in the day. On our second to last day there were two large inflatable slides that were brought in for the kids....alot of fun.

The beach was where we would start our afternoon. The water was crystal clear and the beach uncrowded most of the time. As other reviewers have mentioned, the beach is slightly steeped, but our 5 and 3 year old seemed to manage just fine. There were also some rocks close to shore in the water ( nothing to do w/ the resort, it's nature! ) but we would just be careful to go around them. Once your 10ft out or so, it's all sand and as you continue to go out, there is a sand bar where the water is 3' or so deep for a good 20-30 yds. We actually were able to snorkel with our 5 year old near the initial rocks where the water was about 2ft deep, something he enjoyed.

Next to the beach is the lighthouse bar which was convenient for a quick drink. Slightly further down the beach was the kayak, catamaran and snorkeling. We used the kayak's on multiple occasions which was always fun and took the banana boat out once, which was also fun.

The staff was friendly and always accomodating. There were aerobics classes, yoga, dance, etc happening all day and you could participate only if you wanted to. The staff in the restaurants was always polite and helpful, even if our spanish wasn't that good! Many other reviewers mentioned the diverse guests. This is true but was welcome. I enjoyed the experience and I am glad our children were able to experience life/culture/language outside of the US.

For the food...
4 restaurants for reservations. We did the Colonial, Hibachi and Mexican. The Colonial was far and away the best with the Japanese second and the Mexican third. All were good though, but the service and presentation at the Colonial was excellent.

There is a main buffet, a beach-type buffet and the beach grill. The food was mostly good, even if repetitive. There were days when special seafood dishs would be made on the beach. We ate nachos mostly every afternoon at the beach grill, our kid's favorite. Otherwise, my wife and I had an assortment of chicken and salad combinations for lunch, along with alot of fresh fruit for lunches. We eat healthy so this is what we were lookin for anyway, not ribs/steak/pork for a lunch buffet everyday.

In summary....great experience. Very clean, well taken care of and exceptional people at the resort. Our plan was to start this type of travel with our kids and go somewhere different every year but with this experience, we may be back here next year. It's well worth it and really fits into a family vacation well, no crazy spring breaker's or hoardes of college kids. If you're debating it, just go.

Room Tip: Stayed in building 6 which was convenient both to the pool and to buffet and front desk area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus for your family holidays and for posting a review about your experience.
In the name of Mr. Amando Pozo, Hotel Manager, we would like to express our satisfaction to read that our hotel services and facilities exceeded your expectations, according to the title of your review.
In Iberostar Hotels and Resorts we have several guiding principles, to provide the best service through a friendly staff, to offer a wide gastronomy, to upkeep our premises (landscape and beach) and to be on the best beaches worldwide. We are very pleased to read that all these aspects of our services ensured a memorable stay to you and your family group.
We will be glad to welcome you back in any of our more than 100 hotels worldwide. Please contact us prior your next visit.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

It's the second time me and my family have been there with our children one 10 years old and the other one is 6 years old and we all had fun we can't wait to go there again for Christmas !

Room Tip: Building 3and 4 are the best their close to the swimming pool and close to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Korcare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHotelsRD, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear guest,
In the name of Mr. Amando Pozo, Hotel Manager, and his team, we thank you for your comments in Tripadvisor about your second experience in our hotel and for your loyalty towards Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus for your family vacations.
We are very satisfied to read that you and your family have experienced two memorable stays. In Iberostar we aim to ensure unforgettable holidays to our beloved guests.
We hope to meet your expectations one more time in Christmas. Please contact us in advanced.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The hotel is great. It has many strong points, and a few problems that you should be aware of. The staff and service in general was excellent at the reception, restaurants and bars with one exception below. The food was very good at the buffet and Colonial, but we could not get reservations for other specialty restaurants besides the Steak House which we skipped and ended at the buffet. The pool was very nice and exceptionally clean, its swim-up bar is great, with special mention to Marcelino and other bartenders. The theater shows are different every night and were very good. All the public areas and the gardens are very well kept, you will find exotic and friendly animals.The rooms are in very good condition and clean.
Problems: Most of the public areas, lobby, buffet and some other restaurants, bars, theater, are open-air and the heat in July was terrible (I live in Miami and found it unbearable at times).
The beer offered is Presidente on draft only, but it was always warm everywhere. You cannot get bottled water except in your room, this was scary. Lastly at the lobby bar a female that seemed to be the shift head bartender treated us very badly. I did not get her name but luckily she was only there the day we arrived. The rest of the staff there and everywhere else were absolutely the best we have met in 5 trips to the D.R.

Room Tip: It is a long stretch from the entrance to the pool and beach so decide whether you want to be closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ernimart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus for your holidays and for your time to publish your experience at Tripadvisor.
In the name of Mr. Amando Pozo, Hotel Manager, we would like to express our satisfaction to read that you have enjoyed a relaxing holiday due to the friendliness of our staff in the different areas (especially Marcelino and the whole swim-up bar staff), our beautiful premises and our wide range of gastronomical offer. All those are part of our commitments in Iberostar to ensure memorable holidays to our beloved guests.
I would like to clarify though one point you stated in the review. The water we serve in our restaurants and bars comes from bottled water provided by an international worldwide well known brand, as well as the water we use to ice cubes. We also follow strict sanitary procedures and recommendations based on the Dominican Republic´s Regulations and by Saniconsult, our external Hygiene consulter. We assure you that we only serve purified water that has no risk for our guests.
We will be glad to welcome you back. Please contact us for further assistance.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We visited the Iberostar Hacienda on 1/6/2012 This is the first time i have made a revue but use trip adviser all the time so. First the good things about the Hotel.

The rooms are keep very clean fridge was kept well stocked with beer water and orange etc.
Grounds at the hotel are truly lovely and extensive,most of the staff are very good.
The food in the main retaraunt is good.
Drinks selection is very good and i don't mind plastic glass at the beach to save cuts from glass.

Some things are so so The beach is a bit rocky and some times it can be hard to get sunbeds but not always. The sea has lots of rooks so sea shoes are a good idea.

Now the bad things. all the speciality retaurants could be better the Mexican is the best of them service was poor we gave up in the steakhouse after waiting 30mins for a beer over 30mins for desert we walked out without desert. Japanese was poor felt like we were rushed to get out.We booked the gourmet for my wifes birthday thay forgot the cake.We had checked with customer sevices that morning and told the cake would be ready with the champayne at the time of the meal.We were served starters and the champayne after the main course we waited and waited then a meber of staff ( nelson ) came to the table and said there was a problem but we would have the cake in a few minutes after 20min i complaned and went to the customer sevice desk who said thay would sort it out after a further 15min and by now angry said forget it we wil just have anormal desert again we waited after another few miniutes we gave up and left.Now to be fair the next day the management did cancel the charges for the champayne and deliver a bottle of rum to the room by way of an apoligie. that being said my wifes birthday was a bad experience.This is overall a good hotel let down by a few staff and not looking after the detail.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank otter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear guest,
We thank you for choosing Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus for your holidays and to celebrate your wife’s birthday and for posting a review about your experience among us.
In the name of Hotel Manager, Mr. Amando Pozo, and his team, we thank you for your kind lines about the cleanness and beauty of our hotel premises, the friendliness of our staff member and our varied gastronomy. In Iberostar one of our guiding principles is to upkeep our premises.
On the other hand, we apologize for the inconveniences regarding the service provided by our staff in the restaurants and for the birthday cake episode. We truly regret that this especial celebration was not memorable in a positive way as we aim in Iberostar. I have shared your comments with our Hotel Management team so we can work to improve our standards in these two different areas of our hotel.
We kindly invite you to give us a second chance to show you our improvements; please contact us to help you enjoy your next stay with us.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fl
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Resort is well maintained; standard rooms have a good size and very comfortable. Minibars are supposed to be restocked every 2 days - we stayed four nights but never restocked. Dining venues have excellent food, good service and even Rioja wines from Spain. Beach is OK but cannot rival Punta Cana; 20-30 minutes ride from airport if you fly to La Romana - Santo Domingo (2.5 hours) and Punta Cana (1.5 hours). Staff is trained to cater to Euro guests (many speak some French & German) - true, Euro guests stay up to 2 weeks and many return annually. Eduardo at the reception desk was most pleasant and helpful when he learned of our 49th celebration (gave us our room in Bldg 2) Like most all-inclusives, liquor was OK (Mojitos tasted like a Russian recipe instead of Cuban). Overall, for its price, was well worth it. But frankly, if you don't play golf, La Romana is a one time destination.

Room Tip: Building 2 offers quiet rooms yet proximity to pool area. Building 4 is closest to beach and where y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Normy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear normy13,
First at all, we thank you for choosing Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus for your forty-ninth anniversary and for posting a review about your experience among us.
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Amando Pozo and his team, we want to express how pleased we are to read that you had enjoyed such as especial celebration. We are really satisfied to hear that we accomplished our goal with you as a hotel chain, which is to ensure a memorable holiday. Thank for highlighting the service of Edward at the Front Desk.
We hope to welcome you again, please contact us to help you enjoy your next visit.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We spent a week at the Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus from May 15 - 22, 2012 and had a wonderful time. Check in was a breeze and we received a nice cold drink. The resort grounds are beautiful and the beach is great. We stayed in building #3 on the 3rd floor which overlooked the main swimming pool. It was a short walk to the beach where we would get a palapa everyday around 8:00 am. The lighthouse beach bar is a nice place to have a drink during the day and watch the sunsets in the early evening. I did some snorkeling right off the beach which was just OK in terms of the types of fish. We also took out the free catamarans a couple of times which was a lot of fun. The food at this resort was excellent. We ate at the Japanese restaurant twice (great show cooking with delicious shrimp, beef and chicken with vegetables), the gourmet restaurant (grilled lobster) and the steak house -- all were very good. We ate dinner at the buffet 3 nights and always found something good to eat. The soups are delicious as are the fresh fruits. We ate breakfast in the buffet every morning, usually getting an omelet and fresh fruit. We ate lunch in the restaurant near the beach (it is the steak house at night) and they always had fresh fish available as well as salads, hamburgers, chicken bugers, hot dogs, and great french fries. Soft serve ice cream for dessert. The staff at this hotel were freindly and polite. A couple days we had drink service at the beach. We made sure we tipped the staff. We did an excursion to Saona Island and had a great time. We booked this excursion at the hotel thru Prieto Tours. We highly recommend IHD.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coachtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Quality Manager Iberostar República Dominicana at Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear coachtom,
In the name of the Hotel Manager, Mr. Amando Pozo, I would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus as your destination for your holidays and for posting a review in Tripadvisor.
It is a pleasure for us to read that you had a wonderful vacation during your visit to our premises; that encourages us to keep on working hard to turn your holidays in a memorable stay. Iberostar Hotels and Resorts aim to ensure unforgettable experiences to our beloved guests. Our “Faro” bar and the beautiful sunset that you can see daily is very well commented and appreciated by our beloved guests. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed it.
We are looking forward to see you again, we stay at your entire disposition for any request you may have before your next visit,
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayahibe
9.7 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
2.5 mi away
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Dreams Dominicus La Romana
Dreams Dominicus La Romana
#10 of 16 in Bayahibe
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Gran Dominicus
35.2 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
35.4 mi away
Iberostar Bavaro Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus

Property: Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
Address: Playa Bayahibe, Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 Family Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 Spa Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bayahibe
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on a fantastically beautiful, fine sandy beach. Around 5 km from the finish village of Bayahibe. Top 5-star luxury. Tropical gardens. Varied gastronomy. Water sports galore. Spa & Health Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Hotel Bayahibe
Iberostar Hotel Bayahibe
Iberostar Hotel Hacienda Dominicus
Iberostar La Romana
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus Dominican Republic/Bayahibe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing