We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
Nearby Hotels
US$308
US$277
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villa Iguana(Bayahibe)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabana Elke(Bayahibe)
US$71
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bayahibe(Bayahibe)
US$83
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
El Eden Hotel(Bayahibe)
US$71
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Baya Aparta-Hotel(Bayahibe)(Great Value!)
US$59
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Be Live Collection Canoa(Bayahibe)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Catalonia Royal La Romana(Bayahibe)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (9,491)
Filter reviews
9,491 results
Traveller rating
6,616
2,163
465
157
90
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,616
2,163
465
157
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstar friendslighthouse bardressel diversla geishacolonial restaurantlobby barla romanadominican republicmissing tileslight housespecialty restaurantslobstermain buffetpaellagourmet restauranttenderloinfront row
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
816 - 821 of 9,491 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Staff was extremely friendly and helpful and they kept the grounds very clean. Food was very good. Loved the wildlife and the overall atmosphere. The only negative was the one night the table vendors came onto the property. They were a bit aggressive. The only other area to improve is air conditioning in the room and dining areas.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com
2  Thank Doreen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed here in Spetember 2013 for 2 weeks with my husband and my in laws. First of all Thomas Cook messed us around with our booking 3 times before we went, a week before we were due to fly out!

However to the hotel.....

On first impressions its amazing and clean and service at check in was with a smile, we went to our room- after requesting not to be put on a bottom floor or in ajoining rooms with the in l;aws.... you guessed it thats what we got!

The room was clean, but what you would expect in maybe a 3 star hotel. Later in the holiday 1 of our phone chargers went missing never to return......

The food was good but no great, the drinks are very good and the pool bar staff were brilliant.

On our first night we couldnt get away from locals INSIDE the hotel selling crap! I cant believe I have paid all this money and I ahve to put up with this! And it was THE HARD sell, following you and all sorts!

On our last night we were woken up by a large group of people at the pool side drunk.... cheers for that maybe you should handle your drink better! there is no security here!

They have nothing in palce for the inspects- other hotels spray but nothing here so prepare to get bit.... alot!

We were not valued as customers at all....

This was my first experience in the Domincan- AND MY LAST
This was my first experience staying in an Iberostar hotel..... AND MY LAST

Awful stay, hated it, wished I was home whilst there. All members of our party thought the same thing too. Also 2 out of the 4 of us got ill ending in being in bed for numberous days with a tummy bug

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank halestones84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was our second time to Dominican Republic. First time was in January 2010 and stayed at Iberostar Bavaro All Suite Resort. So this time we tried Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus. May 15 to May 25, 2014. We had a great room #3207 - third building, third floor overlooking the pool. Note - there are no elevators!

The food was excellence. I highly recommend the El Colonial (gourmet) and the La Goleta (steak house). The buffet was excellent for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Note - mostly Europeans stay at this resort, very few Americans.

Room Tip: Room 3207 - building 3, third floor, overlooking the pool. Note - no elevators....
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pamashcraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just returned from HD.I did extensive research on hotels before deciding on IHD. The main reasons were location, reviews and price. I was not disappointed in any of these. The drive over was just at 45 mns from PC airport, but due to confusion we waited on our transfer over an hour. Thankfully we arrived safe. Now more on the hotel.

We rented two rooms, upon checking in I asked about our request to bldg. #4 or #3. Both were denied as they said no adjoining or side by side rooms. We were placed in bldg. #6 I believe, but rooms were not adj/side by side and one key was inoperative. After returning to the frontdesk we changed to bldg. #3 (room #3019 and #3015), rooms kitty corner to another. Our location allowed us easy access to the pool and beach, perfect for our mixed family. Our rooms dble bed, facing the grounds behind. Both rooms were well air conditioned, roomy and cleaned/stocked daily. Housekeeping for #3019 was very friendly, our room keeper in #3015 was just very blah. Even a daily tip didn't change that. One room the fridge was broke, the other the TV. Otherwise we were happy.

The grounds were beautiful. No trash, beautiful scenery flora and fauna abounded. Lots of birds in the natural ponds. The resort was spacious but layed out nicely with the gardens, facilities and courtyards.

The pool was huge and the swim up bar added a nice element. The bartender Morla was one of four exceptional employees, tipping him a little brought a huge smile, but tipping made no difference as his attitude was spot on before we even did that. Also in the middle was a cold "Jacuzzi". Be advised the pool closes at 7pm. We had no problem getting shaded spots and did not observe holding any.

Beach, as expected, was BEAUTIFUL. plenty of chairs (shaded and not). We snorkeled right off the hotel area and into Doimincus. To the right was Dominicus and the vendors and shops. To the left the lighthouse bar and boardwalk to water.

I highly recommend the Japanese restaurant, the show was fun and wait staff friendly. Steakhouse staff were VERY uninterested, the attitude you'd expect from buffet not sit down reservations. However, the ribeye steak was BIG and cooked perfect. The main buffet was visited more and the variety and taste was great. Here wait staff could be hit or miss, but we found Jhnny to be an exception. Restaurant opens at 7am for breakfast and 7pm for dinner.

We did not attend a show, so we found other was to entertain ourselves in the evening. That was a challenge as pool tables and foozeball are limited (also limited pingpong tables and balls at towel area) There is one bar in the main lobby, this is also where limited free WIFI was. I guess you could say this was the disappointing area. Not much to do after the sun went down (IMO).

Lastly I have to mention Rodolfo. He worked in guest services and was top notch in his job. he loved his job, the people he worked with and the people that visited his country. Cant say enough about him. Thank you Rodolfo.

Things to mention not related to hotel. We used Captain Antonio (from vendors at Dominicus) for a snorkeling excursion. He took us by "speed boat" to the reef by Dreams La Romana for an hour of snorkeling (he brought bread for the fish) , then a slow ride thru Bayahibe marina area pointing out things of interest. Upon returning he gifted me a beautiful conch shell and we took a picture with him. It was a truly memorable experience. The fish were beautiful and Antonio was an absolute pleasure. Please ask for him at shops at Dominicus, we used first one on the right from IHD, back corner vendor for trips to Saona and this one. Cant remember who helped us but he came from that shop and coordinated our trips. We also took a cab ride to La Romana for $65 for four but that was a disappointment as we thought he was called by Rodolfo from IHD, miscommunication meant that we did not go where we wanted and he spoke less English. If you go to LR and you want a good taxi driver, make SURE that it is called and coordinated by Rodolfo or someone else in guest services, that way they can communicate what you want and look for driver suited best for you. We walked to Bayahibe from the front of the hotel and made a visit to Bayahibe cigars, we then returned beach side by way of Wyndham hotel. Transfer service used to/from PC to IHD was Dominican quest. Snafu on arriving meant waiting an hour + from PC but going back to PC driver arrived on time, he even pointed out things about DR on the trip back.

So much more to say but I might go on forever. We had a great time !

Room Tip: Blgd # 3/4 highly sought after but worth asking. They said sold out but upon making our room mistake we got rooms there anyways.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gingerflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our family had a wonderful time in Iberostar Hacienda in Bayahibe. The installations are great (restaurants, pools, room, lagoon in the middle of the hotel, the beach, bars, etc). We got a lot of fun las weekend. The people were great too. I recommeded a lot this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms in the garden view are quieter. But in general, all rooms are ok.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Lisbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews