We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,008)
Filter reviews
7,008 results
Traveller rating
3,085
2,699
784
266
174
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,085
2,699
784
266
174
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivilege roommain baranimation teamprivileged sectioncentral barprivileged guestsrodeo steak housela romanaconcierge officebeautiful beachdominican republicitalian restaurantenglish speakerssanto domingolanguage barrierother resortshoneymoon suite
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 7,008 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Amazing experience on my second time there, first time I went was October of 2016. Beautiful beach, Id say in the top 3 that I've been to, prob one of the best in DR.. Great service, and lovely staff.... shout out to Julio, and the best of the best Ramon. amazing kind hearted individual. Will continue to come here. As well as Catalonia Playa Maroma in Mexico.... two of the best resorts, and beaches I've ever been to. Anyone looking for beautiful waters, with no rocks, and powdery sand, combined with excellent staff great food and clean resort, this is your place. Avoid those mega resorts that give you nothing but luxury and don't let you actually enjoy what you came for... Great job Catalonia.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dean1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, Director General at Catalonia Gran Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our Hotel with our future guests and for recommending us.

It is a pleasure to read, that you had a wonderful experience in our Hotel, we are very happy to know that you enjoyed our facilities, room, the vibes, our culinary experience and the service provided from all of our staff.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We visit this resort during hurricane Maria, so it was some experience. We came in 10.20.2017 right before wind and rain start. So here is my opinion.
Pro: nice old beautiful territory, very compact, I think around 300 rooms. Small 2 floors houses. Rooms average size with very comfortable mattresses. We ask for two beds and got them without any delay. A little bit strange to have a shower and sink part without a door. For us, it was OK, for people with kids I don't think so. The buffet is big and good ventilated. Service good, food average. Waiters very friendly and speak the little bit English. 4 restaurants a la card, nice, average. Very convenient big "plaza" in the middle of the resort near the pool. They got a bar and good coffee all the time. The pool is wonderful. Beach is beautiful, a lot of shadow and sun spots for everyone's taste.
Now the con: hurricane destroys half of the beach near the sealine, so you can go to the water is only part of the shore.
I recommend paying more for preferred rooms they have a regular bathroom and nice beach

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank Vitaly4576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominicus C, Director General at Catalonia Gran Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our Hotel with our future guests and for recommending us.

It is a pleasure to read, that you had a wonderful experience in our Hotel, we are very happy to know that you enjoyed our facilities, room, the vibes, our culinary experience and the service provided from all of our staff.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

We came down for our honeymoon.. we were very much looking forward to a relaxing week and we got just that. We were unable to get a few perks of our upgrade (the Honeymoon room upgrade) like the photo, tshirt, and the nice dinner at the Tapas restaurant because we were going to do that on our last day and the resort flooded.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TheFlegels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominicus C, Director General at Catalonia Gran Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear guest,

Our warmest thanks for your fantastic and kind comment, we are very grateful to hear that you had a pleasant and gratifying experience with us.

Thanks so much for your beautifully written review. Your enthusiasm is contagious, and we are so happy to know that you appreciated all the aspects of your stay. Thank you for your nice remarks about our services and the grounds and thank you a lot for recommending us, is the best compliment that our staff can get!.

We definitely hope you will decide to visit us again in the future; it will be our pleasure to welcome and pamper you once again!

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

We just got home and there were some huge negatives

1. $250 usd was taken out of my girlfriend's purse. It was suggested we put it in the safe but the purse was hidden inside a backpack in our room and it was taken out of the backpack without money. We thought being at a four star resort we should have no worries about theft and were just too excited to enjoy our vacation, after that incident we felt unsafe. There was no recourse after filing a report and the staff/security seemed like they could care less.
2. When we booked we paid for a privileged room and were placed in a room that lacked basic necessities. No hot shower water, the a/c was broken the first night, and the telephone did not work for the duration of our trip. Kind of funny that they offered room service and a special number for privilege concierge but we couldn't call to anything. I had to take a 6 minute walk to reception from villa la romana (the building where our room was) anytime we had an issue. I reported the telephone problem about 2 times a day but it could never be fixed. The lack of basic necessities is unacceptable being even a normal hotel could provide these services
3. We are from the United States and there was a big language barrier with the staff. You could get by but it was hard to understand or hold a conversation with most staff members. The bartenders and entertainment people were nice (same entertainment every day, same john legend song playing by the pool), but the hotel reception were extremely unhelpful and rude when you had any issues

I would not recommend catalonia and would suggest another resort if going to the Dominican. We still tried to make the best of our trip and enjoy the gorgeous beach and pool

Stayed: August 2017
4  Thank anthonyh098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, Director General at Catalonia Gran Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Dear Anthony,

Let us apologize for not exceeding your expectations in some aspects of your stay with us. Here at Catalonia Hotels & Resorts, we highly value our guests, and we deeply care for their safety and wellbeing, for this reason, we are always on the complete disposition to listen to their needs and opinions prior, during and after their visit.

We´ll be sending all you comments about the rooms, we are conscious that these are one of the aspects that we need to improve, immediately we'll send your message with the Maintenance Manager.

As a service-oriented company, we have a firm devotion to accomplish our guest’s satisfaction; therefore, we are always pursuing the excellence of our staff and we are providing them with necessary skills to improve our service and offer an excellent experience with us. For that reason, we offered English and french lessons to all our staff.

Once again, please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced. It is possible we will not be able to recover your confidence to our brand, but we sincerely hope to have another opportunity to redeem ourselves in your eyes and welcome you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

We spent Christmas holidays in this hotel and really enjoyable.
It is worthy to book privilege rooms to get access to special areas on the beach and restaurants. In the area is one of the hotels with better and longer beach.
Very kind services and romantic Lux hotel.
Quality/lux price is excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the beach - Privilege Rooms
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jose Antonio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalonia_Caribbean, Director General at Catalonia Gran Dominicus, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear Jose Antonio,

Thank you very much for your candid comments regarding your recent stay at Catalonia Gran Dominicus, we are glad to know that you enjoyed your holidays and specially our Privileged rooms and the spectacular beach.
We hope to see you back soon.

Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews