We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, cute, but with ants”
Review of Hotel Bayahibe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bayahibe
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Bayahibe
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Small, cute, but with ants”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Bayahibe town seemed pretty small with only just the beach to go to really. Bayahibe Hotel was ok. Staff did not speak English, so it was hard to communicate with them, when we wanted to know about the local attraction places.
Room was alright, a bit too small with a large amount of tiny ants running around the room and with a tiny balcony. The bed was a bit too tough for my taste. Bathroom was ok, but our shower did not work properly. On the first day we could not shower almost at all, since there was so little water coming from there.
The location was good. Just in the centre of Bayahibe town within the walking distance of restaurant and the beach.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    66
    41
    11
    3
See reviews for
34
68
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st. peters, mo
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed here in March 2012 and loved it. The town of Bayahibe is east of La Romana and just west of the famously beautiful Soana Island. It's a quiet enclave of the devoted scuba enthusiast. The hotel is clean as a whistle and cheerfully decorated. Breakfast is ample and a variety is offered. We had juice, fresh fruit, excellent coffee, eggs and toast every day. We had a nice balcony overlooking the waterfront and free internet access. I was disappointed that the wifi didn't work in the rooms.

Room Tip: Get a balcony on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rubels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This is a really nice place for the money. We paid less than $60 for a double and about $30 for a single. They do, however, charge 5% to use a credit card.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DianeMiami_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

This hotel is centrally located and has been recently modernized.It offers Wi-fi and a free internet access in the lobby.The rooms are spacious and clean, breakfast is served on the last floor with lots of choices.The other meals can be taken in the restaurant right by the sea.The hotel offers a private beach with towel and beds free of charge, although one has to ask , nobody at the reception tells you this.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank roadhitter_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland mo.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

we have checked on this hotel for several years, as we have went there for about 9 years, we currently have a time share at the live canoa hotel, previously canoa coral. anyway,, we always take road trips all over the place, and thought we should plan for when our time share ran out,,, this cute pretty clean, very safe upper level room, with a awsum view of the ocean, fair rates, not a bad breakfast,we stayed one week after two weeks at the big hotel, and it was great, we ran into friends that we meet from the other hotel, that worked there before they cut the crews, the moved there teams to bayahibe. all the locals there are friendly, happy and aim to please, just treat them as you would want to be treated, and remember they live on tips, that they only get durring the high season, when the off season comes they barely survive. but you would never know it ,, the way they act. i love all of them, and plan on going back with my family in tow. the short ride to the public beach is not bad, there are little food shacks there for drinkd and snacks, and the newly inlarges grocery store just behind the hotel bayahibe, is within a quick walk, they have just about anything you will need. so go and stay there, be friendly, tip a little bit, and don't be affraid to ask questions, there are plenty of things to do there, snorkiling trips, catalina island, saona island, and best of all, just outside the beach there is reef with the best supper close snorkeling you will ever find,, cheap... love it... tell them debbie sent you... they are all my FAMILY FOREVER. on a scale of 10 ,,, i give the hole town a 20..... get packing.

Room Tip: get the rooms on the upper floors, for a great view and porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dbayesClevelandMo_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Bayahibe has several all-inclusive resorts in the outlying areas, but the village itself has two hotels, Hotel Bayahibe and Villa Iguana. We chose Villa Iguana for the price but arrived to find our room under construction. Obviously a no-go. Luckily, we were visiting during the off-season, so there was availability at the Hotel Bayahibe. My mom, sister, and I, all adults, got a huge room with three full-size beds. The street noise was less than ideal late at night (as the locals partied into the wee hours), but the beds were extremely comfortable. Breakfast (included) was good, and the place is literally a block from the water, and the room was clean and nicely decorated. The hotel staff helped us find transportation to the airport in Santo Domingo. There are several restaurants, a grocery store, and little shops within a few blocks, and Casa de Daniel, a great scuba excursion business, is right next door.

I'm giving this place 5 stars, not because I think it compares to the all-inclusives, but because you get a lot of bang for your buck with the Hotel Bayahibe, and if you want the real DR experience, you should avoid the resorts and check out the smaller hotels.

Room Tip: Quieter on side facing the back, but you'll miss the view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hbud75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

While checking the internet searching for simple hostels or hotels in Bayahibe, there is actually just one option in the village itself. Hotel Bayahibe has good rooms and beds, a nice bathroom, and offers a complete breakfast.
At 8 o'clock they serve breakfast in an area overlooking the sea and small harbour. Plenty of coffee, a plate with fresh fruit, juice, eggs and toast with butter and marmelade. Not luxurieus, but really good enough to start the day. The staff is friendly and next to the reception you can use the internet for free. A beachtowel for every guest and daily fresh water on the room is also a nice service. Towels might be a little bit old, but that really doesn't matter while comparing the roomrate with other hotels. If you are looking for a small hotel outside the area full of All Inclusive hotels, this hotel is a good choice. A small restaurant next to the small beach area, belongs also to the hotel. Lovely food and cold beers are served on the beautiful terrace which is located not even 150 m. away from the hotel.
If you are looking for a comfortable hotel, good ambiance in a village where you are able meet the locals and enjoy their music? I suggest you to stay in this hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Urs40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayahibe hotels
0.0 mi away
Weare Cadaques Bayahibe Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Iguana
Hotel Villa Iguana
#3 of 16 in Bayahibe
289 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Eden Hotel
El Eden Hotel
#14 of 16 in Bayahibe
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Be Live Collection Canoa
Be Live Collection Canoa
#10 of 16 in Bayahibe
6,324 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iberostar Hacienda Dominicus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bayahibe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bayahibe

Property: Hotel Bayahibe
Address: Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bayahibe 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bayahibe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bayahibe Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing