We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good & simple hotel in front of the Caribbean Sea”
Review of Hotel Bayahibe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bayahibe
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Bayahibe
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good & simple hotel in front of the Caribbean Sea”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

That's a nice hotel, where you can spend your days in Bayahibe looking at the Caribbean fantastic Sea. The building isn't new, but is in order, is clean, all the staff is really kind and helpful. Free internet connection. Rooms are preety big, i stayed in one with a good balcony, the beds are comfortable, and good bathroom, furnishings is good, not bad! According characteristics of Dominican hotels, this is a good one i've seen, good quality absolutely not expencive and with good services. There's no elevator. Nearby there are the best excursions, casinos, supermarket, restaurants, pubs. Definitely good position.

Room Tip: Ask for a panoramic room, in front of the Caribbean Sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ricky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    66
    41
    11
    3
See reviews for
34
68
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lguard73
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

Although we typically aim for hotels in the $20-$30 (800-1200 pesos) range, we had to splurge for this one after seeing the view, a panoramic vista of the town and the water. We paid a low season rate of 2000 pesos per night, with an extra 200pp for the continental breakfast. The hotel was clean and safe, air conditioned with wifi, and close to everything you need in the town (super, colmado, beach, restaurants, shops).

Unlike most people, we did not do the Isla Saona tour; we just walked 10 minutes to the nearby beach, which is quiet, relaxing, beautiful, and great for swimming. We did take the Padre Nuestro Tour ($5pp, Spanish only) which was pretty interesting.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

My family and I went to Bayahibe for two days. The hotel is a block from the beach and restaurants. The breakfast was served in a restaurant right in front of the ocean. A couple blocks away we found a great beach. The hotel was clean and the staff welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Hotel Bayahibe is in a perfect location right in the heart of Bayahibe, a 1 min walk to the water, restaurants, the market and an atm. The hotel was tidy, our room needed a thorough cleaning but it was good enough. They had AC and a fan which was nice, even in March. We were unpleasantly surprised by the staff, the rest of the people we met Bayahibe were very friendly and made us feel welcome, even with our language barrier, the staff at hotel Bayahibe made us feel like we were an inconvience. Purely for location this was a good option if you do not want the all-inclusive.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Genevieve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland Park, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

My husband & I spent 8 days in Bayahibe this month & stayed at Hotel Bayahibe. Never having been there & only seeing a few pictures from the internet, we can honestly say we were more than pleasantly surprised! We were ecstatic about the location, the cleanliness, the view, the friendly staff ( & their patience with our infantile spanish,) & the service & food at their restaurant,,,, which I might add,, overlooked the small bay where all the boats came in. we had WARM showers, a TV in the room, (not that we watched much), daily maid service, free wake up calls with the resident roosters, & a wonderful breakfast every morning which was included in our total price. We will be back & we will stay at Hotel Bayahibe when we do return.!! Thank you to all of you who made our stay so special & memorable!! God Bless you all!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Hotel Bayahibe is one of the few options out side of the "non-inclusive resorts". It has a great location in town. The hotel staff was always available. As mentioned in other reviews the hotel staff only speak Spanish (this is a good thing in my opinion. The staff was always available and made and changed my reservation with out any issues. I would recommend the third floor rooms, though the view of the bay is limited, the balcony is nice. A/C worked very well, but you can not control the temp. There is a fridge and they provide you with two small bottles of water each day. The room felt safe and secure

Breakfast is at the near by resteraunt and is filling and decent in quality. It is a full breakfast of made to order eggs and fresh fruit. You do have to wear a wrist band during your stay in order to get the breakfast though.

On the con sides, the water pressure was pretty dismal, but enough. There is hot water, just give it a few minuets. They do an OK cleaning job, but I don't think they sweep or map the floors very often. One guide books states the rooms are "cheerily" furnished. Maybe for the 70's. The wifi is available in the common areas, but not in the rooms. One poster stated they have chairs on the "Dreams" beach. They do have a few plastic chairs on the public beach, not the Dreams side of the beach. Do not take your valuables to the public beach. There is a surprising amount of street noise, especially for a near by bar. They seemed to quite down around 10:00 pm so it was never an issue.

Over all impression is that the hotel is overpriced, but convenient. There are not many options in Bayahibe.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank measrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

I have stayed in this hotel many times....in summer and in winter. It is always a fabulous time. One of the few hotels actually owned by Dominican people and run by the owner. You will not find such genuine hospitality anywhere else. We love the gorgeous views and comfortable rooms. The food is excellent. I am a fan of the public beach and it is really close by. There are many things to see and do in the village. A bus goes into LaRomana if you want to get to the city.
We have actually spent Christmas there and it was wonderful.
Bring cash--Rd pesos.

Room Tip: rooms on the restaurant side have waterview, but rooms on the other side are more quiet. Bring cash...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bayahibe hotels
0.0 mi away
Weare Cadaques Bayahibe Hotel
0.0 mi away
El Eden Hotel
El Eden Hotel
#13 of 16 in Bayahibe
59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Iguana
Hotel Villa Iguana
#3 of 16 in Bayahibe
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dreams La Romana Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Be Live Collection Canoa
Be Live Collection Canoa
#10 of 16 in Bayahibe
6,112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Catalonia Gran Dominicus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bayahibe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bayahibe

Property: Hotel Bayahibe
Address: Bayahibe, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Bayahibe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Bayahibe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bayahibe 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bayahibe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bayahibe Dominican Republic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing